Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
2,345 ratings
566 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Top reviews

NR

Mar 4, 2018

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

AM

Nov 23, 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 552 Reviews for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

By Ronnith N

Aug 20, 2021

Thanks to Prof. Keith Devlin. This course is a must for everyone planning to undertake an undergraduate program in any field related to mathematics.

By xiexiaoqi

Nov 23, 2017

很棒的数学课程,适合大学新生在上高等数学时学习。这门课详细介绍了数学证明的方法,并且会告你大学学的数学和高中时不一样,最后一周的互评作业也很有意思,通过批改其他学生的作业我也学到了更多知识。这门课让我对数学有了更大的兴趣,如果你对数学感兴趣或者想学好大学数学的话,你应该来试一下这门课程!

By Oskernel R

Aug 19, 2018

You don't learn math only; you learn the techniques of logical reasoning.

This course is evaluable and helps me become a more effective thinker.

By Olivier T

May 28, 2017

Such a delight having followed this course... it was a real pleasure to think differently other than usual... thinking mathematical for once...

By Michael P

Jul 22, 2020

Τhe lecturer of the course is quite explanatory. The course material is quite well organized with methodical steps in explaining the concepts.

By Ewan K

Aug 29, 2020

Great lectures that broke down intimidating concepts to be understood easily. I already feel the impact on my thinking. Thank you Professor!

By Carlos A M L

Jan 4, 2021

curso muy bueno, muy desafiante para el pensamiento y para cambiar la perspectiva de lo que ya tenemos aprendido previamente. recomendable.

By gil r

Oct 26, 2020

very good course to learn mathematical reasoning. You miss many important points when you are a graduate and have lot of material to study.

By Christi C

Apr 8, 2021

Considering the world and media's regressive subjectivity, this course will realign your mental spine with some good old-fashioned Reason.

By Daniel B

Jun 8, 2017

Dr. Devlin is very passionate about mathematics and it comes through in his teaching. This is a great course overall and very challenging.

By Ajey K P

Mar 16, 2017

It is a nice course to learn how mathematicians write proofs. Also how to think in logical way. Great course for maths enthusiasts like me

By Jose M A

May 14, 2022

T​he course had generally taught me things that are not mathematics but the fundamentals of it and I like that is more important overall.

By Hari K

Apr 4, 2018

best professor i every seen and this course introduction to mathematical thinking is perfect for those whose loves magic of mathematics .

By Mariluz

May 22, 2021

Excelente curso y el profesor muy dedicado y explica de una manera muy amena los diferentes temas. Me gusto mucho el curso. Mil gracias.

By Tanny S

May 10, 2017

The precision and elegance of Mathematical thinking is realised in this course - the Essence without the intimidation of the subject

By Pragati G

Oct 25, 2020

Amazing course for learning the basics of mathematics and induce mathematical thinking which is base for many higher level courses.

By Artur F

Apr 5, 2020

Thanks for the extraordinary amazing course!

Especially for sharing your passion for math with us!

I just loved studying these weeks!

By m.urban

Dec 10, 2018

I'm sure that I will come back to this course! Thank you very much Profesor Devlin! You are a great teacher! Greeteing from Poland!

By ANNIE C A

Sep 18, 2020

This was a really helpful course because it mainly focused on the basic concepts that is to be understood necessarily. Thank you.

By Sohom B

Aug 4, 2017

Really beautiful course. This one finally got me out of the "I can not read and understand mathematical notation" bandwagon!! :-)

By david t

Jun 22, 2022

I liked the course very much, I am a teacher and I think the experience gained here will be of great help in assessing students.

By Isaac M

May 4, 2021

Teaches you some very useful analytical skill which can be applied to formalise all areas of maths. I would highly recommend it!

By Fernando C

Sep 26, 2017

A very coherent course. Looking at and evaluating proofs was a very good way to develop a deeper sense of mathematical arguments

By Stefanie K

Apr 8, 2021

Though sometimes really challenging, I became intrigued by what Mathematics can be and how helpful it is also for other fields.

By Morena V

Jun 19, 2017

Very inspiring and educational course. Keith Devlin is a very good professor. Very nice assignments. Fun and challenging to do!