Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,964 ratings
1,240 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,232 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Summer T

Feb 11, 2019

This course is great for it showed me new perspectives of approaching a paternship, a collaboration, a business deal, or just a nromal ride-share situation. Great real life examples to help me ease into theories and more advanced skills. Thank you, Professor Barry Nalebuff.

By TEWARI M P

May 4, 2021

Very insightful course. I appreciate how the course not only taught us the approach to be taken while negotiating but also gave tips to handle opponent negotiators. Even the examples given are a great way to show how we can implement these strategies even in everyday life.

By Madhukar C

Jun 13, 2020

It is perfectly well-paced course for students as well as working executives who deal with day-to-day situations where they have to negotiate every time with logical as well dominating negotiators. This course helps to understand how to handle the turbulent situations too.

By Dhaval M

Oct 1, 2019

Learning through an online module cannot be more interactive than what this course offers. Barry's style of delivery and way of structuring the course is what makes this course fun as well as challenging at the same time. I look forward to learning more courses from Barry.

By Amin C

Dec 10, 2020

Prof. Nalebuff really hit the ball out of the park and nailed at the same time with this course! It is entertaining and highly beneficial. The theory and the practices are great to develop the necessary skills to become a principled and persuasive negotiator. Thumbs up!!

By Shane K

Apr 29, 2020

A very informative, well-structured course. Barry did a stellar job teaching this course, especially the fact that it was done online through video lessons. The course was much better than I had anticipated, I will definitely be recommending this to my friends! Thank you.

By Emily L

Jan 9, 2020

While this course is intellectually challenging, it is very fun for me. I could not stop even with a busy life. The skills I learned not only benefit business wise, but also personal life. I strongly recommend this class for career advancement and personal enrichment.

By Nemieboka B D

Aug 27, 2020

I am very glad I completed this course, I learnt a lot about game theory and being a strategic negotiator. This course provides great content in theory and also in practical, there are practical exercises along with the theories to master being a successful negotiator.

By HEngin B

May 18, 2020

The course is challenging one. You need to understand theory of game, statistics etc. The instructor gives his best to explain the theory with the practise. In general its a very good and refreshing one. It gives a new perspective to negotiation with real math terms.

By Guerville J

May 3, 2020

Simply amazing. You are learning a life skill with an amazing material both engaging and entertaining.

I loved working in group and I am excited now to try me new skills in real life. Thanks to Barry Nelebuff for this concentrate of wisdom, psychology and game theory.

By ZUI T

Apr 11, 2020

This course is amazing which broads my horizon for negotiation. I have never thought that negotiation could be done in a principled way which involves maths. I benefit a lot from this course. During the COVID-19 pandemic, I found this course and I will keep learning,

By JING N

Jan 6, 2021

Very interesting and useful course. Not only for academy, but also for the daily life. Negotiation, conflict resolution, decision making, etc. All these things are explained by using concret examples. These hints help a lot both personal life and professional life.

By Deep p

Aug 29, 2020

great learning course, helped us to get knowledge about the negotiation tactics and also how it is done in the real world, looking forward for such more courses on negotiation and sales and marketing from yale with the real word scenarios. thankyou for the course.

By Adan C

May 7, 2020

I’ve been negotiating in Real Estate for many years, and through this course was enlightened to new and useful approaches I would have never discovered on my own. I even learned how to better explain the strategies I already practiced to my clients. Great course.

By Yasan P

Jun 3, 2020

Amazing course! My first online course and certainly not the last! I came over to this course with zero understanding and background in negotiation and can now say I am confident in negotiating over everyday small matters all the way to larger business deals.

By Craig H

Jul 4, 2018

I'm not finished the course as yet, but so far this course has been the best I've seen in terms of organization, delivery and also a challenge. The author of the course has clearly put effort into producing this online version of his Yale course and it shows.

By Ryan P

Jan 26, 2021

This was my first online course and I was completely blown away by the quality of content, ease of navigation and overall educational value. This class has set the bar very high for future courses. Thank you very much Coursera, Yale and Dr. Barry Nalebuff!

By Walter V

May 28, 2020

This course is fantastic. The material comprises some game theory concepts, many examples, contributions from known international negotiators, curiosities... all available for free (if you don t need a certificate). Hi quality. Nalebuff made a great job.

By Layle M

Dec 3, 2020

At first I was shocked. I was overwhelmed by the work involved. But I worked hard and found the material to be very useful now and in the future. The teacher made it easy. I even learned from the tests. I wish they taught this to kids in grade school.

Layle

By Dario R

Oct 6, 2020

An amazing course for everyone who wants to become a better negotiator, not only in business but also in everyday life. Professor Nalebuff is an excellent teacher and his sense of humor makes the whole course even better. I strongly recommend the course.

By MARTIN O D R

Sep 3, 2018

Excellent course, really the quality was over my expectations, the material, technics, explanations. Really this was a very good course. Initially, I thought that this will be a 4 weeks course, but I was very sourprise when this is 5 weeks + 4 more tips.

By Фёдор Ш

Feb 2, 2021

Cool course full of useful information. Don't be afraid of some math, it's still doable with some effort. I am a linguist, not a mathematician or anywhere near but still managed to finish it. Don't give up guys, there are a lot of gems here to be found.

By Inge V

Apr 24, 2020

Really fun and well thought out course. Workload was nice, enough to get the feeling that you need to do something in order to learn, but not too much that you are overwhelmed. Good quality content and easy to follow. I definitely recommend this course!

By Hannah V

Dec 3, 2018

Excellent course when you want to gain both theoretical insights and practical tips related to negotiating. The course is made very fun by the many videos and the practice negotiations with other people you meet through this course are very insightful.

By Robert S

Sep 30, 2020

I was surprised about the quality of this online course. Probably the best one I have taken so far. The subject relates to many situations in our lives and for this reason I believe we can somehow use these concepts. Thanks for sharing this knowldege.