Chevron Left
Back to Client Needs and Software Requirements

Client Needs and Software Requirements , University of Alberta

4.7
1,549 ratings
267 reviews

About this Course

This course covers practical techniques to elicit and express software requirements from client interactions....

Top reviews

By VB

Jul 06, 2016

Excellent! There is a lot of great practical info you can apply in real life. I would suggest instructors include some more info about SPM in the framework of startups (rather than client framework).

By RK

Jan 31, 2018

It is very good knowledge. But my English poor for that, was, sometimes. So was hard to understand and catch information. As a result 90% for grade. It is ok. But it is ok.\n\nViam supervadet vadens

Filter by:

261 Reviews

By C Chen

Jan 15, 2019

This has been one of the better courses I've taken on Coursera. The Supplemental Material is better curated. Other courses just include Wikipedia links. For someone new to the field, specialty links are more helpful and provides a starting list of good websites to reference later. I do wish the course took a deeper dive into the topic and provided more examples.

By Christopher Maloy

Jan 04, 2019

Fantastic!

By Boobalan Swaminathan

Dec 28, 2018

Step by step detail on Requirement Gathering and representation is taught very clearly.

By Luis A. Rodriguez Melendez

Dec 27, 2018

Identifying ambiguous requirements early is one of the most valuable topics I learned from this course. Also, the hands-on approach to create wireframes and work on user stories helped me learn the concepts.

By Edgar Gabino Soto

Dec 27, 2018

Excellent course, friendly and simple, compact but well-balanced and comprehensive, very good quality in contents and resources.

As suggestion, you could improve in the examples and scenarios to make them more closer to real life, try to give a "taste" of the real world in the views of formats, forms, diagrams, docs, interfaces, etc.

By Freek de Bruijn

Dec 22, 2018

It's challenging to teach and learn product management through an online course. You can get an overview of the important topics and learn the theory, but this doesn't enable discussion, exchanging experiences, and forming balanced opinions. A product management does a lot of her/his work by talking (to many different people involved), which is very difficult to train online (it could be done with role playing assignments supported by video conferencing, but I think learning from experienced colleagues in practice is a much better way). The quizzes are often a good way to rehearse the topics that have been explained, but sometimes feel like an extremely simplified black-white view on very nuanced issues.

The best parts of the Software Product Management courses for me were the larger assignments you make that are reviewed by fellow students (getting feedback is very useful and it's also instructive to see what approach your peers took) and the interviews with experienced product managers which offer valuable insights in the complicated situations product managers often have to deal with.

I recommend this course to anyone that is new to software product management and quite new to software development. The course can be a good first step on your path to becoming a product manager, as long as you realize that you will also need a lot of skills that an online course cannot teach you.

By Árpád Kovács

Dec 21, 2018

provides a good overview

By Ranjan

Dec 18, 2018

good

By Ryan Peterson

Dec 12, 2018

It's a solid addition to get the specialization certificate. I may give it 4.5+ stars, but the course resources are exceptional - its like they wrote their own textbook almost.

By Manoel Franklin Ferreira da Costa

Nov 26, 2018

Awesome course!