Chevron Left
Back to Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation by American Museum of Natural History

4.8
stars
3,042 ratings

About the Course

This course is an introduction to ecology and ecosystem dynamics using a systems thinking lens. Through a case study on Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, learners will explore how scientists study ecosystems, and investigate the complex array of factors that inform management efforts. At the end of the course, learners will be able to grapple with real-world conservation questions, such as whether an ecosystem can recover from anthropogenic disruption and what role humans can, and should, play in that recovery....

Top reviews

AJ

Jun 1, 2019

This was particularly in-depth on the sciences of ecology, and having it based around a particular conservation project made it easier to follow each progressive lecture and concept that was explored.

YH

Jan 3, 2021

One of the best course, I have ever taken. The materials is not hard to follow and the in-depth explanation gives you a proper new perspective which is still open to debate due to conservation topic

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 819 Reviews for Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

By Bhavya B D

Sep 21, 2020

THANK YOU SO MUCH COURSERA ,

THIS WAS MY FIRST EXPERIENCE LEARNING ONLINE AND I HAVE SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED IT. ECOLOGY: ECOSYSTEM DYNAMICS AND CONSERVATION IS ONE OF THE BEST TOPIC TO LEARN. THE COURSE IS QUITE VERY INTERESTING FOR NEW LEARNERS OF LIFE SCIENCE. I AM GLAD THAT I GOT ANY OPPORTUNITY TO BE A PART OF IT AND EXPLORE MORE.

By Vaishnavi A

Jun 27, 2020

Excellent course. I had read a lot about ecology and conservation through other mediums, but this course was essentially different for me as I was able to actually see and understand the problems that scientists face and how solutions are worked out ( the mathematical models) through the Gorongosa National Park example. Loved it.

By Sabrina

Apr 16, 2020

Found this course provided a great introduction to what the study of Ecology is and the different topics you would learn about in pursuing this field of education. Would recommend that explanations be provided for each of the exam questions in order to further understand why an answer is correct or wrong. Great course, thank you!

By Soubhik M

Jul 9, 2020

I have now a clear view to see a ecosystem, how it's work, it's function and effect in our life. The main theme of this course; how to say, an ecosystem is recovered? That is widely demonstrated through the entire course, i felt amaizing to get a chance to admit in the curriculum. Thank you for giving me a part in this project.

By Wendelien

Mar 8, 2021

I've done about 5 different types of online courses and this was my favourite. The content was interesting, often challenging, and diverse. Also, the distribution of text vs lectures worked very well. I also think that the fact that real lectures, instead of a film of one speaker, were mostly used helped to make it interesting.

By Vladislav Z

Oct 16, 2020

I enjoyed taking this MOOC, it contained a balanced mix of reading and video lectures, felt like it was the appropriate length while presenting a sufficient quantity of information, examples and thorough studies on Gorongosa National Park. Also, I felt that the information presented in this course is interesting and topical.

By Han H Z

May 15, 2020

A meaningful course that is simple to understand and emphasizes the importance of understanding how ecology works and, in a way, using nature itself to solve climate issues. The 'Systems thinking' concept is eye-opening for me and I see myself using it often now. Well done to every person involved in producing this course!

By Jingtian Z

Dec 26, 2020

I like this course, I know about Gonragosa and how life become rare there. I also know how to think systemly, this is the basic of understanding ecosystems. I now how hard we try to recover Gonragosa's ecosystem. Have we successfully recover the ecosystem to pre-war status by killing waterbuck and producing other animals.

By James M

Jan 22, 2022

This coarse provided the best overview of the subject of Ecology I have ever experienced. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a better understanding of ecology and ecosystems and why they are important. The bibliography in each section is comprehensive and points the way to further independent study opportunities.

By Khoa M

Aug 15, 2021

I love this course for how eye-opening it can be. The essay readings can be quite tedious, but there are also recorded lectures that I find very interesting. It'd be great if the answers to quiz can be shown to us after we finish them. Other than that, I've learned so much from this course, and I'm so grateful for that.

By Anouck M

Apr 18, 2022

Très bon MOOC. On y retrouve les principales notions abordées en licence. Le mix de cours, reportages, conférences est très enrichissant, d'autant plus qu'il s'appilque à une étude de cas. Les vidéos peuvent être sous-titrées en francais (attention: traduction littérale à revoir) en revanche les cours sont en anglais.

By Afshin A

Jul 18, 2022

Thank you! A great course! Highly recommended for anyone unfamiliar with ecology as a discipline.

The course requires minimal background in the sciences. A knowledge of calculus is helpful if the student insists on understanding where the population formulas come from.

Thank you again! I learned a lot from this course.

By Joanne N

Oct 3, 2021

I found this course to be extremely relevant and important. All of the presenters were very knowledgable, well-spoken, and adept at explaining the material so that it was easy to understand. The articles were thought-provoking, and the references listed reliable sources for additional information. Excellent course!

By Dr. R S V

Jun 8, 2020

I amaze with the way of delivery of scientific interpretations in very simpler way. I got new dimension to understand concept of ecology it’s dynamics. It will help me in practicing conservation philosophies with proper understanding. Thank u to all who put their efforts in providing it on Coursera learning platform

By Angelo S

Jul 15, 2020

This is by far the most comprehensive yet concise program I have encountered here in Coursera. I love the idea of having a real scenario of conservation efforts and studies (Gorongosa National Park) as an example for the program, that way we could apply the things we learned from the lecture directly to the field.

By Redvers F C

Jun 21, 2020

This course is the best course that I have ever studied. The lectures were fascinating, intriguing and the lecturers were all extremely informative, my interest in these subjects will undoubtedly grow because of their ability to hold my interest on these fascinating topics of great importance to our natural world.

By Davis R J

Mar 15, 2021

This course represents a generous repository of exciting and essential knowledge that is capable of taking someone from a position of having absolutely no appreciation of biodiversity to having a deep understanding of ecology and how humans and their every day lives impact nature -- as a critical part of nature.

By Sara F

Dec 20, 2020

Fantastic course! Such an incredible insight into conservation biology, and the various applications around the world. Learning using a case study takes the theory, and applies it into real-life example that you can connect with, improving the learning experience. Thank you for producing such a wonderful course!

By Luca O

Dec 13, 2020

Very informative, engaging, and excellently explained, by all teachers involved. Besides being a non trivial introduction to many key topics, the course also presents some key controversial issues with a genuinely scientific, ideology-free approach, and brings multiple points of view to the learner's attention.

By Santiago F

Jan 10, 2022

As a person with no background in Ecology, this course allowed me to understand basic concepts in the subject. But even more importantly, it showed me the ways in which humans should shape their efforts taking into account many more variables than are teken today in the decision process across all activities.

By Sarah H

May 24, 2020

I have no prior professional experience or education in ecology, but am interested in learning about conservation. This course provided me with a solid foundation to understand how to talk about conservation in terms of ecology and psychology. Includes a solid mix of mathematics, science, and anthropology.

By Richard M M

May 12, 2020

This online Ecology class is awesome! I learned so many insights about how ecological systems work and how components of ecosystems inter-relate with one another. The conservation part of the lessons are also eye-opener into the real world aspects of sustainability, development and resource management.

By Tushaani N

Jul 5, 2021

It's a short course of 5 modules, but plenty of resource materials and lecture videos to get an in-depth understanding of conservation. I love the approach of systems thinking and bioculture as a solution to the environmental challenges we face today. Definitely inspired me to study this field deeper!

By Vidya S

May 11, 2021

I gained knowledge on many things about ecology and is conservation, which I was not at all aware of till date. It was really very informative course which gave a very depth knowledge on ecology. The lecturers who taught the importance were amazing and did really give us the best knowledge on ecology.

By K M K

Nov 23, 2020

It's pleasure to be a part of the course; All of the hard work from the team members brings me a insightful knowledge about the ecosystem and it's functioning and how it helps in the co-existence of various living organism especially the ways the nature helps towards the betterment of human being .