Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Data Science by Google

4.7
stars
1,867 ratings

About the Course

This is the first of seven courses in the Google Advanced Data Analytics Certificate, which will help develop the skills needed to apply for more advanced data professional roles, such as an entry-level data scientist or advanced-level data analyst. Data professionals analyze data to help businesses make better decisions. To do this, they use powerful techniques like data storytelling, statistics, and machine learning. In this course, you’ll begin your learning journey by exploring the role of data professionals in the workplace. You’ll also learn about the project workflow PACE (Plan, Analyze, Construct, Execute) and how it can help you organize data projects. Google employees who currently work in the field will guide you through this course by providing hands-on activities that simulate relevant tasks, sharing examples from their day-to-day work, and helping you enhance your data analytics skills to prepare for your career. Learners who complete the seven courses in this program will have the skills needed to apply for data science and advanced data analytics jobs. This certificate assumes prior knowledge of foundational analytical principles, skills, and tools covered in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. By the end of this course, you will: -Describe the functions of data analytics and data science within an organization -Identify tools used by data professionals -Explore the value of data-based roles in organizations -Investigate career opportunities for a data professional -Explain a data project workflow -Develop effective communication skills...

Top reviews

NM

Feb 24, 2024

I have really got a fine refresher through this course. One of the basic idea of preparing PACE strategy document and understanding on RACI matrix was new for me. I recommend this course to every one.

MM

Jun 8, 2023

In this course i gain a deep knowledge about what is data science and what are all the other names, fields related with data science. How we use data to gain insights from the model.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 363 Reviews for Foundations of Data Science

By Hajira B

Mar 7, 2024

This course gave me insights into how an organization works on a data science project and the overall project workflow. I also gained knowledge on the skills a data scientist must have along with effective communication skills.

By Abdullah M

Sep 1, 2023

The Course is well formulated and goes step by step. Offer valuable information from the real world tech companies and teaches the best practices and processes in becoming a great future data scientist. Highly recommended!

By Brent A

May 20, 2023

Nice overview of the framework of a data science project and what types of jobs are available in the field. I also appreciate the explanations they give regarding other certifications to ensure you are in the right place.

By Qamar U Z B

Aug 10, 2023

I found this course very helpful as I learn several new terms and principles especially focused on providing practical experiences. Overall, it's the best option if you wanna start your career as a data professional.

By Lukman A

May 9, 2023

This course gives a granular understanding of data science, its use-cases and how it is constantly evolving. It also provides an important template on how to get started working with data. Strongly recommend this.

By June H

Oct 26, 2023

It gives the foundation of drafting a proposal of a project, which is the key part of data job. This course refreshes me to think about the communication part instead of always focusing on the techonical part.

By Markku L

Aug 18, 2023

Great overview to Data Science! Provided frameworks and tools were very useful, and continue to be in the future. The templates, however, could be improved in terms of using consistent fonts, styles, etc.

By Gizachew A

May 10, 2023

The course content was well-structured, concise, and easy to understand. I highly recommend learning the foundation of data science to anyone looking to take their data analysis skills to the next level.

By Aidan R

May 3, 2023

Felt like a good explanation of the different data professional careers, I feel like some of this information should have been in the beginner Google Data Analytics Course but I am glad it appears here.

By Nadya M

Feb 25, 2024

I have really got a fine refresher through this course. One of the basic idea of preparing PACE strategy document and understanding on RACI matrix was new for me. I recommend this course to every one.

By Mukesh K M

Jun 8, 2023

In this course i gain a deep knowledge about what is data science and what are all the other names, fields related with data science. How we use data to gain insights from the model.

By Abanoub Y

Aug 29, 2023

It's very useful course, I learned a lot about data science and data professionals' careers, it's very comprehensive introduction for data science and I am highly recommended.

By Sergio P S F

Jun 5, 2023

It was very useful to understand how is the data science carrers, how to communicate properly with others and how developt a good project proporsal and Pace workflow

By Azeez O S

Oct 30, 2022

It has accurately opened up the field of data science to complete novices and other professionals already in the field. Well curated contents, keep it up Google

By Julian A

Apr 11, 2023

Only issue I would improve is video audio, since it changes drastically from video to video. This occurs even when it is the same speaker using the same format.

By João V L M

May 25, 2023

Immersive material on foundations of data science and data analytics, as well as a great introduction to the called ''data career space''. Thumbs up for google

By S. H M

May 9, 2024

This course is more than just training a few tools. Rather, it helps to have a proper view of the principles of managing and advancing a data-related project.

By Diana A

Aug 7, 2023

the course has been interesting since I have been able to learn new items. It us helpful because after a failed assignment, i am able to go back and relearn

By Mohit S

Oct 26, 2022

I enjoyed the course 1 from start to finish. The videos and reading material were very helpful and informative. The course has good and consistent continuity

By M A

Jul 8, 2023

A good introduction to data science and the job of data analyst. The course provides useful documents that will be good templates in a professional setting.

By AFFAN R M

Dec 1, 2023

Amazing! After completing this course I realised how important communication for a data science project is and how its equally an important skill to learn.

By Debesh R

Dec 17, 2023

Excellent. The way you designed the course, the way you presented the course, the way you made us to walk-through the course - is simple excellent.

By Dilip W

Sep 8, 2023

Its a self proud moment when you see you are attached to such best cource belongs to biggest company of world.

It really encourage very powerfully.

By Joseph O

Aug 28, 2023

A very very in depth course for someone interested in data science. Kudos Google and Coursera; you are opening up tech space for those in oblivion

By Ahmad A A

Nov 15, 2022

An excellent introduction to data analytics life, where the speakers emphasize the real-industry problem and use-case of data in many industries.