Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function by Rice University

4.7
stars
1,446 ratings
285 reviews

About the Course

Course 1 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the first leg of a three-part journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In this part we hope to give you the vocabulary and concepts you need to interact with the medical community and to provide them in a context that makes them memorable. Fundamentals of Immunology introduces students to the basic functions of the adaptive and innate immune systems. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. After describing the form, function, origin and varieties of antibodies, subsequent lectures provide details on the mechanism of the generation of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement and class switching and descriptions of affinity maturation correlated with detailed physical models of antibody structure. The final lecture reviews these concepts in anatomical context. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: The difference between adaptive and innate immune systems, the characteristics of various pathogens that they protect you from and the overall strategies employed in this protection. The detailed structure of antibodies and related immunoglobulin receptors, the characteristics and function of the different antibody classes and the mechanism for producing both the recognition regions and stem regions.  Finally, how these structures are coded for in the DNA and expressed in the B cells....

Top reviews

AR
Aug 5, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

BR
Nov 21, 2020

Thank you very much Professor! I really enjoyed your lessons and passion for teaching. I am glad you are able to share your talent with the world via this medium. Looking forward to the next class!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 283 Reviews for Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

By Irune I P B

May 29, 2020

Muy bueno, realmente está bien explicado. Es una materia compleja pero no se nota por como se explica. Muy dinámico y didáctico. Totalmente recomendado

By Annu k P

Jul 20, 2020

Its was an amazing course as I ya microbiologist student it help me alot to understand about organ, immunity, ag-ab interaction.. Really enjoyed it..

By Abhinav B

Apr 24, 2020

I had a wonderful time doing this course! Professor Alma is a phenomenal teacher who made me understand all of the concepts at ease and a lot of fun!

By Giovanne D

Aug 6, 2020

Excellent course. The professor is very interested in how the student will visualize and understand the matter. Also, it is a very complete course.

By Werner S

Jun 8, 2020

This is a fantastic and very instructive course. It is really fun to watch the lessons, the material is excellent. This final exam was a bit tough!

By Romit B

May 30, 2020

The course was very interesting and enlightening. Professor Alma has explained topics in a very interesting manner. thank you for this opportunity.

By Nikhil K S

May 14, 2020

The course was immensely helpful for me and had attractive explanation through model and pictures which gives more insightful view of the subject.

By Nicolas B

Jul 2, 2020

it was an interesting course and the lecturer really made the work simple to grasp and the per review feedbacks were really assisting. Thank you.

By Sierra C

Mar 24, 2020

I actually really loved this course. I found it very interesting and I learned a lot more on a much deeper level than I initially expected.

By Miguel F P

Jan 6, 2020

It is excellent if you want to know how your body works without being afraid of getting lost in dense concepts and complicated vocabulary

By GIACOMO S M

May 29, 2020

This course is very useful for anyone who is starting to study immunology or wants to improve his knowledge about general immunology!

By Vignesh I

Apr 16, 2020

Simply amazing!! Really appreciate the work done by all the people involved in this course. I was able to learn a lot!

Thank You :-)

By Nkuba N A

Nov 5, 2021

I have appreciated the methods used such as metaphor. I have understood for the first time clearly how gene rearrangement works.

By Jhon J O M

Jun 30, 2020

Es un excelente curso que permite aprender las bases de la inmunología y a su vez profundiza en muchos aspectos. Muchas gracias.

By kristin v r

Apr 5, 2019

Great Professor. Funny and explains material well. Gave me the real quirky science teacher experience that I loved in Undergrad.

By Raviraj P

Sep 28, 2020

Course was really helpful and gave a correct and required information. Each and every topic was well explained and interesting

By Keerthana M A

Jun 26, 2020

Was really useful and interesting, especially because words came with meanings and references. Her enthusiasm is contagious.

By Nivedha M S

Sep 12, 2020

Amazing Course. I'm happy that I got to appreciate innate immunity and the functioning and production of B cells. Thank you.

By Laura O

Oct 10, 2019

Super accurate, relevant and works with engaging enthusiasm which is contagious! Draws you in like no other professor :)

By Gerardo A R C

Sep 12, 2020

full thank for taking time to do it, my natal language is Spanish, but is very interest for me it type of course thanks

By Shivani G

Sep 21, 2020

it's a very interesting topics becz the learn lorts of knowledge it's very good experination too good this course

By Carlos G

Aug 15, 2020

Excellent course! Easy to understand, magnific use of graphic resources, wonderful professor. Highly recommended.

By Kanishk Y

Apr 25, 2020

If you're in Pre-med, Biology, Biotechnology or Life science field, then this course is totally worth the effort.

By Mauricio M P

Nov 30, 2021

Great for first learners and very funny. I'd recommend having some previous knowledge about molecular biology.