Chevron Left
Back to Moral Foundations of Politics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Moral Foundations of Politics by Yale University

4.9
stars
5,654 ratings

About the Course

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Top reviews

EC

Invalid date

Extremely insightful, interesting and engaging, coming from a person that has shallow knowledge of the world of politics. well paced and easy to follow with well-structured quizzes for each week.

AM

Invalid date

Absolutely loved the course design, structure and content! Prof. Shapiro's lectures were always engaging and enjoyable. The readings were also perfectly chosen and added great value to the course.

Filter by:

1001 - 1025 of 1,057 Reviews for Moral Foundations of Politics

By Lenon H

May 2, 2020

O curso fornece uma bagagem vasta sobre os principais teóricos da filosofia política, bem como uma ampla visão do conceito moderno de democracia. Recomendo.

By SAI D S

May 26, 2020

the videos were really good and the readings were helpful and the course dealed greatly about the fact that democracy is really for everyone.

By Aasupal P

Sep 17, 2018

The course was engaging and informative.It teaches you the broader concepts in a deductive manner with completely all perspectives included.

By Zakaria G

Apr 5, 2019

loved the course, would have just loved more videos and discussions about democracy, where it fails and how to deal wit that

By Calvin C

Jun 20, 2016

"very inspiring, thoughts provocative course", that I have learned a lot as a lay man in the morality of politics.

By MARIANA L

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting! I just didn't like the conversation format of it, but the professor is great. Thank you!

By Michael K

Mar 29, 2021

Instructor was great. Didn't like the format with two students. It was awkward and didn't add much value.

By Maria S

Nov 29, 2016

Really informative and interesting. Thank you Coursera and Professor Sharpino for making this possible!

By Alfred M

Jul 30, 2019

The course is a bit too long and unorganized. It would be better if concepts are separated in chunks.

By Fatima S

Nov 19, 2023

I loved Professor Shapiros style of teaching and would love more courses from him in the future!

By Teo S Q

Mar 30, 2021

Course was pretty dry but insightful. Would be better if there was more videos e.g. animation.

By Edmund S R

Jun 24, 2020

It was the best course with full of fun and learning. The more you go the brighter you become.

By Lucas S

Nov 24, 2020

Pra quem tem afinidade ou faz algum curso na área das ciências políticas é realmente bom!!!

By saugat g

Sep 28, 2023

Great resources. One need to have patience to complete the course but it is worth taking.

By Maria E H

May 8, 2017

The content of the course is valuable and well your worth the time spent on the course.

By Reuben M

Apr 28, 2017

Conversational format is really helpful, great real world examples and connections.

By ANTO.C.S

May 13, 2020

This course is also helpful you know basics or the foundation of political science

By Richard L

Aug 4, 2022

It was slightly boring at times but pretty engaging and interesting overall

By SANTHOSH K

Mar 14, 2022

I had a great experience in learning many new things which i didnt know

By Harsha S R

May 14, 2020

overall a most comprehensive course on the foundations of politics!

By CHONG Y C

Jul 12, 2020

very interesting course to introduce you to the idea of politics

By Sophea C

Mar 29, 2016

It help me to understand about political situation and analysis.

By Geetika G

Jul 31, 2020

I honestly enjoyed the entire course, it was quite insightful.

By Diego M G

Sep 1, 2020

Me encantó el curso. Me hubiera gustado aprender mucho más.

By rushikesh i

Apr 10, 2020

Very Nice Course. Clear Understanding About Politics.