Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
8,575 ratings
1,736 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

EC
Sep 9, 2019

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

NS
Dec 22, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,727 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Andy

Sep 6, 2020

David, This is a message to you, introduce the vector sections f the course with a caveat on differences between how engineers handle vectors with how Mathematicians do, It will help to make course a little clearer.

By Salem A

Jun 14, 2020

A simple background on linear algebra is useful to complete the course. It is not necessary, however, because the instructors are going to teach you everything you need in a clear and concise manner which was great.

By Sanjay G

Mar 7, 2020

If you are thinking/looking to do your career in machine learning or want to brush up your linear algebra concept and how this is used in Machine learning, then this course must consider or added to the to-do list.

By Linc T J J

Nov 29, 2019

i really enjoyed the short and concise lessons and the notebook exercises to summarise and put to practice all the learning after the end of each week. Content is easy to understand and follow。 Thank you Imperial!!

By Saurav K

Jan 4, 2019

This is an amazing course. With right blend of assignments and quizzes . The lectures are very clear and nice examples have been used to simplify the content to an extent that any one can easily grasp the concepts.

By JISHNU B

Dec 7, 2018

This is a very good course - less of symbols and more of intuition,which is more important in applications. Profs are excellent communicators - even if you zero knowledge of the subject - you will get 100% of it...

By Md. S S

Jul 27, 2020

Some of assignment problems were really challenging: especially in the Eigenvalue problems, in 5 th module. If anyone listen every single word of the instructor, he will definitely overcome. Very concise lectures.

By Sumedh K R

Apr 18, 2020

The course provides focuses on developing intuition to understand the math required to solve problems with only a fair amount of hand calculations. Looking forward to completing the courses in this specialization!

By 高宇

Jun 20, 2019

This course is designed at a good structure and show me many intuitives on linear algebra. It does not need heavy hand calculation, instead, it brings me into the underlying zen and to a fast track of application.

By Ahsan G

Jul 15, 2020

The assignments were well designed. I have taken linear algebra as a part of my degree but this course really helped me understand the concepts and introduced me to the practical applications of linear algebra.

By GNANARAJ

May 24, 2020

This course has explored the application of Linear Algebra in Machine Learning. Now only I understand the use of linear algebra. I am capable of now imparting the knowledge gained in this course to my students.

By Mike W

Mar 16, 2020

Really good course for building an intuitive understanding of the concepts, as opposed to just rote memorization of formulas. Assignments also reinforce the concepts learned. Very relevant to machine learning.

By jim p

Jul 15, 2018

While not particularly difficult material, course seems designed to build intuition more than just grinding tediously through the mechanics. Grounded in practical examples. And extraordinarily well presented.

By Clara M L

Apr 12, 2018

I like how they are able to visualise everything.

Since I am good at understanding abstract concepts I didn't really have the need to visualise, so it was nice to get a different perspective on Linear Algebra.

By Kunal A

May 1, 2020

It was an awesome experience to learn how algebra can be conveyed through a computer code. The lecturers at Imperial college shared co-operative videos of learning. Coursera's subscription also helped a lot!

By Shihab S

Apr 24, 2020

I would like to recommend every CS students to take this course to feel the essence of Linear Algebra. Well understandable couse it is and also the teachers are great and explaination was too understandable.

By sumit

Sep 26, 2019

Sooooooperb course! The intuition developed by the professors was so so so magnificent that, you can apply this knowledge anywhere. Physics, signal processing and data science. Enjoyed the course throughout!

By Noor A

Jul 5, 2019

Great course. Had a lot of fun building my intuition of Linear Algebra. With the unique way its taught id say its a must course for any bachelor's student who wants to get into the world of machine learning.

By Akshay L

Jun 7, 2019

This is one of the best refresher course on Algebra for anyone who is getting into the field of Machine Learning and Data Science.

I learned so much from the course for these past couple of weeks.

Great work.

By Chandra B

Jul 13, 2020

This is very intuitive about the application of the concept mentioned in the course content which does not helps only in understanding the fundamentals but also it helps in applying it to the real problems.

By Aditya D

Sep 9, 2020

So great to have you as my lecturer(s), thank you so much to bring more point of view that i hadn't known about linear algebra and machine learning, i'm glad that i got more than wahat i've learned before.

By Alekhya C

Jun 7, 2020

I would like to thank Vignana Bharathi Institute Of Technology and Imperial College London for giving such a wonderfull opportunity during this lockdown.This course made me to become inquisitive asusually.

By Mahmoud S

Sep 19, 2019

I wish I was taught all of math this way, The instructors were able to show the intuition of a lot of basic concepts and deepen my understanding of them. Highly recommend for anyone doing Machine Learning.

By Jayanth

May 2, 2020

It's very interactive course for the beginner's who are good in python programming ,you can learn the standard techniques for machine learning and this course will show the path for your career interest's

By Jaiber J

Apr 7, 2020

Excellent course, need to listen carefully to every sentence the instructor speaks or we miss something that will result in not solving the assignments. I liked the way the concepts are explained clearly.