Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
2,221 ratings
537 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Top reviews

AM
Nov 23, 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

PD
Jun 29, 2020

It has help evaluate what I put into decision in any applicable context. Since I've noted what decision I make and how outcome can be made to vary when I consider all components in a isolated manner.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 524 Reviews for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

By Christi C

Apr 8, 2021

Considering the world and media's regressive subjectivity, this course will realign your mental spine with some good old-fashioned Reason.

By Daniel B

Jun 8, 2017

Dr. Devlin is very passionate about mathematics and it comes through in his teaching. This is a great course overall and very challenging.

By Ajey K P

Mar 16, 2017

It is a nice course to learn how mathematicians write proofs. Also how to think in logical way. Great course for maths enthusiasts like me

By Hari K

Apr 4, 2018

best professor i every seen and this course introduction to mathematical thinking is perfect for those whose loves magic of mathematics .

By Mariluz

May 22, 2021

Excelente curso y el profesor muy dedicado y explica de una manera muy amena los diferentes temas. Me gusto mucho el curso. Mil gracias.

By Tanny S

May 10, 2017

The precision and elegance of Mathematical thinking is realised in this course - the Essence without the intimidation of the subject

By Pragati G

Oct 25, 2020

Amazing course for learning the basics of mathematics and induce mathematical thinking which is base for many higher level courses.

By Artur F

Apr 5, 2020

Thanks for the extraordinary amazing course!

Especially for sharing your passion for math with us!

I just loved studying these weeks!

By m.urban

Dec 10, 2018

I'm sure that I will come back to this course! Thank you very much Profesor Devlin! You are a great teacher! Greeteing from Poland!

By ANNIE C A

Sep 18, 2020

This was a really helpful course because it mainly focused on the basic concepts that is to be understood necessarily. Thank you.

By Sohom B

Aug 4, 2017

Really beautiful course. This one finally got me out of the "I can not read and understand mathematical notation" bandwagon!! :-)

By Isaac M

May 4, 2021

Teaches you some very useful analytical skill which can be applied to formalise all areas of maths. I would highly recommend it!

By Fernando A C

Sep 26, 2017

A very coherent course. Looking at and evaluating proofs was a very good way to develop a deeper sense of mathematical arguments

By Stefanie K

Apr 8, 2021

Though sometimes really challenging, I became intrigued by what Mathematics can be and how helpful it is also for other fields.

By Morena V

Jun 19, 2017

Very inspiring and educational course. Keith Devlin is a very good professor. Very nice assignments. Fun and challenging to do!

By Saulo G C C

Jul 10, 2020

Thanks, I think is a great course because also you learn about mathematical thinking and you learn the form of others learn.

By Alex H L

Dec 18, 2019

It's good course to get back into mathematics and consolidate the fundamental notions to pursue higher level mathematics study

By 김재원

Apr 6, 2020

This is the first course I've finished in Coursera....It really is a great and wonderful course.

Learned a lot from the course

By SUNTSOV V

Mar 17, 2019

A useful and good course for common development.

The name of the course corresponds to the topic.

My wish was fulfilled.

By Antonio R

Sep 27, 2018

Muy bueno lo recomiendo a todo aquel que se quiere iniciar en el conocimiento matemático..para mi ha sido de gran ayuda.

By Zara A

Jun 13, 2020

It was sooo good!!! Being a 13 year old, I have not learnt everything I needed to but understood everything perfectly!

By Higor G P

Jan 15, 2018

Curso excelente. Mostra a imensidão da matemática além das receitas prontas ensinadas no ensino fundamental e médio.

By Varun K

Sep 18, 2019

Good for developing basic abilities like how to structure your proof, develop thinking through a well defined proof

By Uttkarsh K

May 18, 2020

Engaging course, very interesting for someone who is willing to learn patiently. Thank you professor Keith Devlin!

By Vladimir K

Mar 12, 2017

This course gave me a number of bright ideas about the extraordinary approaches, when you solving complex problems