Chevron Left
Back to Data Collection and Processing with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Collection and Processing with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
408 ratings
57 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches you to fetch and process data from services on the Internet. It covers Python list comprehensions and provides opportunities to practice extracting from and processing deeply nested data. You'll also learn how to use the Python requests module to interact with REST APIs and what to look for in documentation of those APIs. For the final project, you will construct a “tag recommender” for the flickr photo sharing site. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). If you are already familiar with Python fundamentals but want practice at retrieving and processing complex nested data from Internet services, you can also benefit from this course without taking the previous two. This is the third of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

JS

May 21, 2019

Having 0 experience with .json files or API's I was nervous at the beginning, however, the course puts everything in perspective and gives great examples to grasp the concepts.

HA

Feb 21, 2019

Great course and instructors, ample time and resources to practice, the graded tests are challenging and require good understanding of the course material which I appreciate

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 58 Reviews for Data Collection and Processing with Python

By Mark G

Jan 31, 2019

The final project allowed me to get a 100% grade even though i did not finish question #6. Over the past week there has been little to no response concerning questions about the course related to problems with the final project.

By Kantaros I

Jun 02, 2019

Runestone has a lot of bugs...

By Akash B

Mar 04, 2019

Basically the video lecture was only good, but i think projects should be more challenging rather than to just run on runestone environment, The difficulty level of project should be increased in terms of a real project situation where in this course a user should be able to select his/her own api style given from a list, and moreover this course should encourage searching and tackling some real probelms.

They didn't even mentioned it to put on it to github. This project isn't that enough to be a part of git repo though.

But Overall this course is nice, just after completing the course, anyone should be able to try to think out of the box and do more out of it to prove the worth of your time spent in this course.Thank you.

By yaacov t

Jan 30, 2019

Runestone project was buggy and added hours to work to complete

By Ashirwad

Jan 17, 2019

Reading content is awesome. Videos are little bit boring. But it's okay when you get to learn so much.

By KH B S

Jul 16, 2019

it was a deep learning experience on data using python3. Working with REST apis was the best part of the program

By M N K

Jul 08, 2019

Great course! Thank you, Paul Resnik!

It was a great interaction and experience getting invaluable knowledge from you!

By Dao X H

Jul 06, 2019

good

By Robert B

Jul 06, 2019

Great course

By Mahmoud G

Jul 06, 2019

All in all, I really liked the course . I feel like the part about the caching and the module that was provided could be done better than that so student themselves could get involved with making that module.

By Yongjian F

Jul 05, 2019

The API documents are not so useful. The final project is fun though.

By Jason J D

Jun 27, 2019

This course really helped me enhance my programming skills in Python. It teaches the more "Pythonic" way of coding. REST APIs are also very important and challenging, and this course guides you through that topic wonderfully. Definitely a must for those who love coding.

By Yam H L L

Jun 26, 2019

This particular course is very challenging. I found there were some issue with the assessment grading. Despite all this, is a good course.

By kinhkhatrangsi

Jun 24, 2019

It's great. I have learn a lot of knowledge.

By CHAKRAVARTHY K A

Jun 23, 2019

Good topics

By manish k m

Jun 21, 2019

I learn important thing in simple word

By Киба В Ю

Jun 12, 2019

Great

By Wagner Y M

Jun 11, 2019

Great Course that wraps up nicely what has been taught so far in the Specialisation.

By Md. H H S B

Jun 10, 2019

just awesome.Already done 2 others of this specialization.

By Sameer b

Jun 07, 2019

it was awesome getting to work with API's for the first time ever.

By Mauricio G N

Jun 03, 2019

This course gives you the basics in order to comprehend the basics of data collections as well as API'S.

By Sui X

May 25, 2019

good

By Semant J P

May 24, 2019

The first two weeks were fine. Week 3 was a struggle to get through. I couldn't figure out why all of a sudden we were dealing with APIs. The instructors did go through the material which was tested but I would appreciated an even slower pace. Compared to the previous 2 courses (in this Python3 specialization), Course 3 Week 3 was a grind and I just wanted it over and done with. As usual, the final project requires a lot of scanning around in the forums to figure out how to do things.

By Noel D

May 22, 2019

More support needed!

By Ralph P

May 22, 2019

Great continuation of the specialization. Definitely getting harder, but still enjoying it.