Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
2,250 ratings

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

Top reviews

ER

Mar 21, 2022

I was a little bit nervous about this course, I always hated History in school, but surprisingly this was very good! I enjoyed it! The assignments were easy to understand and managebale to complete.

PD

Nov 26, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 473 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By Salem F A

Sep 28, 2019

I get a lot of information from this part of graphic design specialization courses, very highly recommended .

By Viorel-Daniel S

Oct 9, 2017

It was fun learning about the history of design. Assignments are easy and do not require much effort, though.

By Breen O

Aug 3, 2020

Excellent course. Very interesting . I enjoyed the assignments though the bar is very low to receive a pass.

By Sahara Z F

Sep 17, 2020

A very fun and informative course. Take this course if you are interested in the history of graphic design!

By Mark H

Sep 8, 2020

I found this course to be very interesting and very relevant to anyone who is serious about Graphic Design.

By Daria N

Nov 29, 2018

Excellent insight into history, many interesting examples, it was very informative. Thanks for the course!

By Ahmed M A

Sep 11, 2018

it's very useful course

i learned, how designers are thinking in the past and how it related to the future

By Sofía V d l T A L

Nov 25, 2020

This is a great course! It shows the value of Graphic Design through the years in a very interesting way.

By VALERIO , S R (

Feb 12, 2021

thank you for the learning experience, i know it will really help me throughout my journey as an artist.

By Juliette S

Nov 7, 2016

Great class! learned a lot about the history of design and how the techniques are still being used today

By Oluwaseun O O

Oct 23, 2016

i hatehistory as a subject but i love this course. some great ideas from the past still being used today

By Kyle L

Aug 9, 2016

Really great and thorough content. A wonderful introduction to the dense and exciting history of design.

By Ellie R

Sep 24, 2018

Very interesting and insightful trip throughout the history of graphic design with thorough analysis.

By Tawana D W

Mar 19, 2018

This course is fast paced and very informative. I really like how well organized each lesson appears.

By Pennie C

Jun 3, 2017

I learned so miuch. Best course of all last 4 in the Graphic Design so far. Let me test the last one.

By Nirav N

Oct 21, 2020

This course teaches me basics and foundation of Graphics design and how it gets improved with time.

By Michael G T

Nov 22, 2021

really very valuable course with fantastic ideas and techniques from the history of graphic design

By Aditi A

Nov 24, 2020

Loved this course. I learnt so much about graphic design and different styles from different eras.

By Anna S

Sep 8, 2019

Amazing course, which helped me to understand the philosophy of graphic design and be open minded.

By Amy B K

Oct 6, 2019

Insightful overview of history and development of design concepts. A must have foundation course.

By Veronika H

May 11, 2020

Really nice experience to remeber all things and designer from this timelapse courses. Thank you

By Itziar

Dec 25, 2019

Very good course to have a little background about design! Thank you so much. Great instructors

By Alejandro R

Mar 3, 2022

This is very interesting course, with a lot of informaion about the history of graphic design

By Dave L

Aug 31, 2016

Pretty good for such a short course - interesting ideas and exposure to new concepts. Thanks!

By Stephen M H

Oct 4, 2020

A very thorough explanation of various movements and the key individuals involved with them