Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Git and GitHub

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Git and GitHub by IBM

4.6
stars
959 ratings

About the Course

Get started with Git and GitHub in this self-paced, introductory course! You’ll become familiar with collaborative version control and popular Git platforms. Collaboration and social coding are crucial parts of contemporary Software Engineering practices and the DevOps culture. You will begin this course with an overview of Git and Github fundamentals and explore key Git concepts such as branching and repositories, as well as the use of Git commands. You will also learn and practice various Git concepts such as forking, cloning and merging workflows using hands-on labs. And you’ll learn to use GitHub to work effectively as a team, and perform common Git operations, from both the Web UI and command line. The course wraps up with a final project where you will start building your portfolio by creating and sharing a public/open-source GitHub project. By completing this course you will demonstrate your Git and Github skills as well as add a project to your resume! All hands-on activities in this course can be performed using web-browser based tools and interfaces. Installation of any specialized software is NOT required on your own computer in order to complete the course....

Top reviews

ST

Oct 5, 2023

one of the best courses for beginners having great basic knowledge and hands-on lab by IBM are amazing special thanks to Coursera for providing financial aid for this course

EG

Nov 21, 2023

The most interesting part for me was the final project that had to do with all the knowledge gathered from the beginning of the course. It was more practical and engaging.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 207 Reviews for Getting Started with Git and GitHub

By Hicham A

Dec 25, 2023

The course could be enhanced by incorporating more extensive and real-world project scenarios, providing learners with a deeper understanding of collaborative development.

By Brennan F

Aug 13, 2022

Narration and wording seems overly complex and is more confusing than it needs to be. I used the GitHub resources and it made a lot more sense and took less time...

By Jeffrey P M

Aug 29, 2023

needed a little mor in depth overview, but the react portion next up helps a lot with the general understanding about GITs power

By Mitch G

May 9, 2023

confusing wrt. the Lab (slow, buggy) CLI, vs. the upstream and origin repos on Github (no CLI commands)

By Marco H

Jan 9, 2024

Need to make the exercises more dynamic, and also update the commands. Some of them are very obsolete

By Aouss A

Jan 16, 2024

The course is patchy, missing instructions, the examples could be improved.

By Jacques L

Jan 23, 2024

Terrible last assignment/project. This needs a lot more oversight.

By Satwik P

Apr 14, 2023

The instructions for final project is somewhat confusing.

By Oscar J

Feb 16, 2024

The hands on in the lab is very tedious on configurations

By Daniel S

Mar 9, 2023

Honestly I still have only a vague idea how GIT works.

By Alexander M

Jun 15, 2023

practice part was not clearly described

By Arnab S

Jan 6, 2024

peer graded assignment was complex

By Juan M

Sep 19, 2022

This needs more hands-on practice.

By Евгений К

Apr 22, 2023

The lab is silly

By MIRPATI C

Feb 14, 2023

good

By Armen T

Oct 4, 2022

Another poorly designed course by IBM. This one is not nearly as bad as the HTML, CSS, Javascript class, but the disconnect between what the class material is and what the final assignment instructions are compared to what the rubric is super off. Just going through the discussions and grading people's assignments it was clear everyone on the final was confused about tasks 9 and 10. Confusing instructions and poor scaffolding are rampant. I wish the would learn from how Google does thier classes.

By Blake C

Feb 3, 2024

This was one of the worst cert programs I have gone through for Git and GitHub. Can't believe I paid money for this. There are free YouTube videos that do a better job.

By Rajveer S

Nov 23, 2023

I submitted my peer graded and i didnot get the certificate now i am detained in a subject please send me my certificate in 1 or 2 hours its very very important fo me

By Mirza J Z B

May 25, 2024

explanation was not really good when it comes to push, pull and changing file content from terminal and SSH key generation explanation is not really good

By Marcela

May 24, 2024

Repetitive content and peer graded assignments are a joke, everyone submitting trash and the ones doing an effort are wrongly graded.

By Lady D

Jul 7, 2023

Outdated screenshots and in parts also outdated commands. Had to use my own terminal to complete and do an extra, much better explained, course, which cost me extra money. The instructions are missing clarity and at times steps in between to clarify what is happening. The extra course I took on another platform explains better, more comprehensive and more wholesom the principle of Git (incl. GitHub, GitKraken, VS Code, Remone Commands) in less than half the time. I suggest complete overhaul of this course concept.

By Harry I

Dec 7, 2022

The final project part 2 has problems. Apparently for at least five months based on the help requests dating back at least that far. What is really unacceptable is this problem still exists, and the staff who answered either don't understand the questions being posed or just post the same answer by rote.

By Tyler B

May 27, 2024

None of this added with coursera plus resulted in a job. Waste of my time and money. Have the background. Experience. And skill set. This entire site didn't set anybody up for career prospects. Going to continue reviewing the rest of the courses in a similar manner until I receive recompense or justice.

By Stanislav E

Jan 24, 2024

Very fast material presentation, then strange labs, where the most part of the time is taken by creating of the screenshots, and finally peer cross checks takes the time, you not only have to check someone else's results but also just to seat and wait when someone will check your work.

By Robert D

Dec 11, 2022

Don't Pay to take any of these courses until IBM Full Stack Developer Certification Course has been updated. There is a new version with 13 classes, and its pointless to do the 12 course version.