Chevron Left
Back to Overcoming Dyslexia

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Overcoming Dyslexia by Yale University

4.8
stars
709 ratings

About the Course

Dyslexia is everywhere, touching so many children and adults, and while science has made extraordinary progress in understanding and clarifying the condition, this incredible powerful knowledge rarely reaches those who most need to know and would greatly benefit from it. Our goal is to change all this with the Coursera you are about to view, produced by Dr. Sally Shaywitz, the Audrey G. Ratner Professor in Learning Development, both the leading scientist studying dyslexia and the most devoted advocate for helping those who are dyslexic. The course addresses and answers just about all the questions you have: beginning with what is reading and what is dyslexia and sharing with you the most up-to-date 21st century federal definition of dyslexia. If you are dyslexic, you’ll come to learn you are not alone – dyslexia is very common affecting one out of five, that is, 20% of the population, including both boys and girls all over the world. The course addresses a major question we hear from so many parents and teachers– how do I know if my child may be dyslexic? What signs or symptoms should I be on the lookout for? And here’s another very important question we hear from so many parents and educators who are eager to do the best for their child – when should screening for dyslexia begin? What is the best method? What should I look for or ask about? A major source of worry for parents is their child’s slow reading- they ask will this prevent a happy future for the child. Yes, dyslexics are slow readers and here, in Coursera, you will come to understand the brain’s role in dyslexia, including slow reading. Great news to share – you will also be so delighted to learn that surrounding a dyslexic’s slow reading is a phenomenal powerful sea of strengths in big picture thinking and reasoning. Dyslexia is a true paradox: dyslexics may be slow readers but at the same time are incredibly fast thinkers! You can be assured, if you care about a child or someone who is dyslexic and have questions or concerns, you will find it addressed here in this course: everything important to know about and help you select the most effective interventions for a dyslexic child; how to go about choosing the best school, including potentially one that is specialized, for such a child, including what is most important to look for when visiting a potential school; the role of accommodations and how to select the best one; and common co-occurring conditions like ADHD and anxiety – their impact, how to recognize and treat. In the following lessons you will meet wonderful, incredibly insightful and highly successful dyslexics – including governors, cardiac surgeons, nationally renowned attorneys, basketball coaches, economists and dyslexic children and their wonderful families who will share their experiences and advice. Enjoy!...

Top reviews

SW

Feb 18, 2023

This course was thorough, interesting, and very relevant to me as a literacy specialist. My students will benefit from my new understandings about dyslexia. Thank you very much.

Sidney Worthen

JC

Jan 6, 2023

Amazing course and highly recommended. I really appreciated how thorough and well-explained each step was. The questions throughout the video and the quizzes at the end really helped me to focus.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 252 Reviews for Overcoming Dyslexia

By MAJED E A A

Dec 11, 2023

Ok

By غدير ا س ا

Dec 26, 2023

.

By Leah S

Dec 27, 2023

Excellent course, I was captivated from start to finish. One weak point, however, presented in week 5, 12a-b. It's stated that language classes should be avoided for dyslexic students but lacks evidence of this reasoning (I deduced that because the course would be difficult, the student would be discouraged). However, many bi and multilingual people have dyslexia and are excellent communicators in their spoken languages. It might be better to phrase this portion as something like: "American language classes focus so heavily on syntax and translation, that the overwhelmingly beneficial elements of foreign language learning, including increased synapses in the brain, a delay in cognitive decline, increases in memory, increased capacity for creative thinking, and increased phonemic awareness, are not often reaped in a typical middle to high school American foreign language course." Likewise, if dyslexia presents equally in all the population, a statement that encourages avoiding foreign language courses may imply a blindspot in the student population, as increasing numbers of children grow up in multilingual settings in the US. I would prefer that the course addresses foreign language classes as a fault of the course design, rather than single out an invaluable and beneficial subject, without a presentation of evidence, as something that "should be substituted with a class on culture or history." This is the only part of the course that I felt was inadequate and misrepresented. Otherwise, I loved the resources and pacing.

By Erik M

Feb 7, 2023

An excellent course that is a must for any individual with dyslexia but also any parent of a dyslexic or potentially dyslexic child. It is essential viewing for any educator in the United States today, as so many problems with meeting the needs of students with dyslexia are stymied by educators (teachers, principals, board of education members, superintendents, curriculum specialists, reading and writing interventionists, counselors, school psychologists) who lack training, who have been mistrained, or who have out-of-date training, or who otherwise hold unscientific and false ideas about dyslexia. The only major shortcoming in the course is that it does not give any advice for dealing with K-12 school districts that refuse to identify or serve students with dyslexia, a common problem.

By Sherri L J

Apr 25, 2024

This covered EXACTLY the type of information I was looking for. Namely, why and how someone can be so intelligent, achieve high grades in school, yet be diagnosed with dyslexia. This was so enlightening and will help me to communicate and advocate for people who need accommodations to level the ground, and improve their mental health. Thank you Dr Shaywitz. Thank you for all the work you've done in the field, and for making the information accessible to those who need it.

By Deborah S

Apr 3, 2023

This is solid introductory course, but it does contain some inaccurate information (ie, there is SUBSTANTIAL evidence of differential rates of prevalence in dyslexia between boys and girls). Also, with respect to the comorbidity between ADHD and dyslexia, the numbers were somewhat misleading. It is indeed the case that a large proportion of individuals with ADHD also have dyslexia, but the proportion of individuals with dyslexia who also have ADHD is smaller.

By Amenia C

Jul 30, 2023

Great information, have read overcoming year's ago, has help with my understanding dyslexia to help my students. However, it would be nice to have a representation of people of color. It was disappointing, It gives the impression that no one of color with dyslexia has impacted the world. As the importance of advocacy for dyslexia has been highlighted through out this course, it's sad that diverse representation has been overlooked.

By D. M

Oct 16, 2023

Wonderful information! My only disappointment is that I come away from the course knowing screening and diagnosis SHOULD be happening in school, but still unsure of how to encourage this at the school level. Schools seem very hesitant to screen and diagnose because I guess if they do they the. Would be required to provide interventions, which is additional cost to the school. I came away knowing we should

By Rebecca M

May 6, 2024

Good basic course for people starting out in learning about Dyslexia. The course covers all the beginning questions and their supporting information. I wish Coursera covered more in depth topics around Dyslexia- if only to support clients who are trying to use this platform to further their education. One course on Dyslexia is not enough.

By Paras T

Mar 23, 2023

It was very informative and helpful, thank you so much for that. Some parts made me emotional because of the self mitigating solutions I had to find while being seen as not clever or not focused. I wish I could have my name printed on the certificate I was awarded.

By Mun-Yee R

Jul 10, 2023

Certainly there's no need (a total waste of participant-listener's time) to keep hearin the speaker making reference to her book/screening tool and her own achievements especially it made known from the outset of the course that it is based on her book.

By Peter W

Feb 16, 2024

I think this was a well-done course. The only issue I have is it sounded like an infomercial. The course should not make you feel that the one and only quality source of information is from the speaker of the course.

By Eli B

Jul 5, 2023

The first half of the course was fantastic. For a non-American citizen the law unit was not particularly relevant. Overall, I highly recommend the course. I learnt a lot.

By huguette T

May 5, 2023

Very interesting course as it brings hope in the life of the dyslexics people, thank you.

By Susan G

Mar 5, 2023

I enjoyed the course but wished there was less talking and more visuals.

Thank you

By Karan C

Jul 21, 2023

lots of helpful information but too many references to the lecturer's book

By Katie H

Jun 19, 2023

Great information. Heavy focus on private school versus public schools.

By Maggie S

Apr 13, 2023

Excellent information, broken into manageable chunks.

By Andrea S A

Feb 6, 2023

Amazing and informative!

By حنان ا

Dec 5, 2023

رائعه

By ALI A

Feb 29, 2024

Thank you for the course, full of knowledge and information, I was hopping to find more specific strategies to help my students.

By regina k

Mar 9, 2024

Though this course has good information, As a Title Reading Teacher, I already knew most of the information. I believe this course could be done in more than half the time. The course is also long and laboring and so slow. The speaker knows her material and is smart but very slow in speaking and hard to stay focused on.

By Herraez, S

Dec 16, 2023

I hoped it provided more exercices, clues. It provides USA adresses and laws, but no specific information / tasks for dyslexic people. It is quite repetitive too

By Theresa B

Feb 13, 2023

I paid for a 1 month subscription and did not receive that appropriate credit for a paid subscription.