Chevron Left
Back to Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation by American Museum of Natural History

4.8
stars
2,680 ratings
729 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to ecology and ecosystem dynamics using a systems thinking lens. Through a case study on Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, learners will explore how scientists study ecosystems, and investigate the complex array of factors that inform management efforts. At the end of the course, learners will be able to grapple with real-world conservation questions, such as whether an ecosystem can recover from anthropogenic disruption and what role humans can, and should, play in that recovery....

Top reviews

AJ
Jun 1, 2019

This was particularly in-depth on the sciences of ecology, and having it based around a particular conservation project made it easier to follow each progressive lecture and concept that was explored.

YH
Jan 3, 2021

One of the best course, I have ever taken. The materials is not hard to follow and the in-depth explanation gives you a proper new perspective which is still open to debate due to conservation topic

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 733 Reviews for Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

By Aron D . M

May 28, 2020

Excellent ,

I am just 8th grade ,

But I can understand your lectures,

I realize the importance of Biodiversity and Ecosystem,

I will help to recover Ecosystem.

By Kruti P

Oct 23, 2021

It is very useful course. As an environmental enthusiast and inquisitive learner I found it very important and crucial and glad that I learned the whole.

By Larissa d A B

May 26, 2021

Excelente curso! Consegui aprender vários conceitos e temáticas com todo o ótimo material selecionado e com as palestras de pesquisadores de alto padrão!

By David D

Jul 25, 2020

This course is insightful and well organized. It takes into account modern perspectives and looks at the future of the field of ecology and conservation.

By Selin U

May 23, 2020

This was a very informative course. I learned a lot and it motivated me to seek additional information. A really good introduction to the subject matter.

By Lara S

Jul 31, 2021

Fantastic Introduction to what Ecology is and what it entails! Very comprehensible with absolutely fascinating examples that illustrate the points made.

By Dahlia J

Sep 30, 2020

The course was really well put together! I loved how it always went back to the park in Mozambique while exploring ecological aspects on a global scale.

By Alicia R

Apr 14, 2021

Fue un curso muy interesante. Util para dar clases y para continuar con mis planes en mi carrera como docente universitaria. Gracias equipo de coursera

By Melina D

Feb 21, 2021

Excelente contenido, muy concreto. Con el caso de estudio del Parque Nacional Gorongosa, ayuda a facilitar la comprensión y hace más ameno cada módulo.

By Sachin K

Sep 11, 2020

I think, it is one of the best course for biology students and also for anyone. Well defined course and I think everyone should enroll in this course.

By Henry P

Dec 15, 2019

This was a great introduction to ecology, it sparked my interest in pursuing further courses in Biology/Ecology and trying my own hand at simulations.

By Sheri L M

Apr 7, 2021

Excellent combination of readings and videos, providing great and engaging materials. This was a great course, and the topics were very interesting.

By Rajiv N

Nov 14, 2020

This course broadened my knowledge about ecosystem dynamics. The live example of Gorongosa National Park, aided in better understanding of concepts.

By Tô N T

Aug 10, 2020

This course is really informative. It gave me the insight of what's actually going in an ecosystem and the role of human beings in conserving nature

By David S

May 4, 2020

I really liked this course, the teachers are very good at explaining, the readings and the videos are excellent, very direct, thanks for everything

By Yap B S

Apr 27, 2020

Overall simple and informative. Incorporating lecture videos from different professors made this online course lively, interesting and interactive.

By Camilo A M E

Jan 6, 2020

Excelente material. El curso es muy completo y está pensado para personas que apenas comenzamos a explorar este campo del conocimiento tan urgente.

By Dev B

Nov 28, 2020

Very efficient course, the transition from ecology to conservation was very smooth, and the connection between those two was explained very well.

By Sophia S

Dec 9, 2018

Great introduction to Ecology and Conservation with excellent professors and materials. Highly recommended. Wish there was more of the last week.

By Himashree B

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent lectures by researchers, excellent material right from the field and its a great learning opportunity to see conservation in progress.

By Naiane M d C

Feb 12, 2021

This course helped me see the ecosystem and the world from a different perspective. The content presented is fantastic and easy to understand.

By Arianne H

Jul 29, 2020

This course really helped me understand some fundamentals to population ecology and gave me a new perspective of thinking for my PhD research.

By Джумашева К А

May 4, 2020

the course is very informative and provides an opportunity for a more in depth study of ecological systems in the restoration of the biosphere

By Kim U

May 2, 2020

I enjoyed this course a lot. It is packed with information! It is challenging but also super rewarding :) Thank you for creating this course!

By cris m

Oct 21, 2020

Great for a recap/introduction on ecosystem dynamics and conservation. Well-structured course, with interesting and easy to follow lectures.