Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach by University of Washington

4.6
8,951 ratings
2,143 reviews

About the Course

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top reviews

SZ

Dec 20, 2016

Great course!\n\nEmily and Carlos teach this class in a very interest way. They try to let student understand machine learning by some case study. That worked well on me. I like this course very much.

PM

Aug 19, 2019

The course was well designed and delivered by all the trainers with the help of case study and great examples.\n\nThe forums and discussions were really useful and helpful while doing the assignments.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 2,062 Reviews for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

By Guillermo R

May 13, 2018

I really enjoyed the foundations course. It did exactly as I expected - it gave a great overview of machine learning concepts to prepare for the upcoming in-depth modules. Emily and Carlos were fantastic!

By Soumil D

Nov 14, 2017

Loving this.

By Monisha M

Jun 22, 2017

A great course for beginners!

By Tony G

Sep 17, 2017

Really cool

By Fnu A

Dec 30, 2017

The instructors are amazing and teach at a pace, which is slow enough for things you are new to but fast enough for more familiar things. I had decent machine learning background but none of SFrames. However, I had no difficulty understanding SFrames from the word go. The assignments are the best part. If new methods pop up in the programming exercises, step by steps instructions explain how to use them and you learn even more that way! (some of the hint/help links in the assignments did not work for me). Instructors used a lot of examples during lectures but I felt that theoretical part was lacking depth (may be it is me because I always like to see more maths :D). Carlos was great so were his shoes :D

By 康佳星

Sep 13, 2017

入门基础的成就感不错

By Rajeev N

Apr 30, 2018

Excellent foundation on all aspects, hands on coding exercise is exciting.

By Swati D

Dec 21, 2017

Artificial intelligence been around for long time and machine learning is the application to self learn through the data and apply and predict, be more and more accurate. This was a first encounter for me to know how deep learning and deep feature works! Probably, this was the time when I felt going back to university days and relearn few concept of statistics, in order to understand few prediction model and the usage. I was amazed to see and unaware of the fact, I am benefitting as user and million of users unknowingly. Every field and every industry and most importantly every area of our life is going to improve/ impacted with Machine learning. It is a great effort by the faculties, to bring such complex topics to level where it's looks like story telling and making folks understand through small assignments but surely it is a result of deep thinking and hard work which makes this course so interesting and intuitive.

By 邵帅

Dec 05, 2017

I think this course is a quite cool fundamental Introduction. After finishing the course, you can do real things like building a MPC (Model Prediction Control) system using regression technique and so on. I fully encourage you guys joint this course for a getting started step into the ML field.

By Ganesh A G

Jun 11, 2018

Course is good but it will be better if it takes a more steady approach

By 태경 이

Sep 14, 2017

very good !

By Wansoo J

Nov 29, 2017

Good.

By Shuang D

May 22, 2018

very great ML introductory course! I really like the case-study approach

By Alicia_Qi

Mar 02, 2018

Perfect

By Cristian D E O

Dec 05, 2017

Me ha parecido muy bueno para aprender sobre machine learning

By YangjiHYun

Nov 14, 2017

Very GOOD!! Thank you

By Saifullah

Jun 07, 2018

Very well designed course

By Trinh Q N

Jan 12, 2018

Great course so far

By Vinit J

Mar 03, 2018

It was great experience to go through the course.

By Arul T

Sep 07, 2017

Excellent lessions to start with..Gifted to be part of these sessions.Very nice..

By Slobodan B

Oct 12, 2017

This is a great course to start with Machine Learning. Many aspects of ML are presented in an understandable, and interesting way.

By Lumo W

Oct 09, 2017

A very good view of the field of machine learning

By Mubbasher K

Jan 28, 2018

Excellent course, really appreciate the your hard work in creating easy to follow course, very good slides and presenting information and explanations step by step.... oh and also love the on-screen chemistry between both of you and engaging style with students. It has been an enjoyable course. Please keep up the good work.

By Baranitharan S

Apr 14, 2018

The course sets a strong foundation for someone who wish to specialise in the AI and ML space. The course content is easy for a beginner with a very little or no (you gotta believe it) software coding background. The instructor are awesome and help you to go thru the course with ease and not getting bored.

By JeongEuiDong

Oct 16, 2017

It was awesome

I can learn python& machine Learning