Chevron Left
Back to Data Collection and Processing with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Collection and Processing with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
658 ratings
100 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches you to fetch and process data from services on the Internet. It covers Python list comprehensions and provides opportunities to practice extracting from and processing deeply nested data. You'll also learn how to use the Python requests module to interact with REST APIs and what to look for in documentation of those APIs. For the final project, you will construct a “tag recommender” for the flickr photo sharing site. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). If you are already familiar with Python fundamentals but want practice at retrieving and processing complex nested data from Internet services, you can also benefit from this course without taking the previous two. This is the third of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

CM

Oct 10, 2019

This was a really excellent course. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and now I'm very excited to try to build a similar system for books I love.

SS

Aug 28, 2019

Excellent course which teaches how to process request, extract and process Internet data in a simple and step by step approach. I have gained invaluable skills how to handle large data with Python

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 100 Reviews for Data Collection and Processing with Python

By Mark G

Jan 31, 2019

The final project allowed me to get a 100% grade even though i did not finish question #6. Over the past week there has been little to no response concerning questions about the course related to problems with the final project.

By yaacov t

Jan 30, 2019

Runestone project was buggy and added hours to work to complete

By Semant J P

May 24, 2019

The first two weeks were fine. Week 3 was a struggle to get through. I couldn't figure out why all of a sudden we were dealing with APIs. The instructors did go through the material which was tested but I would appreciated an even slower pace. Compared to the previous 2 courses (in this Python3 specialization), Course 3 Week 3 was a grind and I just wanted it over and done with. As usual, the final project requires a lot of scanning around in the forums to figure out how to do things.

By Ashirwad

Jan 17, 2019

Reading content is awesome. Videos are little bit boring. But it's okay when you get to learn so much.

By Akash B

Mar 04, 2019

Basically the video lecture was only good, but i think projects should be more challenging rather than to just run on runestone environment, The difficulty level of project should be increased in terms of a real project situation where in this course a user should be able to select his/her own api style given from a list, and moreover this course should encourage searching and tackling some real probelms.

They didn't even mentioned it to put on it to github. This project isn't that enough to be a part of git repo though.

But Overall this course is nice, just after completing the course, anyone should be able to try to think out of the box and do more out of it to prove the worth of your time spent in this course.Thank you.

By Ioannis K

Jun 02, 2019

Runestone has a lot of bugs...

By Juan A

Jan 16, 2019

Great material, the challenges are... challenging, and paul is the greatest

By Ravi S V

Feb 18, 2019

Really liked the course structure and assignments. Only small request would be if we could at least do the final assignment in a real Python environment as code debugging is slightly tedious in the Runestone environment.

By Luciana M G

Feb 06, 2019

This course is part 3 of a 5-course Specialization on Python 3. It is an excellent course. Courses 1 and 2 start at a very basic level but as the courses progress, the challenges improve and it gets actually quite interesting. The instructors have provided a valuable amount of exercises for us to practice. Prof. Resnick and his assistants are excellent instructors and you get bonus jokes at the end of each week, which I loved. Thank you all for creating this amazing specialization.

By Henloy A

Feb 21, 2019

Great course and instructors, ample time and resources to practice, the graded tests are challenging and require good understanding of the course material which I appreciate

By julia5258027@gmail.com

Feb 28, 2019

I love the final project. It is awesome!

By Loay W

Mar 28, 2019

Great topics covered with nice final project to apply what you learnt!

By Shiang-ping H

Jan 29, 2019

Great course, with so many interactive exercises it really help to clear some confusion and make abstract concept easier to understand,

By Igor F

Jan 27, 2019

This course helped to understand such convinient thing as list comprehension, also it was really nice to work with API even without having API keys thanks to cached API's responses. I think that these parts are very practical, and I will use these things in the future. Though week's 3 theoretical part seemed to me a little bit long, and, probably, you should spend more time in the real Python environment, I still have enjoyed this course. Completion of the final project really gave me the feeling of personal achievement.

I'd like also to note that on the moment of completion of this course I haven't met same techical problems mentioned on the discusion forums by other participants of the course.

By Samuel Z

Jan 26, 2019

list comprehension is the coolest part for this course!

By Manish K T

Feb 02, 2019

most challenge course

By Lukas F

Feb 12, 2019

The last Test was hard

By Rashida S

Apr 02, 2019

This was great course. Instructions are very clear. Reading materials are available to practice and better understanding. And also very interactive discussion forums to answer the question about assignments.

By WeiDong

Apr 03, 2019

nice course

By Allen F

Apr 06, 2019

Very interesting course where you can learn more about data collections and processing!

By SaketKr

Mar 12, 2019

It was really nice. The assignments were really good and helping to clear the tiniest but important concepts.

By sudhanshu p

Mar 13, 2019

It is very interactive course for beginner python programmer

By Khalid S

Mar 05, 2019

Great!

By james

Mar 05, 2019

Challenging!

By Chris I

Mar 09, 2019

A really useful course. I enjoyed this very much