Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
1,288 ratings
246 reviews

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Top reviews

PD

Nov 27, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD

Dec 05, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 239 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By Clara

Jul 27, 2016

it gives a good understanding of graphic design evolution from post second WW to contemporary time. Very focused on American design.

By Egle

Sep 01, 2016

Really interesting and useful. Although some more information about the more post-modern approaches would be also great.

By Tigran G

Nov 12, 2017

All was very good, but if after every video put a little quiz it will be better to understand and remember the material

By Nene W

Feb 22, 2017

I learnt quite alot about design luminaries. Would prefer if it was truely global but still a very interesting course

By Joy S

Oct 01, 2018

I am not into art. Nevertheless, this class and the others in this specialty were surprisingly interesting.

By Vijayasundaram M

Mar 01, 2017

The course was well structured; and provided opportunity to seek and learn more on the topics dicussed

By Ibrahim N

Jul 18, 2016

Too example based course but indeed very interesting for exploring the ages of graphic design hitory

By Kolya K

Mar 30, 2018

Great Course, got lot of knowledge. A little short and required to continuing studying on your own.

By Camila L

Jan 11, 2017

I would like to have more materials. See more work, read/listen about more design movements.

By Christine

Jun 22, 2016

Excellent presentation, engaging content, interesting and relevant assignments and quizes.

By Nicholas S H

May 06, 2019

I would like to know about how graphic design occurred in non-US or European countries.

By Virginia L

Nov 17, 2017

I love the examples, the theory behind without being too didactic. It could be longer

By E. C C

Apr 06, 2017

Solid, if minimal introduction to some points from the History of Graphic Design.

By Aishwarya V

Dec 08, 2016

Great content. There is a lot to learn from this course. Excellent lectures.

By Amor S

Oct 16, 2019

If there are some recommendation for reading, it would be better.

By Nicole S

May 24, 2018

Good course, wish had more time to get a big picture perspective.

By Olena

Jun 29, 2017

The course is informative and develops analysis skills.

By Maria B

Sep 12, 2017

i would prefer more insight into the european design

By Abayomi B

Apr 08, 2017

This course is very informative and inspiring.

By 当英直

Oct 24, 2016

Clear pattern of graphic design history!

By Karen

Sep 21, 2016

Good start for learning History of GD.

By Cameron S

Apr 12, 2017

Nice and informative

By Alexandra K M

Mar 06, 2019

I't was good

By Peter R

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent.

By MARISOL P V

Oct 04, 2017

Great!