Chevron Left
Back to Financial Accounting: Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Accounting: Foundations by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
4,391 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn the foundations of financial accounting information. You will start your journey with a general overview of what financial accounting information is and the main financial statements. You will then learn how to code financial transactions in financial accounting language. In the meantime, you will learn about the most important concept in contemporary financial accounting: accrual accounting. You will then critically analyze how firms recognize revenues. Finally, you will finish the course with an analysis of accounting for short-term assets, where you will go into detail on how firms account for accounts receivable and inventories. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Understand the main financial statements and the financial information • Write a financial transaction in financial accounting language and understand how this impacts the main financial statements • Understand how accrual accounting and fundamental accounting concepts work • Understand revenue recognition principles and how they impact the main financial statements • Account for accounts receivable and inventories. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and go to onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

AD

Sep 3, 2017

Though I have been through Intro Accounting some 3 or 4 times through different classes and seminars, I still found myself learning from this detailed and straight forward presentation of information.

YP

Jun 6, 2020

The modules were extremely informative and nothing less to say, Oktay sir's presentations were very easy to understand even for a person like me who has no prior knowledge about Financial Accounting.

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 985 Reviews for Financial Accounting: Foundations

By ahmad a

Apr 24, 2020

good

By METTU N K

Apr 23, 2020

Good

By Nicat K

Apr 18, 2020

Good

By Nazrin M

Apr 16, 2020

good

By PRASHANT G

Aug 21, 2019

nice

By soumya s

Jun 9, 2018

BEST

By Pooja J

May 11, 2021

Gud

By MANNAT J

Sep 24, 2020

...

By Mohammad A

Apr 24, 2023

DS

By O K

Apr 18, 2022

5

By Gabriel A C R

Sep 13, 2021

.

By SHIU F C

Oct 7, 2019

g

By Natarajan K

Aug 4, 2019

T

By WESTON S

Oct 17, 2017

T

By Duro A

Dec 11, 2016

G

By Cheong J

Dec 9, 2021

Course modules are well-organized, beginners with zero accounting-related background can easily understand the concepts and reasons behind every step when implementing the accounting principles. However, the learning materials have many spelling errors, especially the modules transcripts. Nevertheless, the course is overall an amazing go-to for all new learners in financial accounting.

By Lee F

Dec 31, 2017

Very good overview of the material. Two things that can be improved: be more explicit that the textbook is really necessary. The information in the videos is not sufficient for the quizzes. Also, please show the correct answer and explanation in the quizzes for the items missed when the quiz is passed. It would be nice to know why an answer was wrong even if the quiz was passed.

By Andras I

Nov 7, 2019

This course is a good introduction to basic accounting principles. Overall it's well worth the time: the videos are a bit hasty and feel rushed to quickly explain the principles but if someone really goes through understanding the quizzes and especially the module cases, it will work much better. I would expect a little bit more balance, so I gave this course 4 starts only.

By Surabhi P

Aug 23, 2018

It was a wonderful course but the only problem is that whenever we have a doubt we dont have anyone who can give a correct answer, so I suggest that there should be a forum where we can post questions and teachers should address that queries weekly or any way that suits them else our doubts are left unanswered. I hope this way knowledge delivery of coursera will improve.

By Denys Y

Apr 12, 2020

Sometimes a more visual explanation is needed, so, could You, please, consider putting entries for the problem and the way-to-way steps onto one slide, if possible?

It used to be a sort of confusing talking about subresults in accounting, when you do not see the whole picture on the slide.

Anyway, it was useful and fulfilling course, thanks a lot!

By Luci W

Mar 5, 2018

great class overall- there were a few concepts that, although explained, could have gone a little more in-depth. on occasion, the quiz questions would be more challenging and involve a more complex version of a concept than the examples the instructor went over.

thank you!

By Fulgence O I

Oct 2, 2021

I really liked how simple the course and different topics wer explained. With the quizzes and different case studies, I really appreciated how the exercises were practical and understandable. I recommend this course to anyone new to accounting

By Ricardo M

Jun 23, 2018

The course is very helpful to introduce you to the basic one of the financial statements. I would have preferred more complex practical exercises in different scenarios to strengthen the achieved knowledge. On general sense the course is good.

By Vikas

Feb 13, 2021

It was really a great experience..even though I don't belong to commerce background still it was easy to understand and learn new things related to accounting Balance sheet, income statement, Inventory calculation methods LIFO,FIFO..

By alejandro f

Jun 17, 2020

hi i am from colombia and i understand a little english but i cannot undersand this teacher for his accesnt so i couldn't finish this course. I know that that this is my fault but maybe many students have the same problem as me