Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Git and GitHub

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Git and GitHub by IBM

4.6
stars
914 ratings

About the Course

Get started with Git and GitHub in this self-paced, introductory course! You’ll become familiar with collaborative version control and popular Git platforms. Collaboration and social coding are crucial parts of contemporary Software Engineering practices and the DevOps culture. You will begin this course with an overview of Git and Github fundamentals and explore key Git concepts such as branching and repositories, as well as the use of Git commands. You will also learn and practice various Git concepts such as forking, cloning and merging workflows using hands-on labs. And you’ll learn to use GitHub to work effectively as a team, and perform common Git operations, from both the Web UI and command line. The course wraps up with a final project where you will start building your portfolio by creating and sharing a public/open-source GitHub project. By completing this course you will demonstrate your Git and Github skills as well as add a project to your resume! All hands-on activities in this course can be performed using web-browser based tools and interfaces. Installation of any specialized software is NOT required on your own computer in order to complete the course....

Top reviews

ST

Oct 5, 2023

one of the best courses for beginners having great basic knowledge and hands-on lab by IBM are amazing special thanks to Coursera for providing financial aid for this course

EG

Nov 21, 2023

The most interesting part for me was the final project that had to do with all the knowledge gathered from the beginning of the course. It was more practical and engaging.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 198 Reviews for Getting Started with Git and GitHub

By Kimberly M

May 9, 2022

The lectures move very quickly and don't really teach you how to use any git commands. the hands on labs were very helpful but the only real learning was to be had by the optional assignments. If you were to skip those, you wouldn't have retained the knowledge to complete the final assignment.

By Karsten S

Feb 4, 2023

Overall a good course - with gaps in explaining some of the concepts properly. In the exercise, you need to work with pull requests, which need to be explained better. And the task can be misleading ... should the PR be for the forked project or for the original source repo??? But it is still well spent time, with good hands-on elements.

By Douglas B

Nov 10, 2022

Hello, my name is Douglas Bermudez I am living in Dallas Texas. Currently, I have been working at NEC Corporation of America as desktop support analyst level II since 2018. I have taking this as part of the Full Stack Developer certification to get a job as Full Stack Developer. Git and Github certification has provided me the skills and knowledge to work projects locally or from cloud without affect the main project, this tool recorded any change made on the program code as version control helping the project manager and developer avoid any mistake before deploying the app. I loved this course because I have the knowledge and skills work projects locally or from the cloud.

By Kabwe C

Jul 9, 2023

I would highly rate the Git and GitHub course as an exceptional learning experience. The course provided comprehensive and practical knowledge about version control and collaborative software development using Git and GitHub. The instructors did an excellent job of explaining complex concepts in a clear and concise manner, making it easy to grasp the fundamentals. The hands-on assignments and real-world examples helped solidify my understanding and allowed me to apply the concepts in a practical setting. The course also emphasized the importance of effective collaboration and showcased the power of GitHub for managing projects. Last but not least, I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to master Git and GitHub and enhance their software development skills.

By Matteo

Feb 29, 2024

Very good introduction to git and GitHub. I particularly appreciate the fact that they covered how to fork a repo and how to contribute to a repo that has been forked.

By Stephanie R

Jan 5, 2024

This course does a great job of teaching Git fundamentals. Though I already knew most of it, it would have been helpful to have this course earlier in my career!

By yongsheng z

Aug 6, 2023

The lessons are very practical , It saved me a lot of time if I try to learn github by myself.

By Mahdieh K

Jul 27, 2023

this course disappoints in every possible way. GitHub is user-friendly and if I don't learn how to create a pull request here, I am sure I will figure it out. I took this course to have a better grasp on the different commands used in git but didn't learn much. The course material doesn't provide sufficient information on push command which is the tricky part of working with Git and GitHub. Generally, I take a course expecting to learn most of the information on the topic in a well organized syllabus. of course if the course cannot satisfy my expectation what is the difference from searching the topic in youtube.

By Denis K

Oct 3, 2023

A very useful course for me! If you want to gain basic experience with version control services like Git and GitHub, this course will provide you with enough knowledge. The coding practices are great, they give a good training. However, maybe there are some minor issues with inconsistency in some places that need to be addressed, but that’s ok overall. Thank you, IBM and Coursera!

By Muhammad B

Jun 29, 2022

Although I was working and using Git for over 2 years but the knowledge provided in this course was really helpful and labs were designed efficiently to provide the candidate with sound knowledge of Git and Github.Highly recommended for someone looking to demonstrate Github knowledge or if you are totally begginer then this is the right place for you.Thanks.

By Viktor K

Aug 16, 2022

This is a wonderful course, made with soul. This is a wonderful story in simple words about complex topics. Huge thanks to the amazing creators and IBM Corporation. I am a refugee from Ukraine studying to find a job and this course has been a huge support for me and my family during a difficult time after russia's dastardly attack on Ukraine. 

By Ilan R

Oct 8, 2023

I came into this course with little experience with git and GitHub, and after this course I feel confident that I can use git and GitHub with my projects. I really liked this course because it allowed me to practice what I learned through the interactive labs.

By Google C

Oct 25, 2023

Exceptional course, I highly recommend this for beginners like me, when you have the need to learn about Git and GitHub, what these are, how they work and how to effectively use them as a developer or as any other role.

By Snowil T

Oct 6, 2023

one of the best courses for beginners having great basic knowledge and hands-on lab by IBM are amazing special thanks to Coursera for providing financial aid for this course

By Edoghotu G

Nov 22, 2023

The most interesting part for me was the final project that had to do with all the knowledge gathered from the beginning of the course. It was more practical and engaging.

By alexandret n

Jan 10, 2023

Excelente curso, a prova foi show, obrigado Coursera, obrigado IBM, Obrigado GitHub. Quero agradecer de coração a todos, e Deus em primeiro lugar,

By Toni-Lee M

Jan 27, 2024

Great and informative course about Git and GitHub. Great tool for beginners and for those who have already used GitHub, but need a refresher.

By Freyza F K

Jun 2, 2022

Good course.. This course teaches you with simple explanation but you'll get many beneficial insights in it. Thanks IBM, Thanks Coursera.

By Bernard R

Oct 29, 2023

Very Good Course as an introduction to Git and Github. It got me interested to search more and know more about how to use Github.

By Frailan M M

May 10, 2023

A very complete and dynamic course that develops learning how to operate GitHub, its history and the benefits for the community.

By Danish K

Feb 18, 2024

It's a very good course. Git and GitHub are explained well, however the concepts could be simplified for extreme beginners.

By Aniket O

Jan 2, 2023

A wonderfully organised course and thank you for letting me do the course it was a great learning time especially for me

By Olaoluwa I

Jan 26, 2023

Even though I was familiar with Git and GitHub before now, I still took something out of this course. It was Awesome.

By Prerana C

Jun 4, 2023

Really Useful course foe those who want to lear Github and Git. Labs was full of real world experience for course.

By Yosef T

Feb 26, 2024

This is great course. I recommend it to developers or anyone thinking to use version control like git and GitHub.