Chevron Left
Back to FinTech Foundations and Overview

Learner Reviews & Feedback for FinTech Foundations and Overview by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.7
stars
489 ratings

About the Course

Our primary goal is to help you to understand FinTech and to become more confident and persuasive in your ability to analyze and make recommendations to executives within the finance industry regarding how to react to these changes. This FIRST MOOC ON FINTECH IN ASIA-PACIFIC offered by HKUST presents the insight of several professors from the top business school in Asia as well as perspectives from industry professionals. HKUST has been ranked for many years as the No.1 EMBA program in the world, as the number one Finance program in Asia, and as the top MBA program in Asia by multiple independent rating and review journals and surveys. This course "FinTech Foundations and Overview" offers the combined strengths of HKUST in Business, Finance, and Technology as one the world's leading academic institutions on an important area of technology and business innovations. For learners from outside Asia, this also gives an insight into changes happening in the most advanced FinTech markets of the world, since Asia leads worldwide in FinTech adoption and creative innovations....

Top reviews

AM

May 26, 2019

This was an amazing course. I have spent my whole time learning, listening and reading it. It was an eye opened course for me and I will continue to specialize in the future.

Thank you

Abdiaziz

NA

Jul 10, 2023

It was great learing this course through coursera. I will recommend this course to my friends. All the vedio and notes provided were very useful. I got good experience by revewing others project.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 129 Reviews for FinTech Foundations and Overview

By Abdiaziz m

May 27, 2019

This was an amazing course. I have spent my whole time learning, listening and reading it. It was an eye opened course for me and I will continue to specialize in the future.

Thank you

Abdiaziz

By ALYSSON V N

Nov 24, 2020

I understand that it is an excellent course that improves and gives a wide view on Fintech and mainly on the market in Asia-Pacific. Teacher Theodore Henry King CLARK is very didactic and has great humor and that makes the classes more attractive. The course is quite didactic and brings information and guests that add to the discussion. My rating is 5 because it met my expectations and I'm sure that people who want to get to know FinTech Foudations and Overview a little will be a great study opportunity.

By Gustavo C

May 11, 2019

I really enjoyed the effort to show different perspectives to the same issue, it helps to broaden the understanding of this very new and oftentimes complex topic.

By Raymund B

May 3, 2020

It was very informative to give you the basics on the definition of FinTech as well as real-world examples to help you relate to the business of FinTech.

By simeon z

May 14, 2021

The course was very beneficial to me as a foundation for my knowledge and expertise in FinTech. I appreciate the support of the COURSERA/HKUST Team.

By Sarah

Jul 5, 2022

Great course, but it was recorded in 2017; it's time to update the materials.

By 12345 6

Nov 7, 2019

Well i did not understand block chain but that is because I am 57 (old man).But I found the course on the whole very well presented and enjoyed the new ideas.The spectrum of commentators is wide.Lots of interesting lectures.So thanks very much

By Surabhi S

Jan 6, 2019

The professor is very good! He gives very real use cases and tells you how fintech evolved from the beginning. It is amazing to uncover historical perspectives and facts and understand what will uncover in the future.

By Sunil B

Nov 2, 2020

This is an excellent course, the flow is very nice. in fact, i just signed up for two more courses offered by the Professor. Thank you.

By Bill R

Jan 11, 2020

Strong content very well presented, very engaging. Challenging assignment at the end, but most rewarding. Thanks so much!

By Prof. P V

Oct 26, 2020

I am really glad I enrolled in this course and completed it successfully. Had a great learning experience. Thank you

By Valerio L

Aug 10, 2018

very interesting topic, the final assignment might take longer than advertised if you want to do it properly.

By Sifiso J M

Sep 26, 2019

Good foundational course , and the project at the end gives more insight into the larger fintech markets

By Hei T Y

Jul 25, 2019

Clear explanation from the professor on FinTech. Analyses the topic from different perspectives.

By Kostiantyn N

Apr 20, 2020

A perfect course to start your journey in fintech. However, I would added more details regarding legal framework in particular in the most popular jurisdictions such as UK, Singapore of Hong Kong, for instance. Many thanks for lecturers and peers.

By Abdelrahman D

Jun 9, 2021

it is a great course except for the peer review at the end, its just not professional to do that in an online course

By Mihir M

Feb 15, 2019

Decent course, all was fine except the lengthy peer review process which was a major speed bump.

By Ravi S

Feb 8, 2022

A little bit outdated information for 2022

By Kovács G

Jun 21, 2022

The peer-graded assignment was the best part - until I had to rate others. It was a huge burden to rate my peers' work, because I had to tell some of them, that "copy-pasting" the entire essay from a webpage is not a good solution. I still feel bad about this, because it does not feel good to give bad grades, and tell someone, that the submitted solution is not acceptable, because 0 energy was invested into it. This shouldn't be our job. I can only hope, that no one receives a certificate without putting enough work into the assignment.

By Chan W K

Oct 3, 2020

too general

By prabhu k

Oct 13, 2020

I have completed all the quiz and assignments in the course, I have even submitted the final project. As I started the course late I dont see any peers to review my project or me to review their project I'm not able to complete my course and get the subscription.

By Arvino Z

Jan 30, 2024

"FinTech Foundations and Overview" offers an excellent entry point for individuals looking to understand FinTech's dynamic landscape. With a global perspective, expert instructors, and a well-structured curriculum, it provides a solid foundation for learners to analyze and make recommendations within the finance industry. This course's give quality and effectiveness in delivering valuable insights into the world of FinTech. The course "FinTech Foundations and Overview" by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, taught by Associate Professor Theodore Henry King CLARK, provides a comprehensive introduction to FinTech. As the first MOOC on FinTech in Asia-Pacific, it leverages the expertise of professors from a top business school and insights from industry professionals.

By Navneet C

Mar 27, 2024

This course "FinTech Foundations and Overview" offers the combined strengths of HKUST in Business, Finance, and Technology as one the world's leading academic institutions on an important area of technology and business innovations. For learners from outside Asia, this also gives an insight into changes happening in the most advanced FinTech markets of the world, since Asia leads worldwide in FinTech adoption and creative innovations.

By animesh j

Sep 17, 2021

I found the course to be informative and well-designed for beginners. Particularly, interactive manner in which the course was taught made it interesting and easy to follow. Professor Clark did an excellent job in introducing the concepts, familiarizing students with new apps, and guest speakers enriched the discussion with their practical experience. I will highly recommend it to people to kickstart their Fintech journey.

By ABHIJIT S

Feb 3, 2020

Good Day ,

Dear Sir , Ma'am ,

I thank you and feel very privileged to get this opportunity from Coursera Team and the respective University .

Thanks and Warm Regards.ABHIJIT SENGUPTAKolkata , IndiaWebsite : www.pactolianconsulting.comE - Mail : abhijit@pactolianconsulting.comPortfolio URL : https://about.me/abhijitsenguptaSkype : abhijit.sengupta357Ph. : +91 33 25907110Cell : +91 9163863607