Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Speak Korean 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Speak Korean 1 by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
10,874 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Learn to Speak Korean 1! This course is for beginner students who are familiar with the Korean alphabet, Hangeul. Through this course students will learn the skills essential for daily interactions with Koreans while living in Korea. This course consists of six modules, and each module is composed of five units. Each unit has vocabulary, grammar and expressions, conversation practice, video clips, quizzes, a workbook, and vocabulary lists. In order to assist students with their independent studies, Korean learning materials such as lecture notes, workbooks, and vocabulary lists detailing each day’s lecture are also provided. The vocabulary lists are accompanied by English, Chinese, and Japanese translations. I hope that you enjoy all this program has to offer over the next six weeks. After studying in this program, you will be able to have a real Korean conversation with your newly acquired knowledge of the Korean language. Thank you! Your Course Team Chief Contents Developer: Sang Mee Han Contents Developers: Bock Ja Lee, Yoo Kyung Choi, Ha Min Cho, Ju Eun Kim Production Assistants: Jin Hee Kim, Eun Hye Kim...

Top reviews

RA

Nov 14, 2022

the course is very good.

It combines various aspects of learning the Korean language, i.e., listening

, writing

. Reading and communicating.

It also provides a

view of Korean

culture

JD

Jan 17, 2021

I find it hard and confusing at first but eventually I had fun. I love Korea so much that is why I want to learn Hangul. Also I will visit Korea when the pandemic is over. Thank you Yonsei University.

Filter by:

2526 - 2550 of 2,690 Reviews for Learn to Speak Korean 1

By Tan K Z

Aug 19, 2020

The instructor, Sang Mee Han, was very helpful in teaching us the various vocabulary words, point out any different pronunciations and grammar expressions to aid us in our Korean language skills. The course was well-prepared and organised that made it easier to teach Korean beginners who already learned the alphabets.

By Stasi 0

Sep 29, 2020

The instructor is great. She speaks clearly however during the later chapters, she spoke a little faster which made it a little hard to understand. The student conversations were hard to understand and could be much better if they had microphones closer to them. Overall, I would recommend it for beginners.

By Iluț Ș

Apr 1, 2021

It was okay, but the other course from Yongsei university is better. I wish it had korean native speakers doing the dialogues because the sudents in the videos weren't pronouncing the phrases as well as the teacher did. The study material is not hard, you can get though it easily if you are a beginner.

By Rikki J C

Jun 27, 2020

Accurate translations, better understanding of the pronunciation of the words. If they could balance also the vocabulary and comprehension in their quizzes (Maybe 10 questions; 5 vocabulary and 5 comprehension). Thank you so much for helping me improved my Korean. Hope to use this when I get there. :)

By Lata N

Nov 18, 2021

Learn to Speak Korean 1 was a really good course that helped me learn Korean words with their meaning. It includes Korean words with their images also. And the amazing thing was that there are live conversation sections between the instructor and learner and conversations between friends.

By Lou R

Jul 12, 2020

Teaches the various grammar points of Korean very well by incorporating them into normal everyday scenarios. You have to do a lot of self-study outside to remember the vocab, though, and I recommend knowing hangeul or at least some hangeul before you start or it can be a little difficult.

By Trisha D

Aug 5, 2020

It was simple and effective and the course was worth the time and effort. Really informative and the workbook, reading materials, the lecture and the tests all together made the experience much smoother.

Thank you for the certificate. Will surely recommend to others.

By addada b

Mar 13, 2022

I found it really useful. The video is properly structured starting with the vocabulary then grammer then practice sentences.And a revision unit at the end of each module. It is really useful for those who want to know the basic conversational structures in korean.

By Swathy R

Feb 7, 2021

It's really nice and good to learn . It's really useful to speaking practice of korean language.But I didn't get any certificate because the course is free but the certificate you want to pay some money. I am really sad because I didn't have any certificate.,😞

By Rebeca Z

Jun 15, 2020

Great course! The lessons are very clear and well explained. It might be better to take the First Step Korean course first. It seems like Learn to Speak Korean 1 was built on the foundation set by First Step Korean. I wish there was a Learn to Speak Korean 2!

By sol r

Feb 20, 2021

Este curso contiene muy buenas enseñanzas sobre el idioma coreano, y son muy dinámicas las clases, además. Esperaba mas información básica sobre el idioma antes que el que lo direccionen a la temática de shopping y comida, pero aún así sirve mucho.

By Anghie L I P A

Aug 1, 2019

I liked, but i don´t know maybe it´s me, but i feel this course it was very fast, then i haven´t learned very well, i hope review it agin and can understand all the course.

for all, thank so much. I hope another course, i think that always is good.

By Patrice H

May 28, 2017

Nice course, well organized and interesting. But the tests are too easy and not enough challenging. Also, instead of long shopping sequences, I would prefer a business oriented sequence (how to communicate in a business environment). Thank you!

By lua

Aug 9, 2023

It's an amazing course..first I thought I will never could speak korean but now I can already speak it a little bit, but you shouldn't only depend on this course it's good but you should see another resources too such as textbooks and youtube.

By Dennis L

Aug 29, 2022

The course has been useful in helping me to organise my korean grammar. Of late i have been picking up free tutorials on line but the combination wth the listening exercise i was able to stick to the right gramer and get better at listening.

By Paul R

Sep 12, 2021

The course itself was very useful. I already knew some Korean so I used this course to fill in some gaps in my knowledge. The only criticism I have is that the audio quality of the students speaking in shops or outside isn't great.

By SADIA A

Feb 8, 2021

I liked the course very much. I have learned a lot from this course. This course helped me to learn how to use the grammar to speak Korean. I hope I will be able to be fluent in Korean if I learn a lot of vocabulary.

By Fabiha J

Jun 28, 2020

This course has helped me to understand how to construct sentences in Korean. The pronunciation of Foreign students were a huge help. I liked the conversation of the students the most in the the ending of the videos.

By Leo W

Jun 6, 2020

The information taught is great, but the quizzes required to move through the course are too easy in comparison. I'd be interested in seeing future courses have longer and more challenging assignments.

By Aouatef C

Aug 25, 2020

The lessons were very amusing and easy to follow i really enjoyed it still i wish if the exercises and the quiz were more challenging ....thank you very much i learned a lot i wish you all prosper

By John R

Jul 9, 2020

It's not bad as an intro course. Too few exercises. Quizzes too easy. Parts of videos rather boring; had to listen with x2 speed; dialogues recorded outside were with terrible sound quality.

By Fatima H

Mar 29, 2021

Me gustó el curso, quizás deberían dejar un pocoss de tiempo para hacer las actividades, pero fuera de eso todo bien, nos equipan con PDFs y una gran clase, gracias por está oportunidad.

By Mohamed K

Sep 14, 2019

very nice i learn a lot of about korean but what next we must let for student plan to can learn more or step to talking korean easy i hope u can send email for how improve speaking

By Delisha B

Feb 1, 2018

Amazing starters course. I hope there will another course will be coming soon.

One thing I would of liked is for the lessons and workbook exercises to be harder.

Keep up the good work.

By Tomo

Dec 18, 2021

The course is good, the quiz are really well made. The only perk is why foreingers were choosed in the dialogs, even some of them are really good, would be better to have natives.