Chevron Left
Back to Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation by American Museum of Natural History

4.8
stars
377 ratings
99 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to ecology and ecosystem dynamics using a systems thinking lens. Through a case study on Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, learners will explore how scientists study ecosystems, and investigate the complex array of factors that inform management efforts. At the end of the course, learners will be able to grapple with real-world conservation questions, such as whether an ecosystem can recover from anthropogenic disruption and what role humans can, and should, play in that recovery....

Top reviews

AJ

Jun 02, 2019

This was particularly in-depth on the sciences of ecology, and having it based around a particular conservation project made it easier to follow each progressive lecture and concept that was explored.

LF

Oct 26, 2019

A very in depth and informative look into the field of ecology and conservation, particularly with regards to the fieldwork and mathematical modelling. The lectures were also excellent.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 99 Reviews for Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

By Autumn W

Jun 14, 2018

Absolutely fantastic course! Pertinent material, great evidence, plethora of additional readings for those who want to get more than just a grade out of the course, and lots of talent offering their expertise. Highly recommend.

By Niteesh E

Jun 03, 2018

This course was a really nice introduction to understanding natural ecosystems and systems thinking around it. This has inspired me to learn more about the field of Conservation Biology. Thank you to the curators of the course!

By Anindita S

Jul 07, 2019

Great Course if you're wanting to get started with understanding the field of ecology and conservation. Tackles the important aspects and ideas in the subject and helps bring them forward through examples and case studies.

By Anna R

Aug 26, 2019

Very interesting course, suitable for those new to the field of ecology. Yet, the examples and variety of lectures provided an in-depth and contextualized understanding of ecosystem dynamics with regards to conservation.

By SALEEM K

Nov 27, 2019

I really enjoyed the course, I came to know how environmental scientists research landscapes to find out the interdependence of biotic and abiotic factors, how one side changes the other and cause undesirable results..

By Robben W W

Jun 14, 2018

Species Differentiation of Predator and Prey, which can relate to Niches of Oceanic and Migrating Life may also help benefit us if we leave the responsibility of environment to other species that are not endangered.

By Fanny O

Oct 06, 2019

Just essential to understand how the ecosystems work and how humans have a key role in the environment. We should all learn this at school to really get how the world works and how we can save it.

By Liam F

Oct 26, 2019

A very in depth and informative look into the field of ecology and conservation, particularly with regards to the fieldwork and mathematical modelling. The lectures were also excellent.

By Sanchia J

Feb 24, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The material is comprehensive and understandable. The information is relevant and should be viewed by students at all levels. Thank you :)

By Rhodolph C N

Jun 14, 2018

I recommend this course to everyone who loves Wildlife Conservation. I learned new knowledge and awareness from the very good speakers and the articles presented. Good job!

By Henry V P

Dec 15, 2019

This was a great introduction to ecology, it sparked my interest in pursuing further courses in Biology/Ecology and trying my own hand at simulations.

By Camilo A M E

Jan 06, 2020

Excelente material. El curso es muy completo y está pensado para personas que apenas comenzamos a explorar este campo del conocimiento tan urgente.

By Sophia S

Dec 10, 2018

Great introduction to Ecology and Conservation with excellent professors and materials. Highly recommended. Wish there was more of the last week.

By Robert C C

Jun 06, 2018

Great course--a good combination of lectures, articles, and appropriate assignments. Enjoyed the practical and positive spin of the course!

By Ramiro P

Oct 04, 2019

I am very happy with this course, and I feel like I have learned a lot. I look forward to taking another course on a similar topic.

By Michael S

Sep 23, 2018

An excellent introduction to ecology that will appeal to those who like to think in terms of how components of a system interact.

By Dhian N S

Jan 29, 2020

This course helps me to understand my ecology class better. Thank you so much for opening my eyes through exciting course!

By Clay w

Jun 23, 2019

This is an absolutely incredible course. Many thanks to all of those involved in making this course available.

By Beatrice N

Jan 24, 2020

very nice examples to illustrate theory which makes it very interesting and easy to follw and understand.

By Eric

Dec 15, 2019

Solid lectures and illuminating data driven approach to understanding conservation and ecosystem dynamics

By Orlando V R

Apr 29, 2019

It was very interesting, It give me several insights to follow an academic career on Conservation Biology

By Adam W

Sep 27, 2019

great introduction to the basics of ecosystem dynamics and structure with great case study example

By Jessica N T L

Oct 06, 2019

Me gustó y disfruté mucho el curso, mi única sugerencia es que se traduzca el curso a Español

By Roi H

Sep 08, 2018

Very interesting, a great good background into the basic questions and concepts of ecology.

By Andrew G

Jul 30, 2019

Very interesting and of a high quality. Well worth the same investment of time and effort.