Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.8
stars
1,757 ratings
469 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 12, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

RC

Sep 08, 2015

A superb introduction to negotiation from game theory point of view, which itself is a fascinating subject and taught by Barry nelbuff, a brilliantly simple teacher. read his books and you'll know.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 461 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Sasa M

Feb 25, 2017

The course is fun, educational, there is theory and practice. I recommend

By Álvaro T F

Nov 08, 2019

Amazing course. Personally I learned a lot. Highly recommend this course

By Majid A

Aug 30, 2017

best doctor, he tried to make us understand at any way, you are the best

By Liu y

Aug 14, 2015

Extremely-useful course! It has tremendously changed my way of thinking.

By Frederique L G

Sep 08, 2019

Loved it! Great principles to apply in daily life as in work situation.

By Calvin T

Apr 01, 2017

An excellent course with clear instruction and purposeful assessments.

By kevin b

Sep 08, 2015

in only the first week of the course i learned several new concepts .

By Matthew H

Feb 09, 2020

One of the most useful, engaging, well-done courses I've ever taken.

By Claire W

Aug 03, 2018

Immediately hooked - provides a fresh perspective to look at things.

By Julian H

May 25, 2017

Fantastic Course. Highly interacitve and very well crafted material!

By Andrija B

Jan 20, 2020

Quite practical knowledge that can be used everyday and everywhere.

By Mary B S

Jun 01, 2017

The negotiator interviews were particularly helpful and insightful.

By Daniel

May 28, 2017

Great Course, Hard but I learned a lot from him! one of the bests!

By Cristian C

Oct 22, 2016

Excellent course, full of practical work and very good examples.

By Lucas R

Aug 06, 2018

A really helpful and didatic course. It takes 2-4 hours weekly.

By Lisanne T

Sep 01, 2017

Great insights and tips! Very easy to learn and very applicable

By Abelardo Q F J

Aug 07, 2015

Great course. Negotiation in a unique and very clever approach.

By Guruprasad R

Jan 30, 2016

A great course and let me understand the basics of negotiation

By Raynal W

Jun 28, 2019

Interactive, Practical and Applicable in the work environment

By Nihitha D

Oct 05, 2017

Very useful course with applicability in day to day happening

By Sachin M

Sep 19, 2015

Exceptional format and delivery. Keeps us engaged throughout.

By Paulo C S S

Feb 01, 2019

Great content! The dynamics of the course is really awesome!

By Terri

Jun 17, 2018

Great course! I learned a lot and the professor was awesome!

By om p s

Sep 02, 2015

The best course taught by best professor and best university

By Wang L

Aug 24, 2017

This course is very interesting and helpful for my career !