Chevron Left
Back to Overcoming Dyslexia

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Overcoming Dyslexia by Yale University

4.8
stars
709 ratings

About the Course

Dyslexia is everywhere, touching so many children and adults, and while science has made extraordinary progress in understanding and clarifying the condition, this incredible powerful knowledge rarely reaches those who most need to know and would greatly benefit from it. Our goal is to change all this with the Coursera you are about to view, produced by Dr. Sally Shaywitz, the Audrey G. Ratner Professor in Learning Development, both the leading scientist studying dyslexia and the most devoted advocate for helping those who are dyslexic. The course addresses and answers just about all the questions you have: beginning with what is reading and what is dyslexia and sharing with you the most up-to-date 21st century federal definition of dyslexia. If you are dyslexic, you’ll come to learn you are not alone – dyslexia is very common affecting one out of five, that is, 20% of the population, including both boys and girls all over the world. The course addresses a major question we hear from so many parents and teachers– how do I know if my child may be dyslexic? What signs or symptoms should I be on the lookout for? And here’s another very important question we hear from so many parents and educators who are eager to do the best for their child – when should screening for dyslexia begin? What is the best method? What should I look for or ask about? A major source of worry for parents is their child’s slow reading- they ask will this prevent a happy future for the child. Yes, dyslexics are slow readers and here, in Coursera, you will come to understand the brain’s role in dyslexia, including slow reading. Great news to share – you will also be so delighted to learn that surrounding a dyslexic’s slow reading is a phenomenal powerful sea of strengths in big picture thinking and reasoning. Dyslexia is a true paradox: dyslexics may be slow readers but at the same time are incredibly fast thinkers! You can be assured, if you care about a child or someone who is dyslexic and have questions or concerns, you will find it addressed here in this course: everything important to know about and help you select the most effective interventions for a dyslexic child; how to go about choosing the best school, including potentially one that is specialized, for such a child, including what is most important to look for when visiting a potential school; the role of accommodations and how to select the best one; and common co-occurring conditions like ADHD and anxiety – their impact, how to recognize and treat. In the following lessons you will meet wonderful, incredibly insightful and highly successful dyslexics – including governors, cardiac surgeons, nationally renowned attorneys, basketball coaches, economists and dyslexic children and their wonderful families who will share their experiences and advice. Enjoy!...

Top reviews

SW

Feb 18, 2023

This course was thorough, interesting, and very relevant to me as a literacy specialist. My students will benefit from my new understandings about dyslexia. Thank you very much.

Sidney Worthen

JC

Jan 6, 2023

Amazing course and highly recommended. I really appreciated how thorough and well-explained each step was. The questions throughout the video and the quizzes at the end really helped me to focus.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 252 Reviews for Overcoming Dyslexia

By Janet B

Feb 15, 2023

I enjoyed this course as it helped me to think of the impact of dyslexia both on children and adults. Presentation of material and accommodations are essential for success in the classroom. Dyslexic learners are creative thinkers who will change the world.

By Allison P

Jul 21, 2023

This course has a wealth of information and paired perfectly with reading the book Overcoming Dyslexia. It was paced well and I liked the format of watching videos and answering questions. I also liked the option of reading it while it was being presented.

By Gretchen W

Feb 16, 2023

As an educator and a mother of a (non-diagnosed) Dyslexic child....this course has been invaluable to me!!!! Thank you for offering such amazing insight and a course that will help me to advocate better for my own child and the children I work with!

By Laura F

Feb 3, 2023

Information about Dyslexia was clearly presented. The explanations and testimonies made learning very insightful and enjoyable. I appreciated finally understanding my own dyslexia now as a senior adult who never was identified as such. Thank you.

By Christy A J

Jul 13, 2023

As an educator and Reading Specialist, this was a great course on Dyslexia. It provided me with a wealth of knowledge so that I can help my students and myself, with understanding dyslexia and it's components. Thank-You so much for this courses.

By Donna G

Jun 15, 2023

Excellent course on all aspects of dyslexia! Dr. Shaywitz eloquently described everything one needs to know about this disability and how to help these students. Her lifelong dedication to helping dyslexics was evident in her presentation.

By Alex C

Feb 29, 2024

Very inspiring!!! Rather you're Dyslexic or have someone close to you with Dyslexia, this is a must take course to understand what it is, and how one can break those walls to realize their potentials. An eye opener as an adult with Dyslexia

By Irene P

Jul 12, 2023

I had already read books about dyslexia but none of them showed me as much as this course. As a special needs education teacher I have been able to help my students who suffer from dyslexia and watched them grow in their reading skills

By Nancy C

Jul 27, 2023

This course was very informative and easy to follow. I loved how Dr. Shaywitz included personal testimonies of noted people with dyslexia. I also loved how she included many resources for further exploration and use. Thank you!

By Laura C

Jan 15, 2023

Excellent explanations for people that want to learn the big picture and details of dyslexia. The Shaywitzes' work over decades including the CLS gives us the current evidence and pathways for all dyslexics to succeed.

By Rasha B

Mar 30, 2023

Although I have my certificate for inclusion from London Univ. I found this course full of knowledge, information, clear clarification on Dyslexia that empower teachers, special ed, parents and students.

By Melissa J

Apr 17, 2023

It was so great hearing from Dr. Shaywitz herself. What an honor to learn from those who literally "wrote the book on it." The research and experience that went into this course if phenomenal! Thank you.

By Kenneth Y

Nov 3, 2023

This course help me understand my condition with reading so much better and thanks to the people who took the time out to help folks like me. I learned so much and enjoyed it in the process.

By Jesus P

Mar 2, 2023

It helped me to not be afraid of who I am. Thanks for giving me the confidence to face my fear of being the only one like this and the tools that are offered with technology. Thanks Jesus Perez

By sid w

Feb 19, 2023

This course was thorough, interesting, and very relevant to me as a literacy specialist. My students will benefit from my new understandings about dyslexia. Thank you very much.

Sidney Worthen

By Tori J

Sep 1, 2023

I highly recommend this course and the 2nd Edition book. This is a very thorough course and you learn a lot of great information to equip you to effectively advocate for anyone with Dyslexia.

By Ridwana H

Mar 9, 2024

I absolutely loved this course. Professor Sally Shaywitz presented it so weell and helped me understand dyslexia exceptionally well. I am so glad I was able to do this course for free.

By Ilya O

Dec 31, 2022

Phenomenal--one of the most eye-opening courses I've ever taken, both providing insight into my own reading difficulties and into teaching students with reading differences.

By Administration G N

Dec 28, 2022

You exceptionally well merit this congratulation for your diligent work and devotion. Congrats on your prosperity. I am glad for you. You have achieved a great deal.

By Dawn S P

Apr 24, 2023

Very informative course. I purchased the book and look forward to reading the book to review what was said it the course and have something to access when needed.

By Kristel

Jan 14, 2023

This course taught me many things about dyslexia that I didn't know before. I found it to be comprehensive, informative, and both evidence- and compassion-based.

By Karen H

Aug 11, 2023

I found this course highly informative, even after teaching for 23 years I learned many things about dyslexia that I didn't know. The organization was wonderful.

By Maria P

Jul 27, 2023

I really enjoyed taking this course and learning more about Dyslexia. Thank you for sharing your knowledge, expertise, for making it accessible and affordable.

By Christine K

Jan 23, 2023

Excellent course to support the 2nd edition book. This is a resource that all teachers need in their hands. Thank you for the opportunity to take the course.

By Laura S

Dec 29, 2023

Excellent course take take. You can understand the history and definition of Dyslexia. There is so much information and resources provided within the course.