Chevron Left
Back to Essential Design Principles for Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Essential Design Principles for Tableau by University of California, Davis

4.5
stars
1,436 ratings
227 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

Top reviews

SL

Jun 02, 2020

This course really changed my perspective in how to create visualization not just using Tableau but in every visualization application. I'm very happy I could take it and learned from it.

VL

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 226 Reviews for Essential Design Principles for Tableau

By negar h

Dec 21, 2016

Great one

By Гарамжав

Oct 31, 2018

Nice one

By Ajith K

May 18, 2017

good one

By Irvin Y D M

Apr 29, 2018

Great

By Jerald K K l

May 10, 2020

Good

By Hrishabh R

May 01, 2020

good

By Hussain M I

Jan 13, 2020

good

By rahul k

Jul 23, 2019

good

By Maninder P S

May 27, 2018

Nice

By Luca N

May 24, 2017

The course does a great job in introducing the (neuro)science behind visual perception. It explains concepts like Gestalt Principles, Cognitive Load and Clutter, and how to leverage them in creating/improving a Viz.

In the second part, it covers Exploratory analysis and how to design a successful Viz relative to the audience, by considering static and interactive visuals.

I have particularly appreciated two parts:

1. Gestalt principles. They are easy to grasp yet powerful.

2. Outliers and how to make Control charts.

The following could have been improved:

1. For some topics there is too much repetition without providing deeper/additional content (e.g. Gestalt principles);

2. For some topics there is too little practice (e.g. in module 4 about design, and training with gestalt principles other than colour or proximity).

By Vikas J

Oct 02, 2019

Well, structured course as knowing the fundamentals is essential for future buildup and implementation. However, a few things we're hard to follow as the presentation was in old tableau, and we are current newer and better versions.

We need more examples to play around and get the hang of the software.

By Swati M

Jun 29, 2020

The course is very good. The only thing I felt that there could be a case study at the end of each week to do the practice. We can find a lot of case study but practicing that at the initial level don't make us feel if we are doing it or analyzing it correctly.

By Marcello B

Mar 17, 2019

A valued view of the necessary principels to build a professional data visualization. Few Tableau, a lot of theory, but here it's necessary to leverage Tableau in the next courses of the specialization.

By Carlos P

Apr 04, 2017

I enjoyed the class much, however I would suggest that a little more for feedback could be provided to questions raised by students. Also, PLEASE make the slides available for ALL the lessons.

By Ray A

Dec 11, 2019

I enjoyed the second course as part of this five-course data analytics specialism. I am learning that effective data visualisation goes far beyond having a technical competence of Tableau.

By Rasike J G

Mar 19, 2018

The course covers and lays a solid foundation on Visualization profession. The subject matter is good mix of theory and practice. The course content is presented in a very good standard.

By Christophe H

Dec 11, 2016

Very interesting to progess beyond a pure technical approach.

Then some modules are really to much verbose and may be much more effective with more examples

By Rachel G

Dec 10, 2019

Some of the quizzes were difficult, but I definitely learned and retained some information from this course. I liked the variety of infor

By Ricardo A

Jun 27, 2017

Excellent Entry Level course for Tableau and Important concepts of visualization. Every engineer in my industry should take this course.

By Vaughn P

Nov 28, 2016

Very good at explaining design principles and to get the students thinking of making simple visualizations that convey a story.

By Manjunatha G

Feb 14, 2019

Essential Design Principles for Tableau Course is very useful in designing Tableau Dashboards by applying Principles

By Maggi R

May 07, 2017

Great class, it would be nice to have more hands on work with Tableau throughout the course and not just at the end.

By Troy G

Aug 08, 2017

I really liked this course, I wished there were more graded projects to get a bit more Tableau hands on experience.

By Prakhar A

Mar 02, 2020

Great, got to learn a lot about tableau and visualization. Would be better if got some tableau practice too

By Edouard S

Dec 17, 2018

Great class. I just wish there were better explanations and actual solutions to assignments.