Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
39,713 ratings
10,193 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

CS
Jan 6, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Shivangi p

May 7, 2021

it was so much fun to learn the korean language the insterctor was superb and the videos was so good and easy to understand the concept and language and the explanation was also good. i'm so happy by this online course its so helpfull to learn the language .

By BALID, C J A (

Nov 5, 2020

Professor Kang is very helpful and she explains very clearly. The conversations before discussions were able to help me get a broad view of what the discussion will be all about and trimming it down to bits helped me get a clearer understanding of every topic.

By Shanice B

Jun 30, 2020

This is a great course for people that have already started learning Korean and need help building a proper foundation. I definitely learned a lot. I was a bit overwhelmed by the vocabulary but they are all necessary words you will need for basic conversation.

By Carmina E S C

Jun 8, 2020

Muchas gracias, me siento muy feliz, porque este curso me gustó mucho como introducción al idioma coreano, me siento muy motivada para seguir adelante en el aprendizaje de este bello idioma. espero que pronto tenga mayor fluidez al leer y en la pronunciación .

By Li Y

May 1, 2020

great intro to Korean course for beginners. would be great if the vocabulary section was not chopped up in each video, it would be easier for students to write down all the vocab for the unit in sequence so that we can take notes better. other than that, v fun

By Olga M

Jan 15, 2018

Great for total beginners. The only thing I would comment on is the tests, they are quite easy and could be a little bit more demanding. However if you can devote yourself to learn and not rely to much on the test to check out your knowledge then it's perfect.

By Marlon S

Dec 30, 2020

Great course and good starting point for more advanced studies of the language. I loved the Hangul emphasis and the drills and it had quite a steep learning curve. A lot of things covered in those five weeks. Very recommended for every Asian language learner.

By Kane S

Jul 5, 2020

This course taught me how to speak Korean moderately. The course was direct and the professor made the learning experience manageable and fairly simple to understand. I enjoyed this course and will take what I learned from it to better improve my own Korean.

By Deleted A

Dec 21, 2018

This course was amazing. I can't believe it. I am so happy and thankful for it. It was well disigned. The videos are clear. The lectures were helpfull. The quizes were according with the topics on the lessons. I highly recommend this FIRST STEP KOREAN course.

By Lina M T

Apr 13, 2017

This course is very practical, dynamic and understandable to people who want to learn about Korean language and Korean Culture. Maybe you should include more videos or information about traditions and customs and maybe open the second course of this language.

By Joseline G B

Dec 26, 2020

It was a really course! I learnt a lot. I definitely recommend it! But you need to learn Hangul really well so you don't suffer while you're learning new content. She gives time to pronounce after her. You can learn to read, speak and write! Excelent course!

By humam a

Jul 28, 2020

Professor Kang is very nice. She taught the course with dedication. it was an amazing course for beginners to learn hangul. She explained grammar rules in details. I would like to recommend this course to everyone who is willing to learn the Korean language.

By paula s m c

Jul 18, 2020

Pude acceder al curso de manera completa y certificada gracias a una beca otorgada por Coursera, estoy muy feliz de poder iniciar el aprendizaje de un nuevo idioma con material de calidad como l que ofrece esta plataforma. Estoy muy feliz con los resultados.

By Angelica S D

Jul 2, 2020

A great course to start learning the Korean language for those interested. The incorporation of intermediate words to the basic track made learning easier and more fun. I hope there will be more courses where intermediate and advance learning can be applied.

By G3_032_Golhar S

Jun 27, 2020

This course is really proving very helpful to me. Thank You for this. Many of my doubts are being cleared. Also this is the first time I am learning any new language and I am really enjoying this. All thanks to this course and the instructor. Gamsahamnida...

By Anita S

Jun 24, 2020

I took Korean basic offline years ago and decided to learn it again recently. This course is the best and covers up what I got from the offline class with the systematic courses. Now I'm ready to take the next level, thanks to Coursera and Yonsei University!

By Nayera Y

May 29, 2020

I can speak Korean now, and I'm so glad for that <3

Thanks a lot 우리 예쁜 Seung Hae Kang 선생님 :D

안녕하세요 ! 저는 나예라라고 합니다. 나이는 27 삽니다 . 저는 한국어를 공부하는 학생입니다. 제가 영어학당에서 일하는 사람입니다. 한국 디자인을 아주 좋아합니다. 그리고 한국에 가서 디자인을 배우고 싶습니다. 5년 후에 디자인 회사를 세우고 싶습니다 .그럼 정말 만나서 반갑습니다 ^^ .

By Shehani H N

Apr 26, 2020

This course can be introduced as the best course useful for anyone who does not have any idea on Korean language and Korean culture.The content of this course is easier to understand and staff always help to resolve our doubts. So thank you for your support.

By Harni L

Jun 20, 2021

Thorough teaching from basics is crucial and it has been thought perfectly...could have included colors. animals ..and those words. All together teaching was wonderful ,now i can confidently strike up basic conversation in Korean. Thank you for the effort..

By SalvadiDivya S S

Sep 20, 2020

I had such a wonderful experience learning first step korean. The teaching and material are easily understood and gives us scope for maximum learning. I will utilise all my learning to excel myself speaking in korean. Thank you so much for this oppurtunity.

By Ranna Z

Sep 20, 2020

The course is so well structured. You will be able to learn at the beginners' level without any previous experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone. If there's any advanced course from this instructor, I would be more than happy to start immediately!

By ANOUSHKA M

Sep 2, 2020

i've tried learning Korean through many different ways before, but never have i been able to understand and grasp the concept the way Ms. Seung Hae Kang taught, her teaching made it seem less of a monotonous teaching process but more of a joyous experience.

By Miel B

Aug 30, 2020

Thank you so much! This course was very helpful in addressing some of the frustrations I have regarding my lack or rather slow pace of understanding korean conversations when watching TV series or interviews. Hoping to enhance my fluency in the near future.

By Daniela F S R

Aug 8, 2020

Is very usefull and great to use. If you are compromised with your own learning, you will achieve all your goals. This course is very helpfull and is well estructured. You can easily follow the instrucctions and learn how to speek in a basic korean language

By Deleted A

Jun 4, 2020

Muchas gracias por este curso, esta muy bueno, me gusto porque aprendí algo de coreano, las vocales, consonantes, etc. Es bastante completo, lo que me costo entender al principio fue las consonantes, pero se pudo avanzar en eso bastante al pasar las semanas