Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Speak Korean 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Speak Korean 1 by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
10,835 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Learn to Speak Korean 1! This course is for beginner students who are familiar with the Korean alphabet, Hangeul. Through this course students will learn the skills essential for daily interactions with Koreans while living in Korea. This course consists of six modules, and each module is composed of five units. Each unit has vocabulary, grammar and expressions, conversation practice, video clips, quizzes, a workbook, and vocabulary lists. In order to assist students with their independent studies, Korean learning materials such as lecture notes, workbooks, and vocabulary lists detailing each day’s lecture are also provided. The vocabulary lists are accompanied by English, Chinese, and Japanese translations. I hope that you enjoy all this program has to offer over the next six weeks. After studying in this program, you will be able to have a real Korean conversation with your newly acquired knowledge of the Korean language. Thank you! Your Course Team Chief Contents Developer: Sang Mee Han Contents Developers: Bock Ja Lee, Yoo Kyung Choi, Ha Min Cho, Ju Eun Kim Production Assistants: Jin Hee Kim, Eun Hye Kim...

Top reviews

KN

Aug 31, 2021

Perfectly explained in each short videos. Learnt a lot of the basic grammars, vocab and phonetics. Now, just need to practice speaking it out loud. =) Hope to have "learn to speak korean 2" though. =)

PF

Nov 17, 2022

Excellent course. I learned a lot of the basic words and phrases to speak to my Korean friends in their native language. Very easy to follow and the practices helped the learning and listening skills.

Filter by:

2651 - 2675 of 2,678 Reviews for Learn to Speak Korean 1

By Minhal K

Aug 13, 2022

too much english given throughout the course. every sentences o nscreen and especially in the resources had english translation with it which takes away from the learning environment.

If during the initial conversation and explanation teh course instructor showed the English translation (also in the workbooks) then it would make sense to not give it in the rest of the lesson and also not in the workbook. it would be better to give translation at the end like the vocab so the student neds to actually look and work to find the meaning and threfore learn.

The good thing was that very important grammar structures were introduced and explained nicely. i was able to follow along and learn with practice. Module 5 and 6 were great as they were a bit more challenging copared to the the first 4 which had a lot of repitetiin from the First step Korean course offered by Yonsei University as well.

The tests: end of module tests were pretty easy to get through and once again there was english everywhere even in the test! there were only 5 questions which was simply there to check that you knew which garmmar structure was introduced rather that proper knowledge of how to use it. Once again i felt that the first step korean course was better organised compared to this although this had a great intro to grammer and vocab.

I particular learnt a lot from the conversations at the end of each video.

By Chelsea A

Mar 25, 2022

I really liked the style of the course. I think the dialouge would have been better if presented fully by native Korean speakers though. Some of the courses were really difficult so I think for absolute beginners a more simple approach would have been better.

By Brittany A

Jun 6, 2020

This course was billed as a course for beginners, but the pacing and the reading skills required were definitely beyond that of a beginner. I would call this a more intermediate course and as a beginner, it was much too challenging for what I needed.

By Karen Z

Jun 17, 2022

kinda hard to complete this course specially if this this your first time. I advice you to take other beginner couse first before taking this one. But it was fun learning this

By Elizabeth N C

Aug 5, 2021

It should include the pronunciation in the slides of the lessons and in the grammar it should also include the meanings

By MatildeV

May 4, 2022

the translations in english are not quite accurate or dont sound natural. Plus therehave been subtitle errors.

By Tonkaw

May 13, 2020

last week's topic is a bit different level compared to the first 4 weeks. But overall this is a fun class!

By Antara B

Feb 24, 2020

the teaching was easy to follow, but i wish the tests and quizzes were more expansive and difficult.

By Roxana B

Mar 28, 2021

It wasn't really what I expected. I think you can find much higher quality content on Youtube.

By Silvia R

Sep 21, 2018

I t would have been better without her students repeating the words with an accent after her.

By Victoria P

Feb 19, 2020

It was pretty good but the explanations were a bit vague and there wasn't enough variation.

By Anastasia

May 27, 2020

In some videos, students speak very quietly and incomprehensibly

By Margaret C M

Jul 25, 2023

Some of the videod converations had poor sound quality.

By Bach N

Oct 4, 2016

Who can read Korean should really learn this course?

By Yucke A

Jul 12, 2023

I WOULD LIKE A SERTIFIKAT FOR FREE PLEASE

By Alexandra

Sep 18, 2016

Unbelievably difficult for understanding!

By Gustavo A R D

Jul 7, 2020

Se me ha complicado mucho

By T A

Jan 21, 2021

I can understand better

By jiranun j

Apr 19, 2018

Teacher speak fast

By I N A

Jun 21, 2023

'

By Tony P

Jun 1, 2020

The audio in the spoken dialogue examples throughout is consistently terrible and difficult to hear. Please redo the dialogue examples with better audio equipment.

By Marie-Ange P

Dec 23, 2019

Cours non conçu pour les débutants; c'est dommage ! dialogues : son mauvaise qu

By María B G C

Jan 27, 2021

No le entendi bonito si solo pudieran poner en español

By 8oYo K

Jan 22, 2023

유튜브 무료강의들과 비교해 다른 점은, 이것은 무려 50달러를 받는다는 점이다.

By Teresiah n w

Feb 10, 2021

not really good for absolute beginner