Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach by University of Washington

4.6
8,939 ratings
2,140 reviews

About the Course

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top reviews

BL

Oct 17, 2016

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

SZ

Dec 20, 2016

Great course!\n\nEmily and Carlos teach this class in a very interest way. They try to let student understand machine learning by some case study. That worked well on me. I like this course very much.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 2,062 Reviews for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

By Praveen B

Nov 28, 2018

The professors have taken it in a fun filled way. The material is also very interesting. This is an experience worth having.

By Rania B

Jan 06, 2019

I had to use TuriCreate instead of GraphLab, so other than the changes in the libraries that had me guessing which function to use, everything in this course is well structured and concrete. Thank you all!

By Sameh

Jan 20, 2019

very good and very nice course, it added lots to me

By Artem

Jan 08, 2019

awesome course with theoretical and practical knowledge

By Wilfrid L

Jan 08, 2019

Very good course, I enjoyed the way the instructors structured and presented the material, in both a professional and personable manner, and the use of case studies to help solidify the knowledge. Assignments were very well built; although they used quizzes, it really required some thinking and prep work to get the answers right.

By Genyu Z

Jan 20, 2019

This course is very useful. Firstly, it helps me to build a perfect python environment. Secondly, it teaches me how to use jupyter notebook correctly. Teachers are very kind, and I like their teaching ways. If I can build algorithm without graphlab, it will be more challenging.

By Jonathan K

Jan 22, 2019

Very nice, will continue with the rest of the specialisation

By Sanjeev k

Jan 24, 2019

I

By Ganesh K

Feb 10, 2019

Learning things with good use cases always lot better. This course really helped a lot to understand machine learning clearly. Throughout this course the explanation of the concepts are so clear and assessments are so intuitive.

By Madan R

Feb 12, 2019

Good course, It give motivation for people to learn ML.

By KARTHIKEYAN K

Feb 11, 2019

The course module is very clear and very useful for me to understand the ML concepts.

Really excited about more features in the C_Stone project where i think we can do something for my organisation.

By Rohan V

Feb 13, 2019

this has been one of the best courses that I have taken online and the output from this is seriously amazing. It really makes your brain work and the forums make sure you don't get lost. I am definitely going to do the specialization course

By OLZHAS S

Feb 16, 2019

Feeling still long way to go, at least took very serious track - with challenging assignments and re-learning required tasks!

By Rohan S

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent Course For ML Beginners.

By Amogh B

Feb 22, 2019

Its really wonderful course to get the familiarise with the basics of Machine Learning

By Aldo V M

Feb 25, 2019

Excellent course Carlos & Emily! I enjoyed your lectures a lot, ML is complex but you guys found the way to deliver the message clear, easy and in a funny way. Using real world examples was amazing. Guys could you let me know which other courses you are teaching? Ill be glad to continue learning from you guys. Many thanks, obrigado amigos.

By Hritik K S

Feb 25, 2019

I learned the understanding that how we approach Machine Learning models.

By Chandan K M

Feb 27, 2019

well crafted course.

By Mohit C

Mar 05, 2019

The idea on the teaching method by taking case study was a great choice. Great work keep it up.

By Aries F

Mar 06, 2019

Very easy to understand, code are very simple and to the point

By Abbas S

Mar 01, 2019

wonderful learning experience

By Erick V

Mar 02, 2019

Excelente curso, te da una visión general de todo lo que puedes hacer en ML

By Chao L

Mar 04, 2019

It is good class for people want to ML and start from scratch

By Almir I

Mar 05, 2019

Great course. Very clear and detailed presentation of concepts and techniques of Machine Learning.

By sohan l b

Mar 04, 2019

This course is good for beginners.This course covers hands-on as well as Basic theory and their applications .