Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
4,188 ratings
754 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

EC

Sep 10, 2019

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

CS

Apr 01, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 750 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Robert P C J

Jul 01, 2018

This course was a really excellent refresher in linear algebra! Everything was presented clearly, and the lectures and homework were engaging.

By Rhian T

Jun 18, 2018

Clearly presented and engaging through the course's focus on Data Science problems.

By Carlos S

May 30, 2018

Good refreshing!!!

By Munesh R L

May 15, 2018

Checked few courses and finally found this one providing great intuition and lots of confidence go deeper into neural networks.

By Anibal Y H

May 05, 2018

Good introduction to linear algebra -- provides a base from where to start climbing. Instructors are very good.

By Quentin L P

Apr 23, 2018

Really nice introduction. Highly recommend

By Janzaib M

Jun 15, 2018

Perfect for those who thinking of starting Machine Learning and Data Science or AI

By Xiao F

Apr 20, 2018

very good course for high level aspect of linear algebra

By Vincent L

Jun 09, 2018

I took this course as a review for my data science curriculum. Previously, I was having trouble recalling the details of matrix arithmetic which was making it hard for me to get a deeper understanding of machine learning. After doing this course, you should have no trouble following along. For those already familiar with the material, it should take about 1-2 weeks to complete if working at a leisurely pace.

By Julio V E

May 21, 2018

Excellent course, with a great team of well-motivated instructors.

By Pavani R

Apr 22, 2018

very well designed course. After a long search for perfect math intro to ML this was the perfect course i stumbled upon. Instructors are engaging and content is relevant.

By Charles E

May 05, 2018

Great short intro to linear algebra. Excellent treatment of eigen problems.

By Jnaneswararao B

Jun 09, 2018

changing the basis and reflecting plane helped me lot

By Yuen P H H

Apr 02, 2018

Website works really well and the course material is clear and concise where the lecturer describes the theory and its application very well.

By Vinay P K

Mar 10, 2018

Good Refresher.

By Ronny A

Jun 11, 2018

Excellent Linear Algebra refresher. I love it that this course distills and covers the core concepts in a very time efficient manner! Also, I am happy with the emphasis on images and graphs to develop intuition. The programming exercises such as Reflecting Bear and Page Rank have been curated well.

By 郭立

Jun 07, 2018

excellent!!!

By Maciej K

May 15, 2018

great course, gives clear info on linear algebra.

By Dharma T N

May 09, 2018

This is indeed one of the best math courses I have ever done in my life. This course changed the view I look at matrices and vectors. I have been 'transformed'.

The instructors were simply amazing. Totally loved every bit of the course. Amazing way to teach this math course, with proper motivation and intuition.

And for all the people writing negative reviews about no Machine Learning being taught in this course, it is clearly mentioned that this course teaches the math which is required for learning Machine Learning and not Machine Learning itself.

By Shan G

Jul 20, 2018

It's a great course made easy

By Edison C

Jul 18, 2018

Excellent enjoyment!

By Ayush B

Jul 24, 2018

The hands-on learning on web page ranking was insightful.

By Xiao H

Jul 24, 2018

Focused on the geometrical view to look at the linear algebra rather than hand-calculations. Very intuitive!

By Alexander Z

Jul 26, 2018

Awesome introduction to LA!

Very good content!

By Zvinodashe M

Jul 26, 2018

Excellent course a little challenging but just the right pace and depth to get one back up to speed with linear algebra, looking to build from this foundation