Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
1,455 ratings
368 reviews

About the Course

Reinforcement Learning is a subfield of Machine Learning, but is also a general purpose formalism for automated decision-making and AI. This course introduces you to statistical learning techniques where an agent explicitly takes actions and interacts with the world. Understanding the importance and challenges of learning agents that make decisions is of vital importance today, with more and more companies interested in interactive agents and intelligent decision-making. This course introduces you to the fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning. When you finish this course, you will: - Formalize problems as Markov Decision Processes - Understand basic exploration methods and the exploration/exploitation tradeoff - Understand value functions, as a general-purpose tool for optimal decision-making - Know how to implement dynamic programming as an efficient solution approach to an industrial control problem This course teaches you the key concepts of Reinforcement Learning, underlying classic and modern algorithms in RL. After completing this course, you will be able to start using RL for real problems, where you have or can specify the MDP. This is the first course of the Reinforcement Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AT

Jul 07, 2020

An excellent introduction to Reinforcement Learning, accompanied by a well-organized & informative handbook. I definitely recommend this course to have a strong foundation in Reinforcement Learning.

NH

Apr 08, 2020

This course is one of the best I've learned so far in coursera. The explanations are clear and concise enough. It took a while for me to understand Bellman equation but when I did, it felt amazing!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 365 Reviews for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

By Austin S

Jun 06, 2020

Pretty good intro to RL! I've taken an AI class in college, but this class really helped me understand RL in more detail, and helped me visualize how RL algorithms actually work.

By TAOSEEF I

May 26, 2020

The instructors made the contents very easy to understand with some good real-world examples. The course is very effective for getting the fundamental knowledge in this domain.

By Peter L

Aug 24, 2019

This is a nice course. I think for people with no background in RL the pace might be a little fast. A few more examples could help them understanding the concepts more easily.

By Gerard A C S

Mar 07, 2020

The course was nice, easy to understand and intuitive. The professors taught the concepts very well and I really liked that they included guest lectures by other professors.

By Julien S

Mar 15, 2020

Best course on basics of Reinforcement Learning so far. Clear explanations, relevant quizz and coding exercises to really understand what we are dealing with in this field.

By Ivan S F

Aug 31, 2019

Very practical and learning-oriented. Providing the textbook in PDF is a big plus. I think there should be more programming exercises. Great course anyway. Worth taking it.

By André B

Dec 01, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. The examples and the infrastructure provided (jupyter notebooks as assingments) made this course one of the best MOOCs that I have ever taken

By Phil K M

Aug 22, 2020

I have learned a lot about the fundamental of reinforcement learning! Thanks a lot!

Two instructors are delivering an excellent course and the whole team did a great job!

By Christian R

Apr 15, 2020

I had some exposure to RL before but this course really tied together many things I learned so far and I'm very much looking forward to the rest of this specialization.

By Matias A

Feb 13, 2020

Great course in general. Very clear step-by-step explanations of the theory needed to understand, plus practical examples to be able to fully understand the concepts.

By Aditya S

Apr 17, 2020

Great course, To be honest this course has made my concepts very clear, and I highly appreciate the way Martha ma'am and Adam sir taught. I really enjoyed the course.

By Aditya J

Sep 16, 2019

Impressed by the knowledge of professors in the video and inspite of that they took so much interest in teaching minor concepts to students which are trivial to them.

By Gowtham.R

Jan 26, 2020

Amazing course! This course goes through the fundamentals of RL covering both theory and practicals(through programming assignments). The book is also great to read.

By Qianbo Y

Jan 08, 2020

A very good course integrated with Sutton and Barto textbook. A good foundation of RL can be learned from this class. It also balances well with theory and practice.

By Saikat M

Aug 08, 2019

Good course following the classic book but it is kept at an easy pace for diverse people to be able to understand and apply the concepts of reinforcement learning.

By Yangjiong Z

May 09, 2020

best reinforcement learning on the cousera so far! all the concepts are presented in a very clear manner and plenty examples provided to facilitate understanding.

By Max C

Oct 24, 2019

Got me kickstarted with RL pretty well. I tried reading the RL book myself previously, but having complementary lectures and assignments made all the difference.

By Christian S

Sep 02, 2019

great course; well explained and exercises reinforce the learnt material. also, great that this course uses Sutton's and Barto's book on reinforcement learning.

By İbrahim Y

Sep 18, 2020

The course gives basic ideas for introductory concepts for RL. This course is recommended for RL learners who would like to get some basic intuitions for RL.

By FERNANDO L S

Apr 27, 2020

Extraordinary material. Good examples and exercises. Works very well if you take the lessons together with reading the book. Congratulations on the course!

By Shengjian C

Sep 01, 2019

This is a very helpful courses to help me walk through the Reinforcement Learning book with different kind of practices. Looking forward to taking course2!

By June X

Aug 06, 2019

I love their way of teaching, they ask you to read, understand firstly, and then start to give a lecture about what it is, which helps a lot to understand.

By 刘旻星

Jul 01, 2020

Getting through this course, i know about Reinforcement learning more systematically. And a solid foundamental knowledge is a beginning of success

By Li L

Aug 11, 2020

Awesome course! The concepts and basic ideas are made very clear through the videos and assignments. The programming assignments are also useful.

By vishal s

Aug 13, 2020

Nice course for people who are beginning Reinforcement Learning ,as the course takes you slow and steady by strengthning your basic concepts