Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function by Rice University

4.7
stars
1,440 ratings
282 reviews

About the Course

Course 1 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the first leg of a three-part journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In this part we hope to give you the vocabulary and concepts you need to interact with the medical community and to provide them in a context that makes them memorable. Fundamentals of Immunology introduces students to the basic functions of the adaptive and innate immune systems. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. After describing the form, function, origin and varieties of antibodies, subsequent lectures provide details on the mechanism of the generation of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement and class switching and descriptions of affinity maturation correlated with detailed physical models of antibody structure. The final lecture reviews these concepts in anatomical context. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: The difference between adaptive and innate immune systems, the characteristics of various pathogens that they protect you from and the overall strategies employed in this protection. The detailed structure of antibodies and related immunoglobulin receptors, the characteristics and function of the different antibody classes and the mechanism for producing both the recognition regions and stem regions.  Finally, how these structures are coded for in the DNA and expressed in the B cells....

Top reviews

AR
Aug 5, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

BR
Nov 21, 2020

Thank you very much Professor! I really enjoyed your lessons and passion for teaching. I am glad you are able to share your talent with the world via this medium. Looking forward to the next class!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 280 Reviews for Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

By Pablo R F

Jun 30, 2019

Fantastic

By Jhone R d S C

Mar 7, 2019

muito bom

By Laura B

Jan 23, 2021

EXCELENT

By Karen B

May 2, 2021

Great!!

By Meghety M k

Jul 16, 2020

Perfect

By Kashmala J

May 10, 2020

A

m

a

z

I

n

g

By �ADITI P

Aug 9, 2020

great

By Fathima J J

Sep 11, 2021

5.00

By Maryam H A

Jun 20, 2021

good

By PHAGUNI J

Oct 5, 2020

good

By ABHRAJIT D

Sep 19, 2020

good

By Menna H

May 7, 2020

good

By Emayamsavitha

Apr 29, 2020

Gud

By Abdur R M

Oct 28, 2021

5

By Manoj K S

Nov 23, 2020

.

By Mylady A d J B D T

Oct 4, 2020

Personally, i think the course is pretty well done. First it teaches you the overall view of the inmune sistem which helps you understand how it works. What i didn't like that much is the content in the last 2 weeks, because it takes a kind of difficult approach from the genetic perspective, and it's actually kind of hard tu understand. Maybe it could be explain with a little more of detail o maybe pause in between, So we can be more orientated. From my point of view, i'd get very confused at some points. Anyway, in general thoughts it's a really good course.

By Hans M

Aug 21, 2021

a course that will give you deep knowledge into immune and cell functions, antibodies and mutation etc, very good knowhow in this time where all are talking about things they know nothing about, knowledge is power. I strongly recomend this course, but be prepared, it takes a huge amount of attention not to get lost in the journey, the teacher is great and down to earth explaining it.

By Colleen ' O

Apr 26, 2019

I'm only auditing, but considering a certificate at some point in the future. It won't be good for other schools as credit, but it might add to my academic portfolio. So far this class is informative, the information is entertaining to learn, a little bit more elementary than I would expect, but good for beginners.

By NEERAJ K S

Jun 26, 2020

Nice and systematic arrangements of the contents along with the pictorial and model view makes me to understand the contents in the simple and easy way.

It's very important and informative course to understand in the basics and easy way.

By Mr. R B

Apr 26, 2020

It is a nicely crafted course for beginners and for persons who are interested to know more about immunology. Although I had to make some extra efforts to pass the exam, the overall experience was great. It was both learning and fun.

By SaiTejasri.M

Nov 23, 2020

It's really very nice course with detailed information and explanation by showing pictures which made more easy to understand but at some points felt like difficult to digest but totally it's very informative n useful n helpful

By Krisna P

Aug 25, 2020

thoroughly enjoyed it. the instructor is amazing and saved my life as my teachers weren't able to teach this subject in a manner i could understand will now go on to complete the other two

By Ariel A

Oct 28, 2019

The first three lectures were really great and questions are well constructed. The discussion and presentation got a little confusing on the last two lectures.

By KARTHIKAYINI T

Jul 22, 2021

This course was helpful to learn basics in immunology. I liked the way that the instructor used cartoon drawings and models to explain the concept. Thank you!

By CHANDRAYEE G

Aug 17, 2020

This was an excellent course. I learnt a lot new terms and the whole session was much more enjoyable due to the great personality of the professor.