Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
1,170 ratings
227 reviews

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Top reviews

PD

Nov 27, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD

Dec 05, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 220 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By Petra L M

Oct 30, 2017

thnak you

By Anna E T

Jan 01, 2017

I learned a lot about the history of graphic design through this course and I really enjoyed the research assignments which encouraged us to delve more deeply into the history, the changes, and the ideas behind so many designs.

By mangazico

Oct 30, 2017

it was one of the best online courses that has coursera the lectures are really enjoyable i had a great time and most important I earn a lot about the history of Graphic design

By Magdalena P F

Sep 13, 2016

This course is very well explained and very interesting. The assignments are simple and still bring a lot into the learning process.

By Gustavo P

Sep 26, 2016

Excellent teachers, course and specialization.

By Ulrich W

Dec 22, 2016

Very nice overview how trends and tastes changed over time, finalizing in a project targeting a particular sub-culture. I learned something.

By Hayden P

Jun 01, 2017

Great Intro, thanks so much

By Jane E M

Mar 11, 2017

Eloquent and inspiring. You'll want to read more on your own.

By Ferdinand P

Aug 30, 2016

This is a very important course in understanding the history of graphic design. Good job to the creators of this course.

By Juan C E

Dec 20, 2016

It is a powerful tool for anyone interested on Visual Arts. The way this course is designed and curated, allows the student to expand the scope of the matter and get some inspiration to pursue his own sources of knowledge. Good work!

By Fatimah O

Jan 14, 2017

I really like it, even it took long time for me to submit week 4 assignments before the dead line.

I really wonder if calart afford an online graphic design degree.

Thanks.

By Violaine B

Aug 14, 2016

Amazing class, very interesting in terms of content -you learn a lot about the History of Graphic Design- and a great reflection on graphic design today. The assignments were all clever and insightful.

I really recommend it for anyone in the graphic design business, whether you're starting out or have been in the industry a while!

By Kevin J

Aug 08, 2016

Really enjoyed this course and would love to indulge in more activities and information on the history of Graphic Design.

By Ivan O

Dec 15, 2016

Interesting and fun to watch. Not so practical as other courses in the Specialisation but definitely good to know.

By Julia K

Oct 27, 2016

Great course!

By Alejandra R

Mar 20, 2017

Really well constructed course on some premises, tendencies and movements relevant for the History of Graphic Design. For someone who hasn't had formal design education and is seeking for some knowledge in this area, this is the perfect approach.

By 黄楚风

Sep 01, 2016

Inspires me a lot.

By Stephanie O

Feb 27, 2017

It's good to have a background on the history of Graphic Design. Historical and Contemporary References and what their differences helps me when designing a brand/logo/logotype

By Nicoleta P

Jan 28, 2017

Very informative and helpful.

By Fabian M

Dec 14, 2016

Fun and very interesting. It has lifted the veil from a lot of things that were all around me in society and yet were transparent to me prior to this course.

By Philipa B

Jun 19, 2018

I love it!

By Stella S

Jan 16, 2018

Super interesting!

By Daniel D

Jul 11, 2016

Great course!! Thank you, Coursera!!!

By Juachi O

Sep 21, 2017

Enjoyed learning about the evolution of Graphic Design. I do wish this course covered other countries. Perhaps I'll look that up independently

By Dave L

Aug 31, 2016

Pretty good for such a short course - interesting ideas and exposure to new concepts. Thanks!