Chevron Left
Back to Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation by American Museum of Natural History

4.8
stars
3,051 ratings

About the Course

This course is an introduction to ecology and ecosystem dynamics using a systems thinking lens. Through a case study on Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, learners will explore how scientists study ecosystems, and investigate the complex array of factors that inform management efforts. At the end of the course, learners will be able to grapple with real-world conservation questions, such as whether an ecosystem can recover from anthropogenic disruption and what role humans can, and should, play in that recovery....

Top reviews

AJ

Jun 1, 2019

This was particularly in-depth on the sciences of ecology, and having it based around a particular conservation project made it easier to follow each progressive lecture and concept that was explored.

YH

Jan 3, 2021

One of the best course, I have ever taken. The materials is not hard to follow and the in-depth explanation gives you a proper new perspective which is still open to debate due to conservation topic

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 822 Reviews for Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

By Sneha R S

Oct 23, 2022

this course has been an amazing journey of learning about conservation, population dynamics, biodiversity, and the role of humans in shaping ecosystem. I've learnt systems thinking, a completely new and useful concept.

By Amanda I

Dec 29, 2020

i love this course it is very well thought out and easy for those of us who do class late at night can easily follow and take notes. to be able to learn this easily i wish could happen in more classes and universities

By Taye M

Aug 13, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I liked the clear introduction to systems theory in ecology and the way that it was continually linked back to the Gorongosa case study through the readings, videos and lectures. Thanks!

By Saleem K

Aug 10, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, I came to know how environmental scientists research landscapes to find out the interdependence of biotic and abiotic factors, how one side changes the other and cause undesirable results.

By Ismael B O

May 31, 2020

I am really glad in aquire all knowledge of this course, specially in ecology. I have learned a lot about new focus applying conservation. I loved the resources, videos and explanation, very atractive and interesting.

By Robben W

Jun 14, 2018

Species Differentiation of Predator and Prey, which can relate to Niches of Oceanic and Migrating Life may also help benefit us if we leave the responsibility of environment to other species that are not endangered.

By Ezekiel M

Oct 11, 2021

Absolutely amazing. The course is packed with information and detailed methods worth learning about. The videos were my favourite part. This course helps me see examples of what im currently studying at University.

By Simon P O

Mar 28, 2022

One of the most informative courses on ecology I have undertaken so far. The facilitators are well resourced and the case study of Gorongosa National Park, makes it bear a resemblance to an experiential learning

By Akshay M

Aug 18, 2020

This was my first coursera course and I wasn't sure what to expect. It was totally worth it! The course was very informative and interesting, and easily understandable for even beginners. 10/10 would recommend!

By Catherine C

Jul 28, 2022

Excellent presentation of both degradation of an ecosystem and a range of methods to help recovery. Careful monitoring and observation helps explain what afforts were helpful and why. Very interesting course.

By Emily G

May 24, 2020

Fantastic course! Easy to follow and the information is super interesting and neat to learn about. This course is great for anyone, whether you've never taken ecology before or you have pre-existing knowledge.

By Olga l G c

May 15, 2020

Excelente por la oportunidad de certificarme con el apoyo de la institución¡

Los conceptos del curso fueron claros y precisos, permitieron ampliar mis conocimientos Y aplicarlos a mi vida profesional.

Gracias¡¡¡

By Charne G

May 8, 2020

As an Ecologist this course has strengthen my knowledge and application of ecology. Really good module to get people interested in ecology and receive a good introduction in term of background and application.

By MOHD I M H S

Apr 8, 2021

I recommend this course to all students who are studying in various colleges and interested in ecology . This course explains about eco system very clearly and with impressive slideshows and cinematic videos.

By Ilona

Jan 29, 2023

Great mix of reading and video's. I have enjoyed this a lot. At times I struggled with a few words (as English is not my native language), but it's been mostly explained very well, so those didn't bother me.

By Poonyawee S

Apr 18, 2020

This course is amazing. I have got a lot of new knowledge of ecology and conservation; furthermore, the system thinking practice is the one that opened my mind. Thank you very much for building this course.

By Muhammad Z

Nov 5, 2021

Amazing course for someone who's into ecology and wildlife biology. Need more courses like this on Ecology, Biodiversity and Conservation Biology. Would always love to challenge myself by enrolling into it.

By Andrea S C O

May 17, 2020

Buen curso, ayuda a entender los factores y dinámicas de un ecosistema, así como a dar una mirada más amplia sobre las acciones que deben tomarse en cuenta a la hora de planear cómo conservar un ecosistema.

By Bruce M

Mar 26, 2021

This was a very well developed and presented course. I particularly liked the challenging nature of the quizzes. They were complex enough to test my comprehension of the material in a very thorough manner.

By Gale G

May 12, 2020

I enjoyed this course. The lecturers were interesting and informative in the information provided. The layout of the course made it easy to grasp concepts and a good mix of visual and written information.

By ALFREDO G S

Nov 25, 2020

Excelente curso. Aprendí mucho sobre la naturaleza, la ecología, las relaciones que existen entre los depredadores y sus presas, los herbívoros y sus comidas, y como eso puede afectar todo un ecosistema.

By Fazla Z A

Jul 6, 2020

This course is great and very educative about ecology, ecosystem and conservation. Especially thanks to Dr Robert Pringle & Dr Corina Tarnita for their great way of teaching and sharing systems thinking.

By Silke S

Jul 17, 2020

Super informative, great design and inspiring lecturers, this course was really an eye-opener for me. Highly recommended to all people interested in ecology. And also for those who aren't (yet) ;-)

By Ihor S

Mar 9, 2021

This course is really great. It gives clear overview of components and key concepts about ecosystems and relevant challenges. I'm thankful to the authors for this exciting educational opportunity.

By Fanny O

Oct 6, 2019

Just essential to understand how the ecosystems work and how humans have a key role in the environment. We should all learn this at school to really get how the world works and how we can save it.