Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach by University of Washington

4.6
stars
9,355 ratings
2,244 reviews

About the Course

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top reviews

SZ

Dec 20, 2016

Great course!\n\nEmily and Carlos teach this class in a very interest way. They try to let student understand machine learning by some case study. That worked well on me. I like this course very much.

BL

Oct 17, 2016

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 2,165 Reviews for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

By Karthik M

Dec 27, 2018

A good course to understand the basics of Machine Learning. The only issue is the use of Graphlab library. Since it only works on Python 2.7, it is not convenient for people who prefer Python 3

By Alexandru B

Jan 21, 2016

Great course. Very informative and inspirational. I got tons of ideas from it! Thank you

By Mallikarjuna R V

Jan 17, 2019

Wonderful opportunity to learn and execute hands on coding of Machine Learning. The amazing task that Machine Learning methods and algorithms does behind scene is understood for the following cases / intelligent applications:

1. Regression (e.g. Predicting House Price etc.)

2. Classification (e.g. Product review sentiment, Spam detection, Medical diagnosis etc.)

3. Clustering and Similarity (e.g. Grouping news articles)

4. Recommender (e.g. Amazon personalized product recommendations, Netflix personalized Movie recommendations etc.)

5. Deep Learning and Deep Features (e.g. Google image search, Image-based filtering etc.)

The main challenge for me was to code using “Python3, Pandas and SciKit-Learn” instead of “Python2, GraphLab Create and SFrame”. I am now confident to develop intelligent applications based on Machine Learning. Thanks to Professors (Emily and Carlos) and to Ashok Leyland-HR for giving me this opportunity.

By akashkr1498

Jan 18, 2019

lacture was good but one point i want to share to you don't use rare tools for assignment personally i faced lots of problem while installing graphlab better to switch to some common tools like sklearn python platform .

By Yuvraj S

Feb 01, 2019

It is a good course if we take into account the foundational part. But since only one library has been used to solve the issues, one does not explore and write their own functions.

By Nik M N N G

Feb 11, 2020

The material in this course severely needs an update. Some of the code examples (not from the video, because the video is obviously from old materials) are problematic. It's an interesting experience to learn a new library but I wish the experience is different. The quiz should be tougher in my honest opinion.

By Jaime R

Dec 17, 2018

Great introduction course. However, getting the notebooks to work with Graphlab is a real pain. The notebook exercises are also mostly make-work rather than real explorations. The explanations and the notebooks themselves are pretty good though

By Jefferson N

Feb 13, 2019

A good course, but the tools are a bit dated and it's showing its age.

By Malik M W

Mar 16, 2020

I think this course is outdated as they are using python 2 also the platform they use for machine learning only supported by python 2. Due to these limitations, I too was unable to continue this course. Because every time you have to work with new libraries you have to uninstall python 2 and reinstall python 3.

By Jakub A

Mar 16, 2020

Definitely too little detail, too little math - for people with academic background this course may be confusing and, ironically, hard to understand because it tries to be "intuitive" - omitting the important details and formalities, in other words. The biggest downside is the TuriCreate library - it's not well known, uses other syntax than popular libraries like Pandas or Scikit-learn for some strange reason, and does not have impact when written on CV. I've known about 3/4 of the course beforehand and it was both not good for recalling the prior knowledge and for learning new things (I don't feel I understand anything new from this course). A big letdown overall.

By Ivo R

Nov 22, 2019

This course is very frustrating because it uses a library called Turi Create that can't be installed on Windows 10. There is no support on how to setup you local environment after three days of frustration I decided to cancel my subscription.

When I opened the forum for week one all the threads were asking the same question: "How to install Turi Create on Windows 10."

It would have been much better if the course was done with a more popular library like Skit-learn.

This course is useless if you don't use a Linux or a Mac

By Yipeng H

Feb 24, 2020

This is the most junk and worst course I have ever taken. It has been so many years, and the software recommended by the two doctors cannot be installed at all. Now the most popular numpy and pandas are not mentioned at all in the course. All the videos are related to the junk-like software. I don't know why such quality courses can still be put on the coursera platform.

By Nils W

Sep 19, 2019

The course could be great, if it won´t depend ob Python 2.7 and graphlabs (because scikit isn´t scalable). Also some quiz questions are so hard, that it is impossible to answer only with the material. So they use forum posts to answer how you can find a solution to the quizzez. So in total more a waste of time.

By Amirhossein f

Mar 14, 2020

The instructors need to specify that you can run this course specialization using MAC or Linux only. I have wasted my time for the past 3 weeks trying to figure out how to run the Sframe or Turi using windows and could not find any solution.

By Natalia Q C

Jul 25, 2019

The instructions to download GraphLab don't work and even when you sign to use the AWS platform the instructions are also old and I haven't been able to start any of the assignments because of that! I want MY MONEY BACK!!!

By Toma K

Jun 11, 2019

Warning! I paid for the specialization and now it tells me that the course ended 2 months ago!! i can't complete quizes which is why i paid!!! no options available to contact support.... no refund available....

By Pablo S

Jul 22, 2019

I should have read the negative reviews before wasting two full days trying, and failing, to install the required software. I urge anyone reading this to avoid this course and look for alternatives.

By Eduardo R R

Sep 23, 2015

This course rely on commercial library. I am sorry, I don't believe the convenience of a commercial library is good for your learning. You may end up locked in.

By Jitendra S

Apr 29, 2016

Dato tool does not even install properly.. so n´makes no sense to continue with the course. The support team fail to help in installing ... :-(

By Krupesh A

Feb 15, 2019

Uses very old versions of libraries. Many students are facing issues which remains unsolved. Not recommended to pursue it.

By Lester L

Mar 21, 2020

Not made for Windows, you need a linux or mac VM to apply this course.

By Tim B

Jun 04, 2019

Complete waste of time until it is written using open-source packages.

By Phillip B

Sep 25, 2015

Would have greatly preferred if open source tools were used.

By Youngmin C

Sep 06, 2019

Too old, bad packages, not much to learn. too basic.

By Darren R

Oct 13, 2015

Thoroughly disappointed to see this course based on