Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking by Stanford University

4.8
1,572 ratings
346 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Top reviews

NR

Mar 05, 2018

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

MF

Aug 26, 2017

Great course, it's really shows the way how to think in mathematical rigor. It gave me an intuition about what Mathematics is itself.\n\nThank you Profesor Keith Devlin, you are a great teacher !

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 329 Reviews for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

By Tanny S

May 10, 2017

The precision and elegance of Mathematical thinking is realised in this course - the Essence without the intimidation of the subject

By 朱腾云

May 24, 2017

很好

By John Z

Jul 31, 2017

great

By jayashree

Oct 06, 2017

Great Learning

By Chris P

Mar 08, 2018

This is a great course, everyone should consider take it.

By himanshu k s

Aug 27, 2017

Course is well explained. Course should come in two flavour i.e. fast pace course and more advanced for those who have already studied this course in college ,but want to revise it from coursera and this is best for beginner

By Julien C

Oct 23, 2017

A lot of much time spent on simple things and no enough example with answers to make sure we understand the exercise. (sorry no precise example available handy)

By Matheus A

Sep 13, 2017

muito bom,esse professor explica muito bem e os assuntos são bem estruturados

By Anne

May 25, 2018

brilliant lectures! Very easy to follow and quizzes and problem sets are very helpful. Fantastic professor!

By Higor G P

Jan 15, 2018

Curso excelente. Mostra a imensidão da matemática além das receitas prontas ensinadas no ensino fundamental e médio.

By Miguel O

Jun 25, 2017

I really enjoy the clarity of the explanations. Good material too. Amazing job.

By Sohom B

Aug 04, 2017

Really beautiful course. This one finally got me out of the "I can not read and understand mathematical notation" bandwagon!! :-)

By Meg- n n

Jul 02, 2017

v

By Kikilin

Sep 18, 2017

dcdsvzfbzdzhfgzhgfmhxjfgdssghcj,

By Gary W

Jun 07, 2018

Really excellent for all college level students and teachers of mathematics.

By Nickolas F

Aug 31, 2017

A truly amazing course that gives the student an excellent taste of mathematical thinking and makes even those who hate mathematics understand its depth. A special thank you to Dr. Keith Devlin for teaching this course and giving me a true glimpse into university level mathematics, but also to Coursera for giving me the ability to be an active student in such amazing courses. I hope that more courses like this are to follow in the future.

By Nanda K

Sep 28, 2017

An excellent course, well-designed and well-taught. Prof Devlin made the content, examples and quizzes very interesting and enjoyable. The technical aspects of the platform were handled well making the learning that much more easy and non-distracting.

By Dana W C

Aug 25, 2017

The one thing that was a problem for me was the last week, the scoring of peers was presented to me PRIOR to the videos working through solutions and "training" me to score those particular questions. Therefore, I did those tasks out of order. I believe for the second and third peers, their scores were fine, but the initial peer was rooked. Reflecting, they should have earned an overall score closer to 46 than the 33 attributed. If there was someway to remedy that...

Thank you.

By shamsonnahar.panna123@gmail.com

Aug 20, 2017

things are getting intense

By Bart S

Sep 04, 2017

Great course, really challenges you to think outside the box and to apply techniques in a different perspective.

By CHENG K

Aug 09, 2017

It is a very interesting course and over my expectation on what I could learn from the course. Apart from various technique taught in the course for solving mathematical problem, as Dr said, the most interesting thing learnt is the way of thinking to approach the problem.

By Mukasa A I

Aug 07, 2017

awesome course.

By Kristian F B

Jun 14, 2017

great

By 臧泽林

Oct 12, 2017

intersting class for high school student, also useful to me.

By Nihar S

Sep 02, 2017

Great faculty!