Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
3,783 ratings
678 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

NS

Dec 23, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

PL

Aug 26, 2018

Great way to learn about applied Linear Algebra. Should be fairly easy if you have any background with linear algebra, but looks at concepts through the scope of geometric application, which is fresh.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 677 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By imran s

Dec 17, 2018

Good Explanation and Useful

By 郭宇

Jan 09, 2019

Einstein Notation is very useful, and I hadn't heard of it before the class. With this tool, I can easily derive formulas in MATRIX form.

By Rachakonda N

Dec 25, 2018

Lectures and assignments are very nice and understandable.

By Yiqing W

Dec 27, 2018

good

By Jonathas C B

Dec 30, 2018

Nice mix of video lectures and practice exercises.

By Tiong K L

Dec 30, 2018

Hands down one of the best courses online. As a biology-trained student, I am glad that finally there is a course which explains linear algebra with such clarity that it does not remain a black box to me.

By Changxin W

Dec 28, 2018

与国内的课程不同,教你从几何的角度理解线性代数。

By paulo

Jan 12, 2019

great material! i enjoyed every second of the course - also need to thanks for the professors enthusiasm!

By Someindra K S

Jan 03, 2019

I got a lot of intuition about some fundamental aspects of linear algebra. Rest of courses on maths was very rigorous in terms of methods. This was more inclined towards applications in machine learning. I enjoyed the entire learning process

By Tichakunda

Jan 03, 2019

This is a top intro class and looks at linear algebra from first principles , focusing on the intuition (and the math follows very smoothly). Perfect class, really!

By Yerjan A

Jan 04, 2019

Got momentum

By Saurav K

Jan 04, 2019

This is an amazing course. With right blend of assignments and quizzes . The lectures are very clear and nice examples have been used to simplify the content to an extent that any one can easily grasp the concepts.

By Yevhenii S

Feb 15, 2019

Very good course. It well structured, good lectures and assignments. It gives enough intuition and refresh to move forward. Thank you team!

By gregorius a

Feb 15, 2019

Very Good Math Lecture!

By David B

Feb 16, 2019

The video approach to this course is really amazing. The visuals presented and the ease in understanding touch mathematical concepts made this course fantastic to take. Although I would have preferred more challenging quizzes and programming assignments the material taught was still world class.

By Rafi D

Jan 23, 2019

Gained an intuitive understanding of Linear Algebra like never before. The professors are awesome.

By Camilo J

Feb 18, 2019

Great class and wonderfull material. Focused on intuition and programming rather that minndlessly solving problems as a mechanical challenge.

By Rishi C

Feb 05, 2019

This course is EXACTLY what I needed - a demonstration of the ideas of linear algebra and how to implement those ideas

By Dawn D

Feb 06, 2019

Well presented, easy to follow and very good explanations and examples!

By Gaurav a

Feb 07, 2019

I will recommend this course to everyone. The way I think about matrices and eigenvectors are completely changed. This course makes the Linear Algebra very easy to understand.

By Dr I H

Jan 25, 2019

I really enjoyed the course

By sergey z

Jan 24, 2019

Thorough and friendly face instructor from Imperial, a pleasure to watch and easy to follow

By muhamad r f

Feb 20, 2019

easy to understand

By Bryan S

Feb 19, 2019

A great introduction to linear algebra!