Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach by University of Washington

4.6
9,110 ratings
2,175 reviews

About the Course

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top reviews

SZ

Dec 20, 2016

Great course!\n\nEmily and Carlos teach this class in a very interest way. They try to let student understand machine learning by some case study. That worked well on me. I like this course very much.

BL

Oct 17, 2016

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 2,093 Reviews for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

By Yamin A

Dec 30, 2018

Excellent introductory course on Machine Learning. The material is taught at a level that does not require much in terms of pre-requisites, both in terms of the math and the programming requirements. From my perspective, I have an extensive background in Math, and some background in programming (MATLAB, R). I had not used Python prior to this course, and I found that I could keep up and learn both some Python and ML. I was able to finish the course in two weeks. Well done to the instructors who made the videos fun and accessible. Recommended for anyone who wants to learn something about ML.

By 宁莽

Dec 15, 2018

以实际案例结合的讲解,非常有意义,对于新手来说,更能亲自体验到机器学习的强大

By Abhishek B

Dec 16, 2018

Good Machine Learning course for beginners.

By Jithesh R

Nov 30, 2018

Great Experience...! Loved it...!

By Praveen k

Dec 01, 2018

Good case studies to start with. Would have been better if python 3 was used. Please update and provide everything in python 3.

By Abhishek P

Jul 31, 2018

Very good course

By Anunathan G S

Aug 05, 2018

Lucid over

By Pooja G

Aug 07, 2018

Loved the course content. Particularly loved the usage of iPython notebook. very relevant & useful. Special thanks to the course instructors for helping guide through the course.

By Yashaswi P

Aug 06, 2018

I still think it is better to have different course content at the start for programmers, people with some mathematics background and others

By Pritesh G

Jul 20, 2018

Good material. Enjoy the Course.

By leonardo d

Sep 01, 2018

Well thought methods for modern data analysis

By Basha S

Sep 05, 2018

Excellent!!

By PRAVEEN R U

Aug 23, 2018

This will be really helpful for someone who really wants to start the ML journey and not sure where to start. The content was designed well to suit people across levels and technologies. Strongly recommended.

By jorge j l c

Sep 05, 2018

Excelente

By Leonardo M d O

Aug 25, 2018

Amazing course. I had already done other ML Courses at coursera, but the competitive differential is the friendly approach took by the professors. Carlos and the other girl are very nice, they smile...so the training gets less formal, they look like a friend telling stories in a bar. Another main point is really the uses cases. They swap between the big forest map and the detailed view of the leaf in a succinct way. Easy to understand both views. Congratulations.

By Roma A

Aug 25, 2018

Good intro to ML

By Susanne E

Oct 10, 2018

This is a fun course that gives you a very good overview for different machine learning methods. It is indeed a case study approach which is very nice because you get an idea of how versatile machine learning and its application really is. Plus, you get to solve some meaningful questions using machine learning yourself. This first course doesn't explain how the algorithm works in detail but on a higher lever so that you understand the underlying idea and principle.

The videos are super fun to watch as Carlos and Emily are super likeable, and very engaged and excited about the things they're doing and teaching. Thank you so much, I had a great time doing this course!

By Omar A

Oct 09, 2018

Thank you for the amazing course. To be honest this is the first course that I complete on course era. The professors are amazing and the pace of learning is suitable for all levels. I look forward to complete the whole specialization. Keep going :)

By Ganesh P

Oct 15, 2018

Very good f

By Muhammad R

Oct 16, 2018

It nice to learn this course.I want to suggest regarding installation there should guide(Video form) regarding setting up tool for this course.Thank you.

By Ganji R

Oct 20, 2018

Excellent course

By Prashant S

Oct 19, 2018

This is a brilliant stepping stone for Machine Learning world. Basics are being discussed and explained in a very simple manner. thanks to the teachers and Coursera

By Giovanni

Sep 14, 2018

This course offers a broad range of examples in ML. Clearly some basic knowledge of linear algebra and other concepts is needed, but I believe it is well structured to help those who're not so strong in math. It really is basic, though, so if you have already some knowledge in ML this will result sometimes a bit slow.

By Shivam G

Sep 14, 2018

Very well designed course.

Emphasizes more on application side and covers primary domains as well.

By Sivakumar R

Sep 18, 2018

Very practical and use case based method allows to understand concepts. Hands on training brings confidence to non-software student like me. Thank you for the valuable course.