Chevron Left
Back to Structuring Machine Learning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Structuring Machine Learning Projects by DeepLearning.AI

4.8
stars
44,705 ratings
5,063 reviews

About the Course

You will learn how to build a successful machine learning project. If you aspire to be a technical leader in AI, and know how to set direction for your team's work, this course will show you how. Much of this content has never been taught elsewhere, and is drawn from my experience building and shipping many deep learning products. This course also has two "flight simulators" that let you practice decision-making as a machine learning project leader. This provides "industry experience" that you might otherwise get only after years of ML work experience. After 2 weeks, you will: - Understand how to diagnose errors in a machine learning system, and - Be able to prioritize the most promising directions for reducing error - Understand complex ML settings, such as mismatched training/test sets, and comparing to and/or surpassing human-level performance - Know how to apply end-to-end learning, transfer learning, and multi-task learning I've seen teams waste months or years through not understanding the principles taught in this course. I hope this two week course will save you months of time. This is a standalone course, and you can take this so long as you have basic machine learning knowledge. This is the third course in the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

JB
Jul 1, 2020

While the information from this course was awesome I would've liked some hand on projects to get the information running. Nonetheless, the two simulation task were the best (more would've been neat!).

AM
Nov 22, 2017

I learned so many things in this module. I learned that how to do error analysys and different kind of the learning techniques. Thanks Professor Andrew Ng to provide such a valuable and updated stuff.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 5,012 Reviews for Structuring Machine Learning Projects

By Faizy

Jul 23, 2019

Amazing Course ... different structuring strategies involving Orthogonalization, Single number evaluation metric, Carrying out error analysis, and how Cleaning up incorrectly labelled data including Transfer Learning are Beautifully explained by Andrew Ng...KUdos

By Kunal N

Feb 17, 2018

The best part of this course was the "ML Flight Simulator" questionnaires (peacotopia, auto-driving). These real life examples and grading on that is the best thing. It helps you learn and interpret the concepts much nicer. I wish there were more of such examples.

By Anurag A

Sep 11, 2017

This course has been really insightful into how we should work with machine learning projects. True, that most of the ideas discussed here are not covered in normal university curriculum. Thanks a lot to Professor Ng for coming out with this really helpful course.

By AJAY G

Sep 27, 2020

According to me, It is a very good course. In this course, they have taught about what can be the best practice to handles errors in the projects. They have taken different scenarios and gave us what can be the best choice that you can take to handle the problem.

By Akshat J

Apr 11, 2020

Once a person has a knowledge of how to become a developer in the prevoius courses, this course gives you the knowledge to escalate from developer to a project architect. It teaches crucial techniques required to guide the training model to produce better result.

By Selim R

Nov 19, 2017

I feel this is an extremely important course for all aspiring deep learning practitioners: being good is not only about knowing the algorithms and architectures, but also how to best manage your time and choose the most promising avenues to explore. A rare course

By Fahimul H

May 31, 2020

This was a much needed course after the 2nd one in this specialization! This course provides a clear and essential picture that is needed during development stage as well as shows the scopes of applying different techniques/blocks that were taught in course two.

By Raul T

Oct 9, 2017

Shows methods for improving performance of deep learning setups in a time efficient manner. I like that deciding what to try next for improving a deep learning setup's performance is a recurring topic in Andrew Ng's courses. Knowing this can save a lot of time.

By Tolga B

Jun 23, 2020

Very well structured (pun intended) and informative course! Andrew makes a fantastic job transfering his knowledge to his students. I gained very much insight in general for prioritizing different tasks in machine learning projects and planing the future steps.

By Isaiah A

May 22, 2020

This class, although short, was very interesting and serves as a useful guide to aid in building a deep learning model from scratch. The quizzes are really interesting as well as it makes you think about a step-by-step process in your own model implementation.

By Jay G

Oct 6, 2018

A fantastic course. I believe the strategies presented are practical and powerful in actually developing a deep learning system. I very much look forward to encountering those first problems and using these strategies to guide my model development. Well done!!

By Gillian P

Mar 2, 2018

Great course covering topics that are not seen anywhere esle and are probably highly udnerestimated. The graded simulations are a very good idea that could be used in other courses as well. Professor Ng excellent performance is no surprise for anyone having fol

By Kyung-Hoon K

Nov 23, 2017

This strategic thinking for planning ahead will absolutely save tons of times of ML developers when building a real-world ML system. This course gave me a lot of thinking points, even without programming assignment. Thanks professor Ng, Mentors, and classmates!

By Matthias T H H

Aug 27, 2017

Excellent course on how to analyze errors of machine learning applications. This material provides good ways to improve the speed of iteration over any machine learning project.

This class is unique as professors rarely provide this kind of insights. Thank you!

By H A H

Sep 2, 2020

the tips are given by Andrew Ng...that is the best for any machine learning project... I think everyone should try this course for performing better on the ML projects...once again thank u Andrew for this such a good content...highly recommended for everyone.

By HE Y

Jun 17, 2020

This course has given me a systematic insight of machine learning project, which helps me to handle the machine learning problem from a global point of view. I'm eager to apply these knowledge in real machine learning project to better understand the essence.

By Balaji G

Apr 25, 2020

A very much essential course for a ML team manager.. In-depth insights into the error analysis and to study the performance of the network in different perspectives. Hats-off to Prof.Andrew Ng for very nice demonstrations with lots of examples and case study.

By Abdullah A

Jan 11, 2019

Worth the time and effort. Although this course did not contain the programming aspects, but it was helpful nevertheless. This course actually taught me how to properly go about my machine learning project and how to troubleshoot if I encounter some problems.

By DOLA R

Aug 25, 2018

This course give me direction to structure my project in better way. Content of this course was really awesome and most amazing part was the flight simulator for machine learning. Thank you Andrew Ng sir for beautifully presenting the idea, thank you so much.

By Benji T

Feb 18, 2018

Short course but i think this is the most important course out of the 3 as it is more applied. Everything in this course is new to me... , had to read the discussion for help on the quiz. Hope to appreciate what i learn after i start my deep learning project!

By Vijay A

Dec 23, 2017

Knowing the algorithms alone doesn't help much in developing ML applications. We should be able to tackle any problem and drive our project towards the intended goal.This course provides some handy tips and tactics for the same.Well taught as usual. Cheers!!!

By YongyiWang

Sep 7, 2017

This course is very useful. The 'Simulator' is very cool. After finishing the homework, I have a better understanding on how do deal with a real project. I'm trying to solve a problem in my work, I think this skills mentioned in the course will help me a lot.

By Mirza A A B

Jul 24, 2020

This course was directed towards giving more of a general perspective on an ML project. Although it was a brief one, it gives enough insight to continue and develop on the concepts taught. The best part as always is the inspiring and motivational guest talk.

By Victor A M B

Feb 9, 2020

Un curso corto con mucha información, pero muy muy instrucivo de cómo abordar los proyectos de deep learning o redes neuronales, se te enseña desde el análisis del error hasta la transferencia de conocimiento, lo cual es bastante interesante.

Muchas gracias!!

By Alexandre D

Aug 28, 2019

It's really nice to have Andrew share his practical knowledge and experience. Paying careful attention to data distributions and doing ErrorAnalysis to learn where to focus your efforts are valuable insights. Thanks for making us all better DL practitioners.