Chevron Left
Back to Linux for Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Linux for Developers by The Linux Foundation

4.5
stars
745 ratings
149 reviews

About the Course

In course 1 we talked about open source software and the motivation and methods of using it. In course 2, we will introduce you to Linux systems, and help you feel comfortable working at the command line: What Linux is Linux history How to separate the kernel from the entire operating system Making contributions to the kernel Graphical system, and how it works Working at the command line Filesystem layout, partitions Monitoring utilities You will learn what it’s like to work on Linux system, and get a good understanding of the essential skills you need when you work on a daily basis with Linux systems....

Top reviews

AA

May 15, 2020

Nice course for the newbie in Linux world. I really got to know very new things from this course while working with ubuntu. Thanks to The Linux Foundation for this wonderful course.

TH

May 10, 2020

Great introduction to Linux for Developers. Well balanced quizzes that allow the student to get a flavor of the material as well as the opportunity to dive deeper if interested.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 148 Reviews for Linux for Developers

By Alan C

Jan 01, 2020

If you do not know LINUX, then do not take this course.

This is a course that could have been good for beginners. But it not.

The order of the course is haphazard. For example early on in the course you are required to install packages - but the explanation of how to install packages is only at the end of the course.

The explanations given, in places, assume that your day job is as a network administrator or similar - so if you day job is not, again don't take this course.

Some of the lessons consist of a sheet detailing 20 or so commands - which for me at least, was not an easy way to learn something new.

I would say though that the course lecturer is clearly an expert in the field and that the material could be re-purposed with only some effort in order to make it beginner friendly (if they ever wanted to) . In the meantime - if you are a beginner, try somewhere else.

By Qin W

Mar 02, 2019

Not very organised in terms of studying order, and some of the examples are a bit too simple and skimming the surface.

By HXQ

Nov 05, 2019

you just read the slide.

By Agrawal H

May 15, 2020

Nice course for the newbie in Linux world. I really got to know very new things from this course while working with ubuntu. Thanks to The Linux Foundation for this wonderful course.

By Luca M

Feb 17, 2020

Unclear and not suited for absolute beginners. Get a good book like The Linux Bible, and learn through that.

By Ostash R R

Feb 18, 2019

a lot of bugs on site, lol i couldnt finish his course for hour because site didnt see my results

By Ian D

Nov 17, 2019

too basic, fuzzy, doesn't really teach or provide any valuable hands on in linux

By Ted H

May 10, 2020

Great introduction to Linux for Developers. Well balanced quizzes that allow the student to get a flavor of the material as well as the opportunity to dive deeper if interested.

By Eduardo L P M

Apr 21, 2019

Excellent course. Now I understand much better the fundamentals behind linux command line interface and some important administrative features.

By Jatin R

Oct 12, 2019

Excellent course for all who want to have a very good knowledge in linux in every aspect.

By Arjun k

Dec 02, 2019

more of a theoretical session, didnt find anything practical

By Walter B

May 21, 2020

The course falls tragically short of where it could be. The order of the lessons appears to be random (with installation and usage information provided at the end rather than the beginning), and this is complicated by information being provided for outdated packages and commands-- many of which have been completely phased out on some Linux kernels. Following along with an AWS RHEL instance was impossible for all but the most basic functions.

It appears that the information in this class was valid as of 2015-2016, and hasn't been updated since. Because most commands are provided in a written table format without context, I learned the most by Googling the topics being covered and going from there.

I don't know who the intended audience for this class is, but it isn't amateur Python developers.

By Borja H d L C

Apr 29, 2020

Muy complicado de entender y las prácticas mal explicadas.

By Kim S

Aug 03, 2020

Amazing course. It really puts into perspective the skills required to operate Linux, which applies to multiple OS. Many times as developers, we think being in computer science means to write programs. While this is a huge part, it ultimately means nothing if you do not know how it gets executed and how to execute it across a network. In academia, you often get blinded to the fact that you work on standalone systems when in industry, you will rarely ever work on a standalone system; you will most always work on a company network so you will need to understand how the OS will handle your software programs.

By Samuel F

May 10, 2020

Awesome course, excellent instructor. Just to relate some of the points I liked, it is well organized, there are good exercises and instructor is from Linux Foundation itself. The plus in this course is exactly the fact it gently forces you to figure out some of the points yourself. It doesn't matter if the instructions are not "clear" at a first sight; you'll end up hitting the solution in the next class.

By Craig L

Jun 10, 2020

I'll not lie, from a Windows background I found some of these concepts quite tricky. However, I do feel that I have a much better grasp of how Linux works now and I can really see the power of being able to see what's going on via all the various files. I would even say, I might be hooked on the Linux command line now!

By Mississippi

Apr 22, 2020

Good overview of the concepts of linux, Jerry should consider reading meditations or something cause their voice is very relaxing. Would like to see a course like this but using linux on mac, many of the commands don't translate in the native ios terminal.

By Ravi P

May 27, 2020

Very excellent course by Linux Foundation all the videos and the reading part were very clear and in-depth, Quiz were also great. I would recommend this to anyone who is starting out learning Linux. Great Job ♥

By Tushar M

Jan 28, 2020

Good course. Nice insights from the Linux Operating System. However, the course is more oriented to Red Hat Linux. Wish it could have a choice for learning more in Debian environments, especially Ubuntu.

By Md. J D

Aug 22, 2020

It is an amazing course for whom want to develop linux based operating system. I am so much impressed for completing this course. Thanks to the honorable lecturer and so others engaged with this course.

By Hugo S

Apr 27, 2020

Great course on some of the basic shell commands an functionalities in Linux. Really good over view on how Linux works. Lots of material to read and keep exploring.

By Aniruddha N J

Jun 11, 2020

Excellent course. Takes students from entry level knowledge to more advanced concepts. But, of course, the more you practice hand on, the more you will learn

By Aman k

Jun 12, 2020

Wow it's a very very amazing instructor and also course because I am new in programming and I want learn linux here I learn lots of things and also Coursera

By Kevin R

Jun 08, 2020

I have gained a lot of great knowledge and use of Linux and its platform. I am very grateful for the content. I really like the way the instructor explains.

By Doulat N

Sep 12, 2020

Tbl thank you much to this your of video and i like demo video i twist that some more demo video is available... Is soo good and helpful...