Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
1,344 ratings
255 reviews

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Top reviews

PD

Nov 27, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD

Dec 05, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filter by:

226 - 249 of 249 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By Olena

Jun 29, 2017

The course is informative and develops analysis skills.

By Maria B

Sep 12, 2017

i would prefer more insight into the european design

By Abayomi B

Apr 08, 2017

This course is very informative and inspiring.

By 当英直

Oct 24, 2016

Clear pattern of graphic design history!

By Karen

Sep 21, 2016

Good start for learning History of GD.

By Cameron S

Apr 12, 2017

Nice and informative

By Alexandra K M

Mar 06, 2019

I't was good

By Peter R

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent.

By MARISOL P V

Oct 04, 2017

Great!

By Samantha F

Apr 05, 2019

This course provided a solid foundation in graphic design - though limited to a Western history. Today it seems as though Bauhaus-influenced minimalism is an all-encompassing design approach. As a new designer, it would have been beneficial to understand alternative or reactionary approaches (maximalism is a new design buzzword, for example) and traditions from outside the USA/Western Europe schools of design - especially as these are difficult things to research independently.

By Sami L

Dec 06, 2016

The course being concentrated exclusively on the design ideas of United States, it's quite literally "some ideas from the history of graphic design". Some of the choices for the contents of the course were, from the continental point of view, rather odd, though that did not make them any less interesting. As a summary: the course was interesting enough to be passed through.

By Wellington A M d S

Dec 26, 2016

The tutoring quality are over the top teaching with well done mentoring and high quality materials. But I felt a lack of coverage of other graphic design of other cultures such as other countries where many ideas were born. ie: Africa and Asia.

By Megan M

Jun 15, 2017

This class is very informative and well put together. Slightly boring and dry, because there aren't any creative projects, mostly just research. Its an important and useful class though.

By Bhavna S

May 22, 2017

I found this course very interesting and intensive. There is so much history to understand, interpret and re-contextualise as a designer.

By Luis H R

Jul 03, 2016

A nice introductory course.

However, I found the latter half of the course too skewed towards the USA.

By Sayem

Dec 15, 2017

The assignments should have been more focused towards creating rather than writing.

By Adrien M M

Feb 01, 2020

the audio in this course sometimes is very high and snd sometimes is very low

By Dmitrii P

Apr 09, 2017

Week 4 - too much of materials, and test questions does not match the text

By Arshla J

Sep 24, 2016

Informative and sometimes fascinating.

By Erick A R A d l S

Feb 24, 2018

The course is very light.

By Mi Z

Aug 02, 2018

This course is really dry and I feel what I learned in the videos are not necessarily connected with the assignments. This is the 3rd course under Graphic Design certificate and is my least favorite one.The ones about fundamentals of Graphic Design and Typography are both really helpful, but not this one.

By Ala'a N E

Oct 02, 2019

This course wasn't interesting at all, nor assignments. Please try to enhance the way of presenting the theoretical information.

By Liudmila V

Jun 27, 2016

This course is about nothing, it is poor illustrated and uninformative. The lecturer's manner is anno

By Kathleen D

Sep 12, 2016

This course is