Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
3,766 ratings
677 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

NS

Dec 23, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

CS

Apr 01, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 673 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Sai S H G

Apr 26, 2018

Really enjoyed the course!

Wonderful lectures and really helpful assignments.

By Nanyan Z

May 25, 2018

It's really useful!

By Deepak T

May 07, 2018

Awesome explanation of each topic!!

By Shanxue J

Apr 01, 2018

Truly exceptional course. Strongly recommend!

By Lisa M

Apr 07, 2018

This was a fantastic course. I'm new to linear algebra, so it was bit intimidating even signing up (!) - but the lecturers were really, really good about explaining all concepts from the ground up so it was always possible to visualize and extrapolate from solid foundations. For me it was a stretch each week, but in a good way: very challenging, but achievable with enough planning and effort.

By Thomas F

Apr 19, 2018

Highly valuable introduction to linear algebra. Maybe the programming assignments are far too easy, while some of the quizzes definitely are hard. And the best part of the course was to introduce www.3blue1brown.com with it's videos on youtube.

By Liam M

Apr 04, 2018

This is an excellent refresher of vectors and linear algebra, and although I did it years ago in college I still found some new insights from doing this course. Its all explained very well without being bogged down in formailty.

By Joshua S

Apr 21, 2018

Great introduction to linear Algebra! Wish my college experience was this good! I highly recommend an iPad Pro and Apple pencil to take notes. Man this is awesome.

By Nigel H

Apr 18, 2018

Very high production standards, well presented by enthusiastic staff and very manageable as the material is taught so well. Highly recommended.

By Rain Z

Aug 04, 2018

Very good class for second time linear algebra learners, if you are away from college for a period of time already

By Won-Yung L

Aug 05, 2018

This course gives me geometric intuition of linear algebra

By Vincent L

Aug 07, 2018

The concepts are explained well. However, might not be very useful for people who have some basic understanding of linear algebra. Taking this course is not as effective as reading the textbook.

By Devbrat S

Aug 06, 2018

just one word " Knowledgesome"

By Artem D

Aug 07, 2018

I liked it!

Good leturers who are really inteested in the subject. I've bben listening to lectures with much pleasure.

Interesting assignments and quizes!

Highly recommend the course.

By Edison C

Jul 18, 2018

Excellent enjoyment!

By Daniel R

Aug 12, 2018

A+

By VAIDYANATH H

Aug 12, 2018

The course was very well taught and went on smoothly with no pressure

By Andrey

Aug 10, 2018

Really good course with clear explanations.

By Daniel U

Aug 13, 2018

Excellently presented, well-paced.

By Shan G

Jul 20, 2018

It's a great course made easy

By Nishay M

Sep 02, 2018

I Had Really fun doing it and they helped me get a Intuitive learning experience

By Rushil

Sep 03, 2018

Fantastic recap on linear algebra concepts.

The focus on intuitive understanding is a pleasure and far more engaging than more traditional approaches.

By Aditya U

Aug 23, 2018

Awesome course!

By Rodrigo S Z

Aug 24, 2018

great course. gave me lots of intuition of linear algebra

By Carolyn S

Sep 05, 2018

Strong review of linear algebra concepts with emphasis on intuitions for machine learning. Excited and engaging professors, good pace, worthwhile exercises, good programming examples.