Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
16,416 ratings
5,033 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 4,982 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Patrycja E S

Oct 24, 2015

Excellent course! It teaches very clearly about grammar and punctuation. It's easy to follow and understand. I recommend this to anyone who is not sure where to put that ',', ';' or '.'. Definitely worth it :)

By Victoria O

Sep 23, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. It brought a new understanding to information I already had but in a new way. I would recommend this class to anyone who needs a refresher or wants to get better at writing.

By Abhisek M

Jul 11, 2020

The course provided a very good approach in handling punctuations in sentences that we come across in a day to day life. This course is indeed very important to strengthen our command over good writing skills

By Maria J D

May 11, 2019

Thank you very much for the opportunity to take this course. I learned so much, and I could to imporve my weaknesses about grammar. You all are a great team. I hope have another opportunit to learn from you.

By Andrew D Y

Mar 12, 2016

I really enjoyed listenning to all lectures and saved it to return back to it again. I always used some of these rules without information but now I could use it professionally.

Thank you for this lectures :)

By Huang J

Feb 7, 2016

The first course is though easy but interesting. It is a good start for listeners like me who is learning English as a second language to master some detailed information or rather punctuation about English.

By Matloob A

Oct 14, 2020

This is a very informative and interesting course for the students who are in the beginning phase of their study. It boosts the confidence and gives a clear knowledge of grammar in a simple and easy manner.

By Bidhayak R

Apr 25, 2020

This course helped me a lot to clear my doubt about tense ,punctuation and sentence structure.Morever, the syllabus is well organised in a way that it will help you to use these lessons in essay writtings.

By Mustapha L

Sep 4, 2016

Excellent course!!! I really recommend it for those who want to improve their grammar skills or just as a global revision of already acquired knowledge. Thanks so much to all the staff for this opportunity.

By Dalined P

Dec 16, 2020

It´s a good way to a recorder and learns about topics that are basic and necessary in English. Maybe you don't have to remember the name by name, but it´s important that you identified them to do good use.

By Md s R

May 10, 2020

The journey was awesome. The method of teaching is unique. People can learn many things by this course like use of commas, sentence Variety, parallel structure of sentence etc..so, welcome to this course..

By Asel S

Dec 21, 2015

The course is well planned and organised. Students have an opportunity to interact with each other; moreover, they help and revise classmates's work. In addition, given material is interesting and helpful.

By Mahbubul H

Jul 14, 2020

I have learned certain things from this course that i never have learned from anywhere before . Surely, one of the best courses,especially, for them who want to learn,master, and excel in English writing.

By Mozhdeh A

May 18, 2020

Although I have read a lot about the grammatical standards of good writing, considering its punctuation, my knowledge classified in better categories, and I am now more confident to use them in my essays.

By Nguyễn V C

Jan 8, 2016

I love to review through grammar and i saw the content of the course is posted clearly, easy, encourage every classmate interact with each other and so convinient for everyone can learn anytime they want!

By Assia G

Sep 28, 2020

l had a really great experience with Coursera. lt has guided through such a simple and easy way that I feel confident, now. These skills will help me improve my writing skills a lot. Thank you, Coursera.

By María C G M

Jul 8, 2020

It's a great course that helps you to improve your grammar skills. I learned so many new techniques. The methodology is great, videos, simple lectures, and participative forums. I certainly recommend it,

By Yoon J L

Dec 23, 2019

Overall, this course was helpful for me to review some basic grammars. (Though there were some parts that were still confusing for me.) I will continue to take other academic specialization course work.

By ANAMIKA S

Jul 8, 2019

nowadays, we don't emphasize on proper punctuation and grammar, which in fact, is very important when it comes to writing. this course helped me to learn basic skills of writing and proper use of tenses.

By Utam

May 12, 2019

It has been great learning with UCT Extension Continuing Education!

A big thanks to coursera for such a wonderful opportunity. I look forward to continue learning and developing some other skills as well.

By Nuzhat A S

Feb 16, 2019

I learned about verb and conjunctions. Commas, compound sentences, and conjunctive adverbs to use as transitions, three types of compound sentences and more punctuation thank you so much for helping me.

By Dulichand P

Aug 17, 2018

ya, this course is very nicely designed with enough number of quizzes, so we can get maximum benefit; therefore, i would like to thank the coursera team for providing such wonderful opportunity to learn.

By Zainab E E

Jul 11, 2018

thanks for your great course .It was my 1st course in Coursera ,and it makes me excited for more !I could take the course only in 3 days ! .I'm extremely grateful.thanks again for your impressive effort.

By Ciela Z

May 4, 2020

This is a great navigation tool to be refreshed with your grammar and punctuation! exhaustive if to take all 4 modules in one go, but rewarding as it builds back your grounds on this topic =) great one!

By Hana S

Mar 27, 2018

If you want to improve you writing, this course is a stepping stone. It will teach you a lot about the verb tenses, punctuation, and structure. Just follow the instructions, and you will benefit a lot.