Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
7,609 ratings
2,230 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

KG

Dec 26, 2016

This is a very useful course even if you are very good in English . This course helps in understanding the type of sentences, proper usage of commas and perfect ways of writing attractive paragraphs.

AA

Jul 07, 2019

A very useful course, specially designed for those who either forgot the grammar or did not study English grammar properly in the journey of learning English. It is a path way to good writing skills.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 2,189 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By RAND H

Jul 26, 2018

This course is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Highly recommend it!

By Salman A

Jul 17, 2018

Very helpful

By Alena

Jul 27, 2018

It was great

By Jane L

Jul 28, 2018

I enjoyed this coursera!

By Rubén D M

Nov 05, 2018

¡Excelente!

By Kausar B

Jul 11, 2018

An amazing course that clarifies the sentence structures.

By Madhumeeta M S

Jul 12, 2018

T

By Ahmed A

Jul 13, 2018

This course have made me more confident in my writing skill through its brief lessons, exercises, peer-graded assignments, and help to spot my writing weaknesses and mistakes. I'm looking forward to complete the whole specialization.

By Juan M H A

Jul 16, 2018

Really easy and useful. The method that they use to teach English grammar is excellent because they provide enough practice examples.

By Victor

Jul 26, 2017

ty so much

By Jianwen F

Mar 07, 2016

This course is very helpful, and I have learned something new . Thank you.

By Muhammed L S

Dec 15, 2015

Thank you so much <33

By MRMC

Jan 10, 2016

This course has taught me a lot of reminding about what I have already learned but have forgotten about them and served to validate them again. Excellent on line course and FREE AT THAT. Can't get a better deal than that. Congratulations to those involved in putting up on line such very informative and fun course.

By Cindy S S

Jan 17, 2018

Good contects.

By Arun K D

Jan 05, 2016

Excellent learning opportunity.

By Miriam A

Nov 21, 2017

Super useful

By Aishwary S

Jan 26, 2016

superb...

By Tahmidur r

Feb 17, 2016

Fantastic.

By PIMPHISA L

Nov 19, 2015

Good

By Gunawan A

Mar 06, 2018

An excellent writing course for nan native english speaker.

By Valerio C

Oct 30, 2015

Very useful

By Alfonso N C

Sep 07, 2017

A really good course. It shows you the typical problems in essays :)

By Christina

Nov 04, 2015

Reviewing grammar and punctuation was a great help for the course Teaching English as a Second Language. I am glad for the refresher.

By Mahnoor B

Mar 01, 2016

Great course for beginners

By Josh D

Dec 16, 2015

The course really helps me review important things in English grammar and punctuation.