Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Git and GitHub

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Git and GitHub by IBM

4.6
stars
968 ratings

About the Course

Get started with Git and GitHub in this self-paced, introductory course! You’ll become familiar with collaborative version control and popular Git platforms. Collaboration and social coding are crucial parts of contemporary Software Engineering practices and the DevOps culture. You will begin this course with an overview of Git and Github fundamentals and explore key Git concepts such as branching and repositories, as well as the use of Git commands. You will also learn and practice various Git concepts such as forking, cloning and merging workflows using hands-on labs. And you’ll learn to use GitHub to work effectively as a team, and perform common Git operations, from both the Web UI and command line. The course wraps up with a final project where you will start building your portfolio by creating and sharing a public/open-source GitHub project. By completing this course you will demonstrate your Git and Github skills as well as add a project to your resume! All hands-on activities in this course can be performed using web-browser based tools and interfaces. Installation of any specialized software is NOT required on your own computer in order to complete the course....

Top reviews

ST

Oct 5, 2023

one of the best courses for beginners having great basic knowledge and hands-on lab by IBM are amazing special thanks to Coursera for providing financial aid for this course

EG

Nov 21, 2023

The most interesting part for me was the final project that had to do with all the knowledge gathered from the beginning of the course. It was more practical and engaging.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 207 Reviews for Getting Started with Git and GitHub

By Juan D S A

Mar 30, 2024

Excellent

By Deleted A

Mar 29, 2024

thank you

By Vishal Y

Oct 23, 2023

Excellent

By AHMED E M

Jul 30, 2023

Excellent

By Daniel R

Feb 7, 2023

Excellent

By Fernando D S

Jun 22, 2023

Awesome.

By William L

May 21, 2023

Amazing!

By Nishant S g

Jan 7, 2023

Awesome

By Tanish A

May 4, 2024

amazing

By Justin W

Nov 10, 2022

Awesome

By Justin H

Oct 2, 2023

Brutal

By Swultra S

Dec 31, 2022

thanks

By Botirjon K

Sep 27, 2022

fgreat

By EDWARD L

May 27, 2023

great

By Nader

Jun 2, 2024

good

By HARSH V

Mar 12, 2024

good

By Henrique f p

Dec 18, 2023

nice

By manish S

Oct 13, 2023

good

By ROTHVAN M S

Dec 1, 2022

good

By Kochetov D

Aug 27, 2022

By Nick S

Oct 12, 2023

I’ve used git and GitHub for the past 4 years, so this course was very easy to me. I completed it in 1.5 hours, so I might slightly be biased due to my experience. I really liked the following things: + The course covered all main concepts of git/GitHub, which you will use + It covered both UI and CLI commands. + There were a lot of opportunities to practice the commands/features that got introduced to you. + The final assignment is really hands on Things I can think can be improved. - There wasn't a mention of advanced concepts like fixing a merge conflict or squashing commits. - I feel like with git and GitHub there should be more practical labs, since this is a tool that you really learn by using.

By Tikhomirov V

Aug 1, 2023

The course is awesome since in a short period of time considering all the lectures, quizzes and assignments you get a decent amount of information. But not all that information is being practiced so you are left with information that you are likely to forget unless you'll be working with that soon.

I mean you get skills on how to work on your own with git and GitHub but the information about commands that can be used if you're administrator in some group project are not practiced.

By Davis D

Oct 3, 2023

This course was very helpful. The final project, especially part 2 stretched me. I had to really troubleshoot, and the prompt does not sugarcoat the process it takes to make changes, fork, and clone. By the end of it I feel like I have a good understanding of git and a much better understanding of how to utilize github.

By Juan D T U

Dec 29, 2022

Really good course to take if you don't have any idea about git repositoriesm very useful to gain an insight about the tool. 4/5 because perfection does not exist

By Joshua F

Jun 27, 2022

Great course for beginners who want to learn GitHub. The course even covers Git Bash so that you can use the Command Line Interface through Git Bash.