Chevron Left
Back to The Importance of Listening

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Importance of Listening by Northwestern University

4.6
1,166 ratings
219 reviews

About the Course

In this second MOOC in the Social Marketing Specialization - "The Importance of Listening" - you will go deep into the Big Data of social and gain a more complete picture of what can be learned from interactions on social sites. You will be amazed at just how much information can be extracted from a single post, picture, or video. In this MOOC, guest speakers from Social Gist, BroadReader, Lexalytics, Semantria, Radian6, and IBM's Bluemix and Social Media Analytics Tools (SMA) will join Professor Hlavac to take you through the full range of analytics tools and options available to you and how to get the most from them. The best part, most of them will be available to you through the MOOC for free! Those purchasing the MOOC will receive special tools, templates, and videos to enhance your learning experience. In completing this course you will develop a fuller understanding of the data and will be able to increase the effectiveness of your content strategy by making better decisions and spotting crises before they happen! MOOC 2 bonus content in the paid toolkit includes access to Semantria's analytics engine to extract some data on the markets you are developing and have it analyzed. As a student in this course, you are being provided the opportunity to access IBM Bluemix® platform-as-a-service trial for up to six months at no-charge with no credit card (up to a $1500 value). NOTE: By enrolling in this course, given access to IBM's Bluemix technology for one month for free as well as Lexalytics' Semantria tool. For those earning a Course Certificate, you will be given an additional five months of Bluemix and three months of Semantria at no cost with a special key code. By enrolling for a Course Certificate for this MOOC, you are acknowledging that your email will be shared with Lexalytics for the sole and express purpose of generating your individual key code. After the key code has been generated, Lexalytics will delete your email from its records. Additional MOOC 2 faculty include: * Steve Dodd (SVP Business Development, Effyis - dba BoardReader and Socialgist - Global Social Media Content Access) * Seth Redmore (CMO, Lexalytics, Inc.) * Chris Gruber (Social Media Analytics Solution Architect, IBM) * Russell Beardall (Cloud Architect, IBM) * Tom Collinger (Executive Director Spiegel Research Center and Senior Director Distance Learning, Medill Integrated Marketing Communications, Northwestern) * Tressie Lieberman (VP Digital Innovation, Taco Bell)...

Top reviews

WL

May 26, 2018

I am enjoying the journey. I anticipate being a better digital marketer than ever before. Thank you for helping me to be better all the way around: personally, academically, and professionally.

SJ

Apr 02, 2016

I love the real-world and practical examples given for social listening. I think the descriptions of exactly how the social listening tools actually work help me with getting my own work done.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 215 Reviews for The Importance of Listening

By AMIN G

Jul 20, 2019

Very good and Focus on Target Market and how to findout what the consumers, influencers and companies are talking and which are the main topics about it.

By Sumit C

Jun 01, 2019

Great Course!

The tools that were provided act as leverage to gain knowledge about how Social Monitoring is done and how to maximize your brand's reputation by knowing the competition in the market.

By Efthimios K

May 21, 2019

After this course i first understand how to deal with social media practically.Thank you

By Jorge C

May 06, 2019

Enjoyed it a lot. Very useful tools and engaging videos.

By Jill M

Apr 30, 2019

This course provides out of date information, including on the peer-reviewed assignment. Google+ and Klout are gone--have to wonder what else is no longer up to date? Many of us found that SocialMention is all but useless--the keyword and hashtags are far too general, and/or irrelevant to the subject being searched. And the video seem endless! A list of the different free analytics tools for different media would be sufficient--we don't need 6-10 minute videos of them all. This class needs to be updated and streamlined. I would include a few quizzes that require brief hands-on exploration of some of the analytics tools for twitter, youtube, etc.

By Michela M

Apr 23, 2019

case histories and actual firms and brands cases help a lost supporting the theory and the sturdies, the course was engaging and the assignment really challenging

By Muhammad A Y

Apr 13, 2019

i am very thanks to coursera and my beloved Randy Hlavac really good content of this course .

By Mahmoud R

Apr 08, 2019

very cool

By Alejandra V

Mar 04, 2019

Es un poco lento y tedioso.Pero en general esta bien,

By Lilia M A C

Feb 24, 2019

Amazing!

By Jiayuan S

Feb 17, 2019

Useful insights from Taco Bell's Vice President of Digital Innovation but a few errors with quiz questions about content in missing videos, less than half-year long free trial of Bluemix and mistakes in transcript of videos. Generally worthy.

By samira m

Feb 14, 2019

Insightful. Useful application to real business.

By Hany H A E A

Feb 08, 2019

very good course with many detailinf and informations

By Ivan Z

Jan 17, 2019

some interviews about real events, kind of informative

By Daniel E T M

Jan 17, 2019

one of the best courses for hands in platforms to use and understand.

By Ambika R K

Jan 17, 2019

This course has opened my minds! The tools and the paid access to tools like IBM BlueMix and Semantria, are mindblowing. It has not only helped me advance in my career but it has also opened my perspective towards building a holistic social media plan for my target market.

By Irma A H A

Dec 10, 2018

Great, is better than the first.

By Fitcher T N

Nov 29, 2018

Worth it ... well structured , Access to offline as well , good quality and reference , excellent tools offered

By CHAIBA E M

Nov 26, 2018

amazing <3

By Michael I

Nov 26, 2018

Very useful course enabling you to assess your target market in various ways and reach conclusions.

By Fiorenzo C

Nov 24, 2018

The first two weeks were very useful, because I gained insights about many interesting Social Media Analytics platforms, but them the content stopped being relevant and up-to-date.

By Geri Z

Nov 06, 2018

Decent course. I hope I can continue following your courses for free...

By Moutasem S

Nov 05, 2018

The Mooc's material is old and need updating, and there is a bulk of websites registrations we didn't need to fulfill our target as it is already expired or changed the scope, on other hand it guides to the main goal of listening to the target market and interact with influencers.

By Oriana V R R

Oct 29, 2018

Excellent course, it was very fun and helpful to receive

By Gayle H

Oct 04, 2018

Fantastic, just want to get that one quiz figured out so I don't loose marks for questions that didn't apply? help