Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.8
stars
1,768 ratings
474 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 12, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

RC

Sep 08, 2015

A superb introduction to negotiation from game theory point of view, which itself is a fascinating subject and taught by Barry nelbuff, a brilliantly simple teacher. read his books and you'll know.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 467 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Mitali J

May 11, 2018

Fantastic course! Barry is a creative and fun teacher who truly keeps one engrossed in the topics covered.

By CHIN N M D

Jun 17, 2016

Love this course for being as fun and interesting as it is educational! Helps a lot with my scope of work!

By john W

Apr 30, 2016

The lecturer uses good examples and the animations helped visualize what he was talking about in lectures.

By Mohamed A A

Apr 03, 2019

it was a great course, it was full of information and knowledge. it helped me to be a better negotiator.

By Kat

Mar 21, 2017

very good course - covers all the basics and provides exercises to test your newly acquired knowledge.

By Zeudy T M V

Sep 29, 2015

It's a great course with an excellent teacher. The studies cases facilitate learning , I recommend it.

By rohit b

Feb 23, 2020

Excellent use cases and explanations providing a practical approach to applying the various techiques

By Vicente V

Sep 18, 2017

Amazing course. Amazing professor, well structured, practical, impressive insights about negotiation.

By Yuanbo L

Nov 04, 2018

It really pays to find a partner to practice! It's easily the best part of the learning experience.

By MAHDANE Y

Sep 11, 2017

It's one of the most important and helpful courses I've ever taken, I feel bad I can't purchase it.

By Yc F

Apr 01, 2017

Better than Netflix and HBO combined. Everybody should take this course, because it is so much fun.

By Roeland W

Mar 28, 2018

Fun course to take. You'll definitely learn something no matter how long you have been negotiating

By Odil G d F J

Jul 26, 2017

Great course! vivid with real examples and powerful insights. Thanks professor! It was inspiring.

By Marwan D

Oct 18, 2016

Great course , brilliantly delivered. Learn through relevant case studies and practical exercises

By Yaman A

Feb 10, 2018

A very well thought out, well researched course. I'll give this course a 5 out of 10 definitely.

By Paramjit S A

Oct 30, 2015

So far, it is very interesting. It has definitely enhanced my knowledge in negotiation concepts.

By feng r

May 30, 2017

Very good course. I have learned a lot from the examples and assignments. Thank you Prof Barry!

By Steven T

Sep 02, 2016

Excellent course that is well organized and to the point. The best online course I have taken.

By Stanislav A

Aug 04, 2019

The best course I ever had on Coursera. Useful and unobvious tricks highlighted and explained.

By Jonathan S

Jan 10, 2019

An excellent course with great insight, that is well put together by a world leading lecturer.

By Lennox R

Jan 25, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and interaction with other learners from around the world.

By Eric W E

Jun 08, 2016

A completely entertaining course which changed my perspective on the subject of negotiation.

By Yahor M

Nov 30, 2015

wonderful lecturer, great course design, very interactive and intresting. Thank you so much!

By Paul R

Dec 14, 2019

Great course. Videos were engaging, entertaining, educational and professionally-produced.

By Somshekhar B

Aug 02, 2019

An outstanding experience. I've recommended this course to more people than I can remember.