Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
40,466 ratings
10,362 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

DD
May 1, 2017

This was course was very informative. I really enjoyed the content being that I wasn't on the paid version. I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything but learn a lot from this course. 감사합니다!!!!

CS
Jan 6, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Génesis F J

Nov 23, 2020

Me encantó este curso por todo el conocimiento que le queda a uno, a parte la profesora es muy buena y explica muy bien y se le entiende clarísimo, muchas gracias por ayudarnos a aprender más sobre esta cultura e idioma tan lindo como es el Coreano!!!

By Elise N

Jul 9, 2020

I've learned Korean simple conversations in a physical class since 2019. However, I cannot distinguish between 에요 and 입니 다, Kor-Chi number such as 일, 이, 삼 vs 하나,둩, etc.

Many thanks to the First Step Korean so now I became familiar with simple Korean.

By Ana F

Jun 6, 2020

The study materials are well organized and easy to understand. The way they make sections such as dialog, vocabulary, exercise, quiz, makes the learning process fun. Thank you for the course and I anticipate more Korean courses from Yonsei University.

By PHETPLOY T

Apr 27, 2020

The course is very helpful in learning Korean in the beginner level. It helps me build up my Korean as well as helps me understand Korean culture. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to start his/her step in Korean! The professor is awesome :-)

By Valentina S

Feb 26, 2018

Fantastic course! Very useful for totally beginner students who want to approach the Korean language and culture. I decided to attend this course in view of a trip to Korea, I'm very satisfied and absolutely recommend this course. Thank you very much!

By NGUYEN T B Y

Aug 20, 2021

Perfect course! I used my school account to sign up for the course so it is free. I've learnt so much during the course and I love the Korea language more than ever. Definitely recommend for anyone who is at the beginning of learning Korean language.

By Luisa F S R

Jan 15, 2021

La oportunidad que me dio la Universidad Yonsei University fue muy valiosa. Por ello pude comprender, analizar y aprender de diferentes maneras didácticas el idioma Coreano y su cultura. He aprendido bastante, les recomiendo en su totalidad el curso.

By Suwannee T

Nov 6, 2020

I like this course so much because this course is easy to learn and not too long for each lecture.

I can easily get back to the part that I need. Thank you for having this course.

It's also have a vocabulary that I can practice to use for normal life.

By Diana G M H

Oct 3, 2020

I really liked how every lesson was teached in context of a topic, it made things easier and helped me with the understanding. Is a complete course that includes grammar, vocabulary, speaking, listening and writing practice. Really good for begginers

By 18BBT043 S N

Sep 8, 2020

The course was really easy to understand and I was willing to complete every unit as soon as possible!! The instructor was very clear with every new concept which made it very simple for people like me who are new to the language to grasp it quickly.

By Andrea

Jul 19, 2020

Me encantó este curso, a pesar de ser una persona que se distrae fácilmente pude aprender un poco, y seguiré aprendiendo si estudio las actividades y las notas guardadas, se me ha dificultado, pero nada que la práctica no supere, GRACIAS por el curso

By Soraia M

May 19, 2020

This course was an excellent experience since I had lived in South Kores but never learned the language. Thank you so much for your lessons, I believe that with more practice I can perfection my pronunciation and keep learning in-depth the language

By alexandria

Jul 21, 2019

this class has made me extremely comfortable with speaking in korean and has helped me learn through repetition and practice. I truly believe that this is the best way to start learning because this course and professor explains everything very well!

By Thais M

Dec 17, 2017

I loved this! I was very helpful and a great base to start studying Korean. There was a lot of things that I didn`t know and couldn`t find answers on the internet. However, I`ve found the answers in here. Thank you for these classes. It helped a lot!

By Stephanie S

Jan 9, 2017

Very helpful to first-time learners of the language! Thankful for the clear explanations and the pacing of the course. It really is difficult to learn a foreign language but with guides like these, the experience becomes more motivating and engaging!

By Kim K N

Jul 27, 2021

Very well presented to the beginners with zero understanding of Korean language. Learning bits by bits every week and eventually able to form basic simple sentences. The teacher is very thorough in pronunciation and explanation on grammar and vocab.

By Nadia M C L

Aug 1, 2020

It was amazing! I had some problems at the beginning with my schedule so I accumulated some classes, but I manage to do them before the deadline. Thanks a lot! I would like to know if there are more Korean courses like this one to continue studying.

By PHRAEPHLOI K

May 13, 2020

Super simple and easy to understand especially for people who have no background knowledge of Korean. Although the lesson may be a little fast but revising and doing the worksheets by yourself definitely help and even make the course more effective.

By Num Y H

Apr 15, 2020

I'm always ashamed that I couldn't read hangul, despite my grandmother being a Korean. I'm so glad to find this great online class that provides me an opportunity to learn my grandmother's mother tongue. Thank you very much and strongly recommended!

By Adam A

Jan 20, 2020

I read a lot of reviews complaining that everything was in Korean text. Before this course I took the time to go learn the alphabet from YouTube videos. This probably helped a lot with the course. Before you start this course, go learn the alphabet.

By kiyon h

Jul 29, 2017

This course was really great at getting me to understand certain aspects of the language that I didn't understand on my own. I loved watching the Professors videos and hope that I can meet her one day to let her know that she helped me learn Korean!

By Angela R

Mar 28, 2021

This course makes learning Korean much easier than going in alone. The material is easy to understand and the easy to pace for busy individuals. I feel confident that I can continue learning Korean with the skills I have gained through this course.

By Ann J G C

Dec 12, 2020

Professor Kang is an excellent teacher. The course is easy to follow, the learning materials are mostly written in Korean which encouraged me to get used to reading and writing the language, and of course the examples are all helpful and practical.

By Reina

Nov 26, 2020

I really like how the course is broken down into bite-size topics that are also presented in an understandable way.

I appreciate the quiz after every lecture as it really helps me see if I understood the lecture well.

Thank you, Prof. Kang Seung Hae!

By María J M

Jul 19, 2020

Amazing course. I'd been struggling with learning Korean, but with this course I managed to advance some more in this path. I still need to practice more, but this material is a great start to clarify some questions I had, especially in vocabulary.