Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Data Science by Google

4.7
stars
1,908 ratings

About the Course

This is the first of seven courses in the Google Advanced Data Analytics Certificate, which will help develop the skills needed to apply for more advanced data professional roles, such as an entry-level data scientist or advanced-level data analyst. Data professionals analyze data to help businesses make better decisions. To do this, they use powerful techniques like data storytelling, statistics, and machine learning. In this course, you’ll begin your learning journey by exploring the role of data professionals in the workplace. You’ll also learn about the project workflow PACE (Plan, Analyze, Construct, Execute) and how it can help you organize data projects. Google employees who currently work in the field will guide you through this course by providing hands-on activities that simulate relevant tasks, sharing examples from their day-to-day work, and helping you enhance your data analytics skills to prepare for your career. Learners who complete the seven courses in this program will have the skills needed to apply for data science and advanced data analytics jobs. This certificate assumes prior knowledge of foundational analytical principles, skills, and tools covered in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. By the end of this course, you will: -Describe the functions of data analytics and data science within an organization -Identify tools used by data professionals -Explore the value of data-based roles in organizations -Investigate career opportunities for a data professional -Explain a data project workflow -Develop effective communication skills...

Top reviews

NM

Feb 24, 2024

I have really got a fine refresher through this course. One of the basic idea of preparing PACE strategy document and understanding on RACI matrix was new for me. I recommend this course to every one.

MM

Jun 8, 2023

In this course i gain a deep knowledge about what is data science and what are all the other names, fields related with data science. How we use data to gain insights from the model.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 366 Reviews for Foundations of Data Science

By FABIO A

Sep 30, 2023

I like they way Google Advance analytics program starts with a holistic view of the role and purpose of the data scientist in a team rather than getting straight into the Python and Ml. It was helpful to understand program plans and expectations, exploring the defining details of a data professional career and learning the key concepts of the program, including learning outcomes

By tinashe m

Jun 1, 2023

A much needed refresher course for those already in the data space excerpt experts. Help with identify the data professional landscape, setting up a data team, interacting with other stakeholders as a data professional and framework in approaching data projects. A solid recommendation to those start out as till be able to install some best practices from the get go.

By Esteban R

Nov 1, 2023

I really enjoyed this introductory course coming from the Google Data Analytics Certificate. I think I am a lot more familiar with many concepts and I can already say I like more the structure and design this new course has. I enjoyed the way activities are set and how each course will give me the opportunity to practice what I've learned for a portfolio project.

By Uzeyir K

May 29, 2023

The Foundation of Data Science of Data Analytics Course on Coursera is a comprehensive and well-structured program. It covers fundamental concepts, practical applications, and provides hands-on experience. The course emphasizes real-world scenarios and offers valuable resources for learners. Highly recommended for building a solid foundation in data analytics.

By Ali Z

Jul 27, 2023

These are all important topics in the theory of machine learning and it is refreshing to see them introduced together in a textbook at this level.  However, the book also includes material on other topics including Markov chains, random graph models, linear and semidefinite programming and wavelets that are arguably not fundamental to data science.

By Umer E

Jan 31, 2024

It is an essential course to understand the basics of data science field. Not only this course explore the careers and skills needed to be successful in this field but also it enables the individuals to start the data science projects by providing the guidelines as to how the data science project is initiated and structured.

By norlan j

Apr 22, 2024

It is the best introductory course to the fundamentals of Data Analysis that I have seen so far. This course gives you an overview of what to expect in the data science workplace, and how to address different challenges, and it provides a logical framework for approaching a data analytics project in its planning phase.

By Mohit G

Sep 14, 2023

This course is best to get wholesome understanding of the entire data field - what actually happens in data field, who are the data professionals and their types, what they actually do and many more things. You'll get to know about PACE(Plan, Analyze, Construct, Execute) framework, the workflow of a project, etc.

By Kunitaka Y

Aug 14, 2023

Great course to begin with the data science journey. I like the wonderful tool PACE. It can be used in any field regardless of the type of the project. I wish to have more explanation about the exemplars. However, it gave me time to think and review my work by myself by comparing with the exemplar and my work.

By Diana E L

Jun 17, 2023

As a new entrant to data analytics in just over a year, I was missing this key piece of information on how to methodically approach the inception of answering business intelligence questions . This course has filled in these gaps for me and I can proudly say that my problem solving approach has sky-rocketed!

By Negar R N

Aug 22, 2023

The first course was a definite need to establish a solid foundation for what's coming next. I really enjoyed the instructor's narration and explanations. I took some notes to come back to when necessary. Overall, it gave me a better understanding of how the real-life Data Scientist role is involved with.

By sai k

Jul 24, 2023

I recently completed the "Foundations of Data Science" course on Coursera, and I must say it was an outstanding learning experience. The course provided a comprehensive introduction to the fundamental concepts of data science, and I feel much more confident in my understanding of the field.

By Amílcar F ( H

May 18, 2023

Excelente a nivel repaso para los que venimos del Certificado Profesional Google Data Analytics.

El nivel de los instructores sigue mejorando en cada curso.

Si bien es básico, define muy bien los roles y nos permite vislumbrar hacia qué parte de la cienca de datos queremos orientarnos.

By Nessa R

Feb 16, 2024

The information is relevant, digestible, and exciting. It is presented in a way that visually keeps my attention and it is very practical. Its not your typical dry technology learning experience. They clearly user tested this program several times, listened and applied the feedback.

By MM M m

Aug 10, 2023

This is a very good coarse to really get you started with a career in data Science even if you have no idea what its all about.Very well structured and they explain like you are a child. This is online studies made easy.Thank you , thank you google for creating such a great coarse!!

By Aakash B

May 19, 2023

In this part of the program, I learned the basic concepts of data science and discovered how data scientists operate in the workplace. I also learned how the PACE workflow can help you better understand how to navigate the technical and workplace expectations of a data professional.

By Pankaj K S

Jun 21, 2023

I have taken-up many course on udemy and many other platform, but must say google is simply extraordinary in everything. The way things are explained in this course have motivated me a lot towards my goal. Thanks google and thanks coursera for developing such an amazing platform.

By Paul R L

Aug 11, 2023

Great introduction to Data Science. For someone who is pursuing a career path, this introductory course provides a great introduction and inspiration for aspiring data scientists and analysts. The instructor speaks in a clear and mild tone, and explains the topic in detail.

By david o

Apr 11, 2023

It's incredible the amount of tools and the doors that opens to be able to conduct a superior work for the stakeholders with this course! The first minutes apparently is vary basic (and really, its fundamental), but explores some aspects that result of central importance.

By Josh K

May 4, 2024

This was a great foundational course for understanding the Planning stages of a Data Analytics process. I have a greater awareness of the tools for planning a workflow and building project proposals. This will aid in the rest of the course and my career as a whole.

By Ranjan K

Jul 30, 2023

This is one of the most popular Coursera specializations for meeting new career goals or defining a new career path. Students who learn data science on Coursera can choose between this course,. This review focuses on Coursera’s Introduction to Data Science.

By TAOFEEK A

Sep 3, 2023

This course is fantastic, an eye opener. I learned a lot about data science and the career opportunities therein , it's very comprehensive an easy to navigate and comprehend. it is highly recommended both for career change and direct opportunities.

By Dotun O

Jun 30, 2023

If one avoids rushing through this course, I believe that skills learnt are important underpinnings for the foundations of Data Science. Also, importantly, skill acquired here are transferrable to other projects. Thanks Google. Thanks Coursera.

By Juan C G G

May 11, 2024

Just completed the "Foundations of Data Science" course, enhancing my skills in regression modeling, Python programming, statistical analysis, effective communication, and predictive modeling. Excited to apply these in practical scenarios!

By Jatin G

Mar 9, 2024

Here the faculty covers each and every topics and concepts in a beautiful way the challenges and the assignments given were helping to make the concepts more clear by applying the knowledge we learn big thanks to google and team