Chevron Left
Back to Cybersecurity Capstone: Breach Response Case Studies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cybersecurity Capstone: Breach Response Case Studies by IBM

4.8
stars
1,403 ratings

About the Course

This course gives you the background needed to gain Cybersecurity skills as part of the IBM Cybersecurity Professional Certificate programs. You will explore incident response methodologies and security models. You will learn to recognize and categorize key types of vulnerabilities and associated attacks against today's organizations. You will explore in depth several past and recent breaches to learn how they were detected and what was done or could have been done to reduce the threat risk to the organization. Finally, you will explore the costs of data breaches through research studies and well known breaches. This course requires you to select and research a cybersecurity breach in the news today and apply your knowledge and skills from this course and previous cybersecurity courses to analyze the type of attack, attack timeline, vulnerable systems, and any missed opportunities. This project will be graded by your peers in the course. This course is intended for anyone who wants to explore examples of Cybersecurity breaches to work in the Cybersecurity field as a Cybersecurity Analyst or a Cybersecurity Specialist. The completion of this course also makes you eligible to earn the Cybersecurity Capstone: Breach Response Case Studies IBM digital badge. In this course, you will learn to: ● Apply incident response methodologies. ● Research and describe a watering hole attack. ● Research and describe ransomware threats and the consequences to organization. ● Research and describe 3rd party breaches and how they affect an organization. ● Research and describe the effects of a phishing attack. ● Research and describe a point of sale attack and approximate cost of data breaches. ● Perform a case study on a current cyber attack and breach....

Top reviews

DN

Nov 2, 2021

I find this course to be the most useful in terms of practical application. Some of the previous courses felt a bit bogged down by the technical aspects, but I guess this may be unavoidable.

FB

Oct 27, 2021

The best part of the course is the investigative work though it is an online web research in articles it is done with the vision of the knoweldge acquire through the different courses

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 259 Reviews for Cybersecurity Capstone: Breach Response Case Studies

By Kaushik W

Jan 29, 2022

The course content and peer assessment was good but if I had submitted my assignment before time then also I have to wait for the date of grading my assignment and that's why course is incomplete until my submitted work didn't get grade. So, according to me, this kind of approach should be changed a little bit ,so that if a candidate submitted his/her assignment before time and candidate had made reviews of 2 assignments then candidates assignment should be graded by student who is available to do review that assessment and by this way the student can complete his/her course before time due to this student didn't have to wait for date of grading to complete the course.

By Katelyn S

Jul 6, 2022

The information in the courses (week 1-3) was very interesting and helpful. Unfortunately, this course requires essay answers to some of its questions and does not provide a ruburic for how things are graded until you are done answering.

In addition, the Capstone project does not give clear instructions and again, hides the grading scale until after the project is submitted.

I would not take this course again if needed.

By A

Oct 25, 2023

peer reviewed assessments are not great, many people just submit junk

By Svetoslav B

Aug 12, 2020

Great idea, but the assesment need, to be more user friendly.

By Polvo A

Jan 26, 2022

Fiz toda a trilha do curso, mas não consigo me matricular no teste final do curso 8. Perdi meu tempo.

By Donwald h

Jul 6, 2021

Im not able to finish this because there arent any assignments to peer review

By Jose P

Jun 24, 2022

Waiting to be graded for the peer assignment is the worst.

By Nur H

Sep 12, 2022

YOU NEVER FINISH AND GO TO ASSESSMENT 8

By Francesco B

Jun 12, 2024

As an Engineering student with a keen interest in cybersecurity, taking the "Cybersecurity Capstone: Breach Response Case Studies" course has been an invaluable experience. This course dives deep into real-world scenarios of cybersecurity breaches and the critical strategies employed to respond effectively. One of the most compelling aspects of the course is its practical approach. Instead of theoretical concepts alone, the course focuses on case studies that bring to light the complexities and challenges faced by cybersecurity professionals during breach incidents. These case studies cover a range of scenarios, from data breaches in large corporations to targeted attacks on government institutions, providing a comprehensive view of the cybersecurity landscape. The course structure is well-organized, starting with foundational knowledge on incident response frameworks and methodologies. It then progresses to detailed analyses of specific breach incidents, dissecting the timeline, root causes, impact assessment, and most importantly, the response strategies deployed. Each case study is presented with meticulous detail, allowing students to understand not only what went wrong but also how effective responses were formulated and executed. The learning materials are enriched with practical resources such as simulated incident response exercises, which simulate real-time scenarios and challenge students to apply their knowledge in a controlled environment. This hands-on approach is crucial for reinforcing theoretical concepts and preparing students for the dynamic and fast-paced nature of cybersecurity incidents in the real world. Furthermore, the course benefits greatly from the expertise of instructors who are seasoned professionals in the field of cybersecurity. Their insights and firsthand experiences enhance the learning experience, providing valuable industry perspectives that go beyond textbook knowledge. In conclusion, "Cybersecurity Capstone: Breach Response Case Studies" is an exceptional course for anyone looking to deepen their understanding of cybersecurity incident response. It not only equips students with practical skills and knowledge but also prepares them to tackle the complexities of cybersecurity breaches with confidence. I highly recommend this course to Engineering students and cybersecurity enthusiasts alike who are eager to explore the fascinating and critical field of breach response.

By Gianluis R

Feb 26, 2022

The Capstone: Breach Response Case Studies course was excellent. I really loved researching and creating a case study. I gained so much from that including improving in researching skills, but also by reviewing peers as well learning so much more about cybersecurity.Definitely one of the best courses into the specialization. It made me realize how much I love to investigate, connect the dots and find answers.

By olumide s

Nov 23, 2021

I have a good ground and solid foundation to what we can refer to as cybersecurity incident response process by going through this course. This is a very rich content and very tasking. I learnt how to conduct Incident response during an attack, constituting a response team. I am very happy I participated in this course and cannot wait to have another opportunity for another course on cybersecurity on coursera

By Elvis S

Dec 3, 2021

It was hard ,it was engaging , i literally spent all night reading and watching the videos ,but trust me when i say that while seeing the cases and the topics i was like living a sci-fi movie , thanks to Coursera for bringing such a engaging course and giving many people the possibility to learn something new and find their real purpose about the career which does suit one more

By Kevin E M J

Sep 14, 2022

I am in school for my BS in CyberSecurity with a focus on Intelligence and Forensic Studies. This course pushed me, and will make me better at my job. This course will ultimately help me to better analyze and detect problems faster, and by doing that I will be able to save companies, or my government millions of dollars in the long run.

By Emem E

Jun 13, 2022

I have enjoyed every bit of this journey. I never thought I could pull this through, but the flexibility, the rich course content and numerous reference had helped me tremendously to get here. This course is quite an eye opener for me and I look forward to going to the next stage

By M M

Jun 17, 2023

This gave me the opportunity to study and go through with real world Cybersecurity Attacks & Cases that affected the Companies, Groups or Entities.

Thanks IBM Security Services & Coursera in organizing the course.

Best Regards

Mehraj Ali Mohammed

By Laurentiu B

May 30, 2023

Lots of useful information. Well presented and explained, although I must say all video courses read by some lady are difficult to follow, because she just reads the transcript with no intonation at all. Apart from that, only good stuff.

By Sergio H A

Apr 14, 2023

This course was very interesting form other point of view, the way that we do an analysis of the breaches changes the perspective of our own criteria.

I enjoyed this but in some way it was a little difficult resolve some assessments.

By C C

Nov 27, 2022

It was hectic!! but I love it.

Thank you all for a job well done. Thank you IBM, The Coursera and The American Dream Academy for such a professional, hardworking and awesome bunch.

On to the end.....

Sincerely,

Consuelo Cabrera

By Ни Л А

Apr 6, 2023

On this course, the last task was interesting, the assessment of fellow students, the ability to reveal the topic.

The course is very important, it is clearly and clearly described and correctly presented in video lectures.

By Muhammad N A

Sep 12, 2022

Participating in this course is not only great but exciting as well. The course is great for numerous experiences attached to the course and exciting because of innumerable challenges that a participant can overcome.

By Promise F O

Jun 18, 2024

This course is so detailed with all the necessary knowledge and strategy needed to be successful in the field of cyber security. Kudos to the team for a job well done

By JOAQUIN C G

Feb 26, 2023

It is a fantastic initiation to research and learning in the world of cybersecurity, the beginning of a very long learning trajectory which never ends.

By AHMET D

Sep 3, 2021

It touches on real world cases and make attendants practice and help them how to read news about a a breach in any sources from the web. Thank you

By Simon E

Feb 27, 2022

A well rounded course showing one the business side of IT security.

The focus is on company policies and not on specific Programming tasks.

By EDDISON H L

Jul 28, 2022

This specialization exposes all the critical aspects of Cyber Security which helps you think critically in solving real world problems