Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking by Stanford University

4.8
1,571 ratings
345 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Top reviews

NR

Mar 05, 2018

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

MF

Aug 26, 2017

Great course, it's really shows the way how to think in mathematical rigor. It gave me an intuition about what Mathematics is itself.\n\nThank you Profesor Keith Devlin, you are a great teacher !

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 329 Reviews for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

By Curtis S

Oct 01, 2017

Clear and complete instruction, plenty of practice assign

By Abhyuday S

Dec 25, 2017

Absolutely brilliant.

By Tate R

May 14, 2018

I learned about a lot of symbols, and now I am introduced to mathematical thinking.

By Bartosz W

Dec 22, 2017

As the name suggests, it is a great introduction to the world of mathematics. No unecessary pressure, which makes it an enjoyable experience for those willing to learn.

By Luciano M

Dec 14, 2017

Excellent course with which you can think like a pro mathematician.

By Zunera M

May 12, 2017

Lovely.. would recommend to everyone in Mathematics field

By John T L

Aug 14, 2017

AWESOME! That's all I can say...

By Carlos M P S

Feb 02, 2018

Fantástico

By Yiheng Z

Sep 23, 2017

Interesting and beneficial course. Very Nice Professor!

By Vadim

Jan 14, 2018

The course is awesome! It helped me to recall a lot of stuff from university mathematics. Most importantly, it let me look at everything I knew, from a different point of view, get deeper insight. Great thanks to Dr. Keith Devlin - awesome teacher!

By Mitchel v H

May 10, 2018

It was a really interesting course up until the end. The way in which language can be ambigious has never been as clear to me. This course wasn't just about math but more or less the world as a working place where you have to make it work.

By Abhishek

Jun 05, 2017

smart like that course

By Gayatri

Sep 27, 2017

Excellent programme...

By Milan T

Oct 27, 2017

Amazing. Excellent.

By Abimael G P

Apr 29, 2018

very interesting course that help you to start thinking in a no ambiguous way and out of the mold.

By Abdelrahman A A

May 30, 2018

This course is very important.

By Ella B

Jul 05, 2018

Excellent introduction which teaches the rigour necessary for a mathematics degree extremely well.

By Henry L

Jul 04, 2018

A detailed and thorough course presented in an understandable fashion. It helps you develop critical thinking and problem solving skills by getting you to think in different ways as a mathematician. Highly recommended.

By Marcus K

Mar 17, 2018

I work in the digital visual effects industry as a developer and wanted to understand scientific papers better. Searching the the for solutions, I came across this course. It is very well structured and offers tons of materials to work with. You can test yourself with quizzes, assignments and problem sets throughout the course.

I can only highly recommend it .

By Hazem j A

Apr 08, 2018

womderful

By Erzoxy

Jul 11, 2017

This ciyrse is highly captivating !

By menemmuhammad9@gmail.com

Aug 01, 2017

it is an awesome course

By Muhammad R

Sep 28, 2017

Good!

By Neeti S

Feb 11, 2018

well conveyed enjoyable course, and f

By John H

Nov 20, 2017

Keith Devlin is an amazing mathematician. I would love to take other MOOG courses with him!