Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.8
1,655 ratings
427 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 12, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

RC

Sep 08, 2015

A superb introduction to negotiation from game theory point of view, which itself is a fascinating subject and taught by Barry nelbuff, a brilliantly simple teacher. read his books and you'll know.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 420 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By HARJOT S

Mar 10, 2017

The course enabled me to learn various aspects of negotiation, especially the pie, how to expand the pie and get your share.

By Diego S

Mar 07, 2017

Strongly recommended: it's not only very useful with theorical contents and material, but with different practical negotiations to be done that help you to change your point of view when negotiating

By Sandra N

Apr 22, 2017

Please make an advanced version of this course, it would be very helpful!

By Adam Ł

Mar 31, 2017

[Going through Week 8 now] Mr Nalebuff is a great teacher, he introduces advanced concepts basing on the most understandable day-to-day examples. The course material covers a wide range of topics, but every single one of them is taught thoroughly and professionally.

Great cases to get some hands-on experience with negotiation.

Beautiful animations by Mr Dan Ashwood, hats off for you sir.

I am definitely going to recommend the course to some of my friends keen on the matter.

Thank you!

By Agustina L

Mar 30, 2017

A really different approach to negotiation, very practical, and they even make you practice!! Great material and videos.

By Benedikt K

Mar 16, 2017

It's a great and practical course.

By Izabela F

Sep 07, 2015

great from the start

definitely recommended

By Vinayak K

Feb 24, 2017

very much loved this course. Professor Barry has designed a very good course content. I was able to understand through this course the nuances of negotiation. I highly recommend everyone to take this course

By Yaman A

Feb 10, 2018

A very well thought out, well researched course. I'll give this course a 5 out of 10 definitely.

By Kunal K

Jun 13, 2016

A completely new way to think about a negotiation.

By Aron Z

Jan 04, 2016

The Prof is great, explaining in a very easy to digest manner and also has a sense of humour!

This course is more than simply a learning tool, it is also Entertainment!

A must do Course for anyone to be honest.

By Miguel A C J

May 03, 2017

Super course. Rather than a course, it seems a guideline of how to create powerful synergies to maximize the outcomes of challenging situations. I highly recommend it. Thank you professor.

By Ashish K

Dec 31, 2015

Amazing course

By HELENE A

Oct 01, 2016

One of the best classes I had. Thankyou somuch for your such innovative approach in MOOCS!!!

You rock guys!!!

By Laia C R

Feb 23, 2016

Useful, dynamic and easy to understand. Super interesting.

By Solodko G

May 27, 2016

Great course!

By Odil G d F J

Jul 26, 2017

Great course! vivid with real examples and powerful insights. Thanks professor! It was inspiring.

By IVON R

Mar 02, 2017

An energetic course with important lessons on strategic negotiations. 100% recommended!

By Josué C M O

Jun 24, 2017

Great Course. It is perfect for someone who wants to learn more about negotiation techniques and legal procedures.

By Vicente V

Sep 18, 2017

Amazing course. Amazing professor, well structured, practical, impressive insights about negotiation.

By Yc F

Apr 01, 2017

Better than Netflix and HBO combined. Everybody should take this course, because it is so much fun.

By Sergio G

May 26, 2017

nice course

By DIEGO M H

May 28, 2017

El curso fue Excelente. Trato la negociacion de varios angulos, y me agrego mucho valor a mi conocimiento. Lo recomiendo 100%.

By Anuscheh N

Apr 16, 2017

Fun course, detailed and high level at the same time, and although finding people to team up with an be hard, these assignments are a lot of fun.

By Vsevolod M

Apr 19, 2017

Super cool and interesting!