Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
3,766 ratings
677 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

PL

Aug 26, 2018

Great way to learn about applied Linear Algebra. Should be fairly easy if you have any background with linear algebra, but looks at concepts through the scope of geometric application, which is fresh.

CS

Apr 01, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 673 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Xiangxin S

May 29, 2018

great class, only focused on the core concepts of linear algebra, and try to build a intuition of how these concepts fit in later on machine learning applications

By Michelle W

Jul 03, 2018

Excellent course. I have never taken a linear algebra course before, so it took me longer to complete this as I had to learn the basics to follow the material in this course. The course is designed as a review of linear algebra, but if you are motivated and have time, it's possible to complete without having had linear algebra.

By Iurii S

Mar 28, 2018

Great intro into vector algebra - helps build better intuition even if you know all the formulas already.

By George C

Jul 07, 2018

Excellent course -- very good lectures and a useful introduction to the topic

By Arun B K

Apr 12, 2018

If you are a bottom-up person who has to understand nuts and bolts before going up the software stack, this is the course to start your machine learning study. - From a ML newbie

By Takayuki M

Mar 24, 2018

(๑•̀ㅂ•́)و✧

By Marvin P

Mar 17, 2018

I'm impressed how good this course is. It provides lots of intuition, many examples and exercises about the topics and Prof. Dye is a incredibly talented instructor. Thanks a lot!

By Kuo P

Mar 16, 2018

excellent

By EmmaTK

Apr 11, 2018

excellent course for freshen-up linear algebra, highly recommend!

By amardeep

Apr 18, 2018

best math course for ML

By Felipe M

May 02, 2018

Great Teacher!

By Ahmed R

Apr 22, 2018

This is a very good introduction and review of Linear Algebra. The particular highlights are the use of geometric perspectives to give intuition rather than just labouring through the mathematics. I also learned where I need to learn more in order. Overall will recommend either as a review or a stepping stone to learning more about Linear Algebra.

By Ezequiel A

Jul 09, 2018

Amazing course! Thank you so much

By nicole s

Apr 17, 2018

Great teacher and teaching style!

By Satyajit S

Mar 18, 2018

Great introductory course. Linear Algebra is quite often the most poorly taught/understood subject in college mathematics.This course has a done a great job in stressing on the core concepts without focusing on the computational details which happens in typical linear algebra courses

By Jayant V

Mar 29, 2018

I have taken a course on linear algebra during my graduate program and must admit that it was not one of my more comfortable ones! Coming back to this course online, it really did help me get a much better understanding of concepts like dimensionality, basis, eigen values and eigen vectors. I intend to go over the lectures at least a few more times to be sure I have understood it well.

By Jack C

Apr 06, 2018

Great course, well presented videos and challenging but engaging content. Great high level view of linear algebra to give you a starting point for other courses. May be useful to have some machine learning knowledge before taking - Andrew Ng's course would serve as a good counterpoint.

By Aditya K

May 21, 2018

Fantastic course that develops the intuition behind Linear Algebra. I'm glad I did it.

I would couple this course with MIT prof Gilbert Strang's lectures on linear algebra on MIT OCW.

By Siddharth S

Jun 23, 2018

Simply Fantastic

By Robert P C J

Jul 01, 2018

This course was a really excellent refresher in linear algebra! Everything was presented clearly, and the lectures and homework were engaging.

By Rhian T

Jun 18, 2018

Clearly presented and engaging through the course's focus on Data Science problems.

By Carlos S

May 30, 2018

Good refreshing!!!

By Munesh R L

May 15, 2018

Checked few courses and finally found this one providing great intuition and lots of confidence go deeper into neural networks.

By Anibal Y H

May 05, 2018

Good introduction to linear algebra -- provides a base from where to start climbing. Instructors are very good.

By Quentin L P

Apr 23, 2018

Really nice introduction. Highly recommend