Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.8
stars
1,797 ratings
484 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 12, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

RC

Sep 08, 2015

A superb introduction to negotiation from game theory point of view, which itself is a fascinating subject and taught by Barry nelbuff, a brilliantly simple teacher. read his books and you'll know.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 479 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Susana V

Oct 17, 2016

Very good course with challenging and effective assignments. Definitely a must!

By Bruno G

Dec 31, 2015

Good course about negotiation and linked elements to make a better negotiation.

By Mariana v d W

Jan 12, 2019

I have learned a lot. Thanks for a well designed and very informative course.

By Stefan V

Sep 03, 2015

A real great course!! Lot's of very relevant lessons and great practice units

By Pete W

Oct 13, 2019

Really well present course; with lots of engaging case-studies nad examples.

By Gianluigi D

Feb 19, 2018

Great course, really well done, interesting, fun and complete. Thanks Prof!

By Juchen L

Feb 19, 2019

I like the animation which really helps me to understand the ideas better.

By Kasimir H

Jun 17, 2016

Nice views on negotiations, and well explained. Gives a good introduction.

By Matthias A B

Mar 17, 2020

Amazing course, makes you question things differently from the beginning.

By Orion S

Sep 10, 2019

Highly needed knowledge not only in the professional but day to day life.

By Jaret G

May 08, 2017

Great teacher! Very witty and funny. Great storytelling teaching style.

By Sandra N

Apr 22, 2017

Please make an advanced version of this course, it would be very helpful!

By Sasa M

Feb 25, 2017

The course is fun, educational, there is theory and practice. I recommend

By Álvaro T F

Nov 08, 2019

Amazing course. Personally I learned a lot. Highly recommend this course

By Majid A

Aug 30, 2017

best doctor, he tried to make us understand at any way, you are the best

By Liu y

Aug 14, 2015

Extremely-useful course! It has tremendously changed my way of thinking.

By Frederique L G

Sep 08, 2019

Loved it! Great principles to apply in daily life as in work situation.

By Calvin T

Apr 01, 2017

An excellent course with clear instruction and purposeful assessments.

By kevin b

Sep 08, 2015

in only the first week of the course i learned several new concepts .

By Matthew H

Feb 09, 2020

One of the most useful, engaging, well-done courses I've ever taken.

By Claire W

Aug 03, 2018

Immediately hooked - provides a fresh perspective to look at things.

By Julian H

May 25, 2017

Fantastic Course. Highly interacitve and very well crafted material!

By Andrija B

Jan 20, 2020

Quite practical knowledge that can be used everyday and everywhere.

By Mary B S

Jun 01, 2017

The negotiator interviews were particularly helpful and insightful.

By Daniel

May 28, 2017

Great Course, Hard but I learned a lot from him! one of the bests!