Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach by University of Washington

4.6
9,094 ratings
2,169 reviews

About the Course

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top reviews

BL

Oct 17, 2016

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

SZ

Dec 20, 2016

Great course!\n\nEmily and Carlos teach this class in a very interest way. They try to let student understand machine learning by some case study. That worked well on me. I like this course very much.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 2,088 Reviews for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

By Wan S L

Jun 12, 2016

One of the best courses I have learnt from Coursera. I love the way the lectures are presented, and how great our teachers guide us through it! I love the materials given, the projects and assignments, and the fun part interacting with teacher. Overall, five stars! Highly recommented!

By Vikash M

Sep 13, 2016

Great course for starters!

By Claudio S

Feb 27, 2016

Very interesting and fun overview of the different machine learning techniques.

By CHIEN-CHEN C

Jan 31, 2016

Very helpful and good course. It's easy to understand for the beginner.

By Liusicong

Oct 12, 2015

Very useful!

By Fahim K

Oct 22, 2015

This course cover all the basic fundamentals require for Machine Learning.

Doing Assignment before this were never interesting. I am enjoying the assignment part.

By Benoit P

Dec 29, 2016

This whole specialization is an outstanding program: the instructors are entertaining, and they strike the right balance between theory and practice. Even though I consider myself quite literate in statistics and numerical optimization, I learned several new techniques that I was able to directly apply in various part of my job (ok, not in the foundations course, but in subsequent courses). We really go in depth: while other classes I've taken limit themselves to an inventory of available techniques, in this specialization I get to implement key techniques from scratch. Highly, highly recommended.

FYI: the Python level required is really minimal, and the total time commitment is around 4 hours per week.

By Maeva V

Aug 09, 2016

Very clear and accessible course, great introduction to Machine Learning !

By Oleksii R

Jun 04, 2016

Great course. Thanks a lot.

By rajinder s s

Jan 13, 2018

This is the best course I have done on coursera. Simple to the point, no too much theory, at the same time lot of exercises and hands on stuff.

By Sabin K

Jan 25, 2017

Nice introductory class. It gives you a nice concepts of various algorithms with a working example. Thoroughly enjoyed the class

By Erickson D M d F

Jun 18, 2016

Excelent

By João F A d S

Dec 20, 2015

Very nice intro to the topic of ML.

Fun videos, nice examples, good approach to teaching complex topics

By Saqib N S

Jun 21, 2016

The instructors explained the concepts well. This course gives a great overview of several concepts involved in machine learning.

By Cristina G

Jan 11, 2017

General introduction to machine learning approaches and their application in real scenarios.

By Anaís G

Apr 22, 2016

great course!

By Farooq M K

Oct 02, 2016

Very thoughtfully and beautifully created course. Both the teachers are really wonderful and know how to explain something so difficult in a very easy to understand language.

Thankyou for making it so easy and at the same time very very interesting.

By Andrew M O

Mar 29, 2016

Super awesome.

By rajesh t

Jan 13, 2016

Nice course!

By Gustavo B

Sep 17, 2016

For me this is the best course for Machine Learning Foundations that I watch. It was challenging for me because I did the assigment with R packages. I hope on the future for doing other courses for the specialization.

By Nikhil J

Aug 03, 2017

Great course and Awesome instructors!!

By Steven G

Oct 29, 2015

This is a great course that presented a review of the introductory concepts of Machine Learning, furthermore the implementation of the techniques are simple and easy to deploy

By Suresh A

Feb 06, 2016

The presentation, the math involved and exercises were excellent.

By Muhammad N

Oct 24, 2017

It was an amazing experience. highly recommended

By Thalles R

May 03, 2016

Amazing!

Best M.L. course ever.