Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
3,766 ratings
677 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

NS

Dec 23, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

CS

Apr 01, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 673 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Harsh D

Mar 06, 2019

Great Course, exceptional in every way, gives you practice drill down some of the concepts, and handy programming assignments that are fun to work with, while not a complete refresher the course is good enough to grasp essence of linear algebra to build intuitive math, rather than classical way of teaching.

By Ashutosh M

Mar 07, 2019

The course is great for those who are new to machine learning and want to start from mathematics behind it. The course focuses on vector and matrices and how to solve System of Linear Equations using it. You will develop intuition of what matrix transformations are and how to use change in basis to your advantage.

By Pushkar B

Mar 08, 2019

It's been excellent so far as the instructor has mixed the basics of linear algebra and real world examples to highlight the application in machine learning. Looking forward to further videos.

By Gyamfi A K

Mar 08, 2019

Taught in an intuitive way. Never have I been able to understand linear algebra better than after following the first 3 weeks of this course. I can't wait to complete the entire specialization

By Omar R G

Mar 17, 2019

An excellent course on the fundamentals of linear algebra. It was great revisiting all this topics. I would also say that some knowledge on linear algebra would be useful for taking this course given the fact that the lectures are quick.

By Stavros

Jan 06, 2019

Pretty basic, but nicely executed. Practically going through the basics of linear algebra.

By Kyle W

Dec 06, 2018

Excellent course. It's very practical - focuses on building your intuition of core concepts and applying those concepts through simple programming exercises.

By arif h

Jan 06, 2019

nice course.but programming Assignment trouble to submit .

By Azhan A

Dec 23, 2018

This is a mind-blowing course, very informative and takes your skills to the next level.

By Dan G

Dec 07, 2018

I very friendly introduction to linear algebra that makes you fully comfortable with it.

By Samuel Z

Dec 07, 2018

Amazing course!

By Jishnu B

Dec 07, 2018

This is a very good course - less of symbols and more of intuition,which is more important in applications. Profs are excellent communicators - even if you zero knowledge of the subject - you will get 100% of it...

By 任杰文

Jan 08, 2019

It's clear and intuitive, especially the examples.

By Benson H

Dec 24, 2018

The course describtion is very clear. We can learn the basic linear algebra concept well !

By KAI N

Dec 24, 2018

Excellent course which provides a new viewpoint for ML

By Md S S K

Feb 03, 2019

It' like I am learning the vectors and the concepts of linear algebra with much more efficiency knowing where to use them.

By Luiz F S G

Feb 03, 2019

Great quality course!

By Gorelov A

Jan 20, 2019

Great course

By Pierre P

Jan 20, 2019

Great teacher, great course, easy to understand but still challenging.

By Pratyush

Jan 21, 2019

The course is a great one for someone who has been through high school mathematics. On hand questions are practiced using machine learning

By ash g

Jan 20, 2019

Good intuitive intro.

By DIVYANSH S

Feb 04, 2019

excellent

By Hritik K S

Dec 08, 2018

I learned the best visualisation of linear algebra's concepts. Nothing is better that understanding the concepts and how the things are happening.

By Liam F

Mar 10, 2019

Very useful, thanks very much!

By Dariusz P G

Mar 10, 2019

What an excellent lecturer.

I just wish that my mathematics teacher at school had had a tenth of the ability to impart knowledge.

This is a fantastic course and I will be doing the specialization later when I get some free time.

Thank you for a fantastic course.

Dariusz